BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sweeping Up Glass

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    An easy read that captures your interest

    Sweeping up Glass is an easy read. The book is well written and the characters are interesting. It's a bit slow going at first. However, once things pick up, you're captured and cannot put the book down because you're dying to know what will happen next. The plot has a nice twist that is unexpected. I can't wait to read Wall's next book. I'm sure it will be a page turner, too. This is a definite read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beats To Kill a Mockingbird for me!

    I was enthralled throughout this story. Perfect characterization, amazing twist in a compelling plot. I would recommend to anyone who has time to read the entire thing, because you can't put it down. Should be in the Oprah book club! Can't wait for Carolyn Wall's next novel. Glad I came upon this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Engaging story with a surprise

    Sweeping Up Glass is an engaging piece of literature, rich with imagery. The characters and setting are both unique and fully dimensional. Wall is successful in pulling the reader into this colorful tale. When the reader is caught up in the developing saga, a new twist arrives, which creates another realm for discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful.

    I picked up this book for my mother, and decided to read it myself. It's not usually the type of book I read, but it turned out to be an outstanding story. It's full of very "real" characters and emotion. The characters aren't perfect or always nice, but you'll sympathize with them as they each grow from their experiences. This would be a great book for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    A Great Book

    This book held my attention throughout. Lorna Raver does an excellent job in narrating. Hope they make a movie of this book.
    Five Stars!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    excellent book

    I definitely recommend this book. Totally and completely. The author captures your interest from the very first page. The only reason I even put this one down was because I had to earn my paycheck!!! I haven't read a book this good in a long time, and it feels great. I was starting to worry...

    The voice of the narrator is fresh and consistent, and the images she spins for the reader are vivid. The author keeps within the character for the entire book, not digressing at all into what we all are used to-- the "author's voice". I completely believed in Olivia Harker and was on her side all the way. It does get a bit confusing in some places, but that helped to build the character of Olivia and make her more real.

    The story works so well. Nothing in this novel was unnecessary. Every element eventually leads to the ending, and finally every piece of the puzzle falls into place. It all makes sense! I love books like this, that keep you guessing until the author finally has to tell you (or you've figured it out) and brings everything together. And the story itself-- early 1930's southeast America, the segregation and disrespect of the "coloreds"-- was intriguing and exciting.

    Pick up this book during your next trip to the bookstore. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT

    I can't say enough good things about this novel. You come to know each and every character no matter how small their part in the book. The setting is brilliantly illustrated. I could feel myself in the tar paper shack, the grocery, the church. This book will be a great read for book clubs and those readers who don't like mainstream fiction. I will recommend this title time and time again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Amazing, haunting book that I can't forget!

    Wow! This book is filled with characters that I will never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    In 1938 Kentucky, Olivia Harker Cross runs Harker¿s Grocery her only help comes from preadolescent Will¿m, whose mom Pauline dumped him on her before vanishing. Business is poor as no one can afford much. Looking back she thinks about her mom Ida living in a sanitarium in nearby Buelton, while her beloved Pap Tate ran a still and cared for ailing animals. Though married to Saul, for three decades Olivia has loved trumpeter Wing Harris who reciprocates, but neither has made the first move beyond howdy.----------- After Tate delivered a litter of puppies, he ran into James Arnold Phelps. Soon afterward Pap was dead and Ida had come home. Saul died not long afterward. Despondent, Olivia turned to Wing, but he rejected her. Even further upset, she chases after seedy male losers in dives. --------------- However, she began to turn it around when Pauline dropped off Will¿m on her as he is her salvation. When they hear shots fired by the mysterious Hunt Club members tracking silver-faced wolves, the pair becomes frightened as it is too cold to be outdoors hunting for sport. However, they soon have a bigger fear as the hunters stalk Olivia and Will¿m. ------------ Not for everyone as this is a strange historical thriller in which fans obtain a deep look at a beleaguered heroine who is seemingly betrayed by her loved ones whom she has loyally taken care of. Will¿m is her redemption as Olivia will do whatever it takes to keep the boy safe although that might mean breaking the perceptions she and others have of her. Fans who enjoy something different will relish a tense look at Depression Era rural Kentucky.---------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1