Customer Reviews for

Swarm

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    TERRIFYINGLY STUNNING

    Among the burgeoning sub-genre of cautionary eco-thrillers, Frank Schatzing's SWARM is standout. Swarm is a perfect marriage of intellectual heft with compelling storytelling; the kind of book we used to see from the late Michael Crichton. It starts with the main character suddenly and inexplicably confronted with a ring of eerily motionless orcas in the middle of the ocean. A scientist and an inuit, he is an experienced waterman. The whales lifting their heads out of the water to regard him with their giant eyes is that more horrify because he knows how utterly impossible it is. This compelling opening scene starts a rollercoaster of wonder and horror that does not let up until the last page. Each revelation is grounded in understandable science. Each bit of nerd-ism and tech-speak is surrounded by plausible story. I'm already pining for a sequel.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Highly recommended!!! A must read for any sci-fi or conspiracy theorists.

    A GREAT book to read anytime. Mr. Schatzing has done his homework. This book is an easy read but is crammed full with so many facts from various different areas of study that at first the reader can not see where the book is heading. It may be a long book but it keeps the reader engrossed with the action, inter- and intra-personal relationships that the reader can not put the book down. I would recommend this book to anyone who like to become engrossed in a world that is based on our world and is slightly out of our world. The facts that this book is based on is researched and explained so well that it makes the reader believe that this could be our world. Mr. Schatzing shows the reader how he sees us as a society and how we "work" together. He make the reader think about how we as a society, a country, and as a person should relate to each other, other societies, our environment, and the unknown. This book would be a great book for a book club to discuss. It could brings up topics of: the environment, politics, science, the energy crisis, religion, relationships of all kinds and much more. Don't let the size of the book scare you. READ IT! LEARN FROM IT! LIVE FROM WHAT YOU LEARNED! BECOME A BETTER YOU!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Mother Nature is Still the Boss!

    This book has all the elements needed to create an engaging epic adventure.Intelligently written,characters who are likeable and engaging,and international locations and action.If you appreciate the theme of mankind finally having to work together to prevent the destruction of the planet and humanity-you will love this book.It never disappoints. Mother nature proves once again she is still the boss.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    My favorite book

    This book was full of details that enhanced the story. It was such a fun read, the story line drew me in. I didn't want it to end. Fantastic environmental thriller!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Action Packed!

    This is an action packed thriller that you cannot put down. A very large book that has no dull parts. Great story and unusual. Will make a fantastic movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    one of the best books

    it clearly shows how and what would happen if we continue ocean 'abuse'. the Yrr may be the enemy, but they show us what exactly we're doing. amazing page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    terrific science fiction

    In the first week of March off Trondheim, Norway research scientist Dr. Sigur Johanson notices that polychaetes have been found in a methane environment particularly harsh for that species these bristleworms should never have survived let alone multiply into a colony of millions in Norwegian continental shelf. By the twelfth of March, marine biologist Dr. Leon Anawak wonders why the whales he has watched for years are two weeks late on their annual migration along Vancouver Island. Not long afterward, Leon learns that four different species of whales attacked with military precision a cargo ship and two tugboats towing it. Leon scoffs at the report as these whales do not cohabitate. --- Other sea related incidents occur as crabs poison Long Island's water supply and in Paris lobsters explode like suicidal bombers while deadly bacteria enters the drinking water. World leaders become concerned that the worms will disturb oil deposits on the North Sea Shelf. Scientists struggle to understand why and how the seven seas seem to be taking back the world. When the North Sea Shelf collapses from the burrowing worms, thousands of Europeans die leading to an international panic. Scientists discover the intelligent Yrr are enacting revenge for the environmental abuse that humanity has wrecked upon their ecological system deep in inner earth. War is now with the losing species cleansed from this orb. --- Reminiscent of the 1950s environmental horror movies and the works of HG Wells, THE SWARM is a terrific science fiction thriller. The action-packed story line contains insightful interwoven scientific explanation that is easy to comprehend leading to a powerful cautionary tale that brings Rachel Carson¿s warnings of The Silent Spring into the twenty first century. Though the intelligent design crowd will scream bush level fiction, readers will appreciate this deep tale wondering What¿s Going On? --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    possible it has rapid growing sharks

    What just saying could have rapid growing sharks in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Amazing End of the world survival novel

    So first off I must say this is one of my favorite novels of all time. It is incredibly detailed, considerably scientifically accurate, and really makes you think about how what you do affects the planet. I read it the first time 4 years ago, since then I have had to purchase 3 more copies as I loan them out and they get passed on. I started reading it to my brother while he was in the hospital after a terrible car accident that left him there for months on end. Listening to parts of it gotmy sister interested in it, after she finished it. It was passed to my father (who has never read a book outside of the bible and a few Zane Gray novels.) who read it cover to cover in a month, followed by my mother, and then fought over by my nephews... This isnt a short book, and they ate it up. I sincerely reccommend this to anyone capable of reading. You won't want to read it only once, I just finished it again for the 4th time. A+ and a :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Rebecca from Pensacola Fl.

    It took me several months to "muddle through" this 800+ page book. I found it to be strange, often boring, and many times gruesome(lots of killings). So much of the story is just not believable inspite of the interjection of a lot of scientific "mumbo jumbo". I'm unsure of the point of the story unless it's to warn mankind to be careful how we care for our oceans and planet, but couldn't that point have been conveyed in 100 words or less? I wouldn't really recommend this book, especially as it wasn't cheap(or free)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    A Fabulous Book

    This is without a doubt the very best book I have ever read, and I read a lot. The story line is fascinating. In fact, I just finished reading it for the second time. Both my grown children have read it and now my husband will take his turn. You must read it for the shock of your life. You will not be able to put in down once you have started it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2