BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Swear to Howdy

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Couldnt put it down!!!!!!!

    This book was really good! It was really funny and it was very suspending. Everytime I had to stop reading I couldnt help but wonder what would happen next. Read it:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Swear to Howdy

    The book, Swear to Howdy by: Wendelin Van Draanen is a really good read for everyone. It made look like a child¿s book and an easy read, but it is really a great book worth reading. It is about to boys who live next door and become best friends. When ever they do something wrong they swear to howdy and smash their fists together. They have many adventures, which no one ends up knowing about until their last adventure where something goes horribly wrong. The author was very descriptive and made me want to keep reading more. The ending of this book was not the best. It doesn¿t tell about the families feeling about each other witch makes it sound unfinished. But other then the end, the story is very well written and descriptive. I loved it and I recommend it to every one who can enjoy a good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    One of the best YA novels in a long time!!!!

    I read this book aloud to my 7th and 8th grade classes. What great discussion it fosters! The author sets you up for a huge twist--unbelievable!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    A MUST READ

    This book was so good!! I read it like in 2 days!! Its about real friendship and how no matter how bad things get if you have a real best friend they will be there for you!! You should read it if you havent!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2005

    Great for reluctant readers!

    I got this book for my 10-year-old son...it is hard to find books that will interest him...so many seem to be geared for girls. This book has moments of hilarity and surprising tragedy. Each chapter demands that the next be read. While ostensibly about the boys' friendship, it also deals with impulsive acts, abusive parents, cheating, lying, death, suicide and ultimately love and opens the door for parents to engage their children in discussions about these topics. I would have to list this book as a top ten for 5th to 9th grade. It should be on every reading list!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    Great Book!

    This book is definitely a must read! Some people might think it's not appropriate for young children, and I've even heard some say that it is a 'boyish' book. But, I enjoyed it so much, and I am a 14 year old girl!! I think it shows what true friendship is all about. Many people have lost sight of that, but this book makes it a reality! No matter what those two boys do, you can tell they have a unbreakable bond!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    Great book!

    This book is sad yet happy too,it is a very intense novel. ¿Swear to Howdy¿ has two main characters, Joey and Russell. Throughout the novel it tells about all the secrets and daring stunts they do. It is called ¿Swear to Howdy¿ because every time Joey and Russell commit to keeping a secret one of the two boys says, ¿you swear to howdy you want tell.¿ Then they punch fists and swap blood. They are obviously best friends other wise they wouldn¿t do the stuff they do. Together they kill squirrels and cats, catch toad, go plinking at cans, and get in terrible situations. Russell is new in tow, so Joey gives him the nick name, Rusty-boy. Russell has a little sister named Rhonda. Joey has two sisters named Amanda Jane and Sissy. Joey¿s dad is nice or can be blowin¿ up mean. But Russell and Joey get through life together. I recommend this book to boys, girls, and people of all ages. I love this book and I hope I will read it again some other time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    Great read for boys and girls!!

    Swear to Howdy Swear to howdy is a novel by Wendelin Van Draanen and it is about two boys named Joey and Rusty. When rusty moves to a small town from the city he meets his neighbor Joey. Joey and him become instant friends and they run around in the woods behind there houses. They do all kinds of pranks on there sisters and other people. One night Joey got an idea, he wants to make a ghost and hang it from a tree next to the old bridge over the river. They planed to scare drivers as they drove over the bridge. One or two cars passed, and then the third one came. Since the other cars didn¿t even see the ghost they decide to lower it. As the third car drove by the ghost hit its windshield and sent the car swerving off. The book is a great read for both boys and girls looking for a fun adventure by book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    AWESOME!

    this is a great book i never put it down. its crazy in wild, even thow im in 8th grade and it might be reconized to be for a child. its cool and intesnce. this book keeps u guessing and guessing. maybe if u guess u might be rite but most likely it will suprise u and what u thought is totally rong? U HAVE TO READ THIS Book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    I read this but u ave to read flipped first

    Its funny but not well written like flipped but they tried XD hey kind of failed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Loved it

    I read this book before a bought it on my nook swapping fish lmfao

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Amazing

    We read this book in class and it was funny amazing and sad... it was sd becuz joeys sister died:,(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Hilarious

    I wonder how his "d" feels after getting bit by that croppy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Good book

    Good book even when the crop fish bits the ##&**#

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Awesome sauce

    One of the best books i have read
    Ending is great
    Kinda sad but awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Pie!!!!!

    Should i read this?????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Hilarious

    This book is a fantastic book. It is very funny but can be sad in some parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    What i think about "swaer to howdy"

    I think that it is a good book so far li like it how the fisih bite him but i need to by the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Awesome!

    I had so much reading this, I had so much fun reading this. This book is awesome! SQISHY TOMATOEs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2