Customer Reviews for

Sweet

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I wasn't sure how to rate this book. On one hand, I found Swee



I wasn't sure how to rate this book. On one hand, I found Sweet to be funny, and I liked the brothers and how they interacted with each other. There was plenty of sexiness involved, and a surprising dose of sweet moments as well. On the other hand, the heroine annoyed...


I wasn't sure how to rate this book. On one hand, I found Sweet to be funny, and I liked the brothers and how they interacted with each other. There was plenty of sexiness involved, and a surprising dose of sweet moments as well. On the other hand, the heroine annoyed me, and I spent 95% of the book ready to slap her...perhaps closer to 98%, really.



Erin McCarthy does have a way of writing humor into her books, no matter the genre, and she proves this yet again. I can't say I out-right laughed, but I definitely chuckled more than a few times, which is always a good sign. For example, this passage came after Riley made a joke about Jessica's, ahem, reputation.


[Quote can be seen on my blog post [Review]: "Sweet"]


Jessica's character was very difficult for me to relate to, on any level. I hated her actions and choices during much of the book, especially when she decided to get sh*tfaced drunk and go to a frat party. She admits she wasn't having fun at this party, yet she still went just to put her “buzz” to good use. I was tempted to throw the book down at this point, though it is hard for me to fully explain why exactly. Simply put, she pissed me off.



I liked Riley's character, he wasn't perfect, but he was trying his hardest to hold his family together, to be there for his brothers. Sure, he had his jerkish moments at the beginning of the novel, but he improved. Plus, as I didn't really like Jessica, I wasn't as concerned about some of the things he said to her; although to be fair, he was joking. Like with any good romance hero, I fell for him. Now if only he would stop smoking!


[Quote can be seen on my blog post [Review]: "Sweet"]


I really enjoyed the fact that Riley wanted to savor their relationship, rather than jumping straight to the sex (which confused Jessica, by the way, because sex is all she really understands about relationships...). It lead to some great sexual tension, and that was one part of the book that stuck with me. It would have been so easy to throw them in bed early on—but because the author waited, the story, and the couple's relationship, was that much better.



And while this is totally random, it was never explained why Jessica refuses to give oral sex. I know, I know, it's not a big deal. But she mentions it in the book (not in conversation of course) that she's never went down on any of the guys she has slept with, and she hopes to distract Riley from asking it of her. Why? I mean, if it's simply that she doesn't like that particular act, fine with me, but it was never explained or brought up again. And it bugged me. I kept waiting for her to spill some secret about how she was forced to do that to some man when she was younger, and now she can't stand the act. My mind went in twenty different directions, trying to figure it out....only there was never an answer to my question. But perhaps this was just something that I picked up on and I'm making a bigger deal out of it than what is needed. Maybe it was explained somehow and I just missed it. I'm honestly not sure.



All in all, I truly did like Sweet, despite the heroine and a few minor flaws. At times, I was very happy while reading this, but at other parts I was extremely frustrated with Jessica. I'm not sure if I will read the other books in this series. It's highly possible at some point, as I am a bit curious to read Tyler's story. Funny and very sexy, Sweet is a good NA romance to pass the time with; I read it in a day, annoying heroine and all. ;)







3 1/2 STARS!



~ * ~ * ~

For my full review, including favorite book quotes, please visit my blog, TBQ's Book Palace.

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest opinion.

TheBookQueen

posted by The_Book_Queen on October 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

So-so

## This book was just OK for me. I have read many of Ms. McCarthy's books and have loved them (especially her Fast Track series). For some reason this one didn't do it for me. I think it must be geared toward a younger reader, although I've read plenty of NA books and l...
## This book was just OK for me. I have read many of Ms. McCarthy's books and have loved them (especially her Fast Track series). For some reason this one didn't do it for me. I think it must be geared toward a younger reader, although I've read plenty of NA books and liked them well enough. The dialogue seemed immature and I had a hard time believing that this 25 year old hot guy didn't want to have sex with his girlfriend. And then asking a 20 year old to marry you after only a couple of weeks felt odd. To be honest all the smoking was a huge turn-off for me. I don't care how good looking the hero was, there's nothing sexy about lighting up over and over. Not for me.

posted by 9394860 on October 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    I'm a fan of McCarthy's adult romance novels, so I'm not sure wh

    I'm a fan of McCarthy's adult romance novels, so I'm not sure why I was so hesitant to start her True Believers series. Well, that's not exactly true. I was hesitant because I'm more than a bit burned out on a lot of NA, at least those that feel like tragedy porn and use sex to cure all life's cruelties. I know that's a huge blanket statement and not exactly fair, but I also know I'm not alone in those feelings.

    ANYWAY. Back to the story at hand...My point is, Sweet is not that type of story and I'm a big dummy for not given it a go before now because I adored this book. Not only do we get a great, slow-burn love story and one of the best book guys ever in Riley Mann, but we also get a story that delivers a much-needed message in regards to women and sexuality. And this, this is very important to me. Maybe it's because I'm so aware of women's issues these days, or because I have a daughter who I want to grow up to be sure and proud of herself, but I am very drawn to books featuring heroines who face issues regarding their sexuality, who are strong and unapologetic in that way. What turned a lot of readers off about Jessica in True (based on reviews I've read) is exactly why I wanted to read this series. One of the big things I took away from Sweet was, no one was in control of Jessica's body and her feelings about her body and sex, but Jessica. Not her parents, her friends, not even her boyfriend. She didn't allow those around her to shame her, put their ideas of morality on her shoulders, or make her answer to their jealousies. She was strong and sure and I loved that.




    Soapbox moment aside, I also appreciated Sweet for the heart of it, a love story about two people with strong walls around their hearts. Walls that were brought down, bit-by-bit, by a genuine friendship, selfless actions, and a slow-building love that is stronger than anything that could keep them apart.

    Neither of these two wanted love. Jessica wanted to answer to no one, wanted to belong only to herself. She's impossible to know very well, but finds a kindred spirit in Riley. Riley has never belonged to himself. He's spent his entire life dealing with a hopelessly addicted mother, and is now raising his brothers. He's given his whole life to his brothers, not even taking the time for relationships. Riley does, though, fall for Jess. And when she wins him over by caring for him and his family, helping him keep the family together, he goes for more. But Riley-and this is why I love him-wants to take the time to build a strong relationship, slowly. Where Jess is free with what she wants, Riley refuses to make things all about the physical. Riley wants to savor what they have in store, to enjoy each and every taste.



    Guys, for a book that had a lot steam and sexual tension, this book is absolutely not about the sex. So if you're looking for an NA that's more about the emotional than the physical, this is it.

    Sweet was such an engaging story, and I truly adored every bit of it. It was sexy and sweet, and it spoke to me in a way that has me thinking about it weeks later. If the rest of the True Believers series is this good, I'm in for such a treat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Mist

    She moans and puts her head on his shoulder imbracing the pain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Erik

    Smirks...master huh looks like I have a sl.utty submissive on my hands...smirks digging his fingers into her cu.nt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    Sweet is the second book in the True Believers series by Erin Mc

    Sweet is the second book in the True Believers series by Erin McCarthy.




    With the focus still on the Mann brothers, this time it's older brother Riley, his love interest is Jessica, who is in need of a place to stay while she awaits for the apartment that she has sub-let to be vacated, neither can really stand each other at first, but when Riley is told that someone from the Child Protective Services will be visiting to assess his younger brother Easton's living situation and Riley who is applying for custody, Jessica helps to bring the house up to scratch and it's not long before they develop feelings for one another, but with Jessica hesitant to open her heart and let love in and Riley who doesn't trust easily especially in romantic relationships, can these two find a way to make a relationship work.




    I loved these two characters, their sarcasm, wit and general same way of thinking made them a perfect couple with sizzling hot chemistry and a great storyline to go along with it.




    I think I may even like this book better than the first one True, this book was hard to put down and I was desperate to get to the end and see how Riley and Jessica's relationship would work out.




    I loved the appearances of a lot of the characters from the first book, especially Tyler and Rory (the first books couple), it was nice to see them together and happy, I also enjoyed the friendship between Jessica and Tyler.




    Erin has created an amazingly addictive contemporary romance series that belongs up there with the best new adult books out in the world.




    After just these two books released so far, this series is one of my favorites that will be reread over and over again.




    I anxiously await the next books in this amazing series.




    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Brady

    Fartd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Dash

    Sits in her bed smiling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Daniel and dawn

    Daniel: were leaving mom || Dawn: yea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Dash

    Leaves a note that says "I love you" then she leaves into the underworld ((underworld res 1))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Reyna

    Lawl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Ashley

    Yay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Lilly

    Name: Lilly •Gender: Female •Looks: Light brown hair with natural blonde highlights, both ears are peirced her left ear has two peircings, her eyes are a startling blue against tan skin. She's 5'6 and is skinny. •Usually wears boot cut jeans, random t-shirts, a sweatshirt or light jacket, combat or hiking boots. •Likes: the songs Radioactive, and I will wait. My saying, 'Dream like youll live forever, live like youll die tomorrow. Boys and girls.( im bi) •Dislikes: god modding and people who bi.tch a lot about stupid crap. •Personality: Kind, friendly, gentle, secretive at times, and is an all round good person. •More: I am sort of new to this so give me time. I might not be active for a couple of days at a time. ~Lilly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Arrianas bio (short one)

    Name:arriana/gender:female/hair color:red(natrual hair color) eye color:hazel/crush:none/history:none/fashion style:belly shirts d booty shorts/sex type:bi and les like it rugh and hard/fav tpe of pet:tiger and bear cubs and kittens and puppys etc/ wish:to be a model and singer/dscriptive:if ur taling to me u dont have to be descriptive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Katlyn's bio

    Name Katlyn. Gender Female. Looks She has long blonde hair blue sparkling eyes. She almost always wears a tanktop with skinny jeans. She has two piercings on both her ears. Crush. None yet. S.e.x. kind. Bis.ex. . Anything else ask

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Maddie

    Blue eyes light brown hair big ish b oobs and a big azz wants sex and will do a boy (i guess)if it means lovr in the bed her room is res 3

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Chevy's Bio!

    NAME: Charlotte 'Chevy' Webb
    <br>
    AGE: 18
    <br>
    GENDER: Female
    <br>
    ORIENTATION: Bise<_>xual
    <br>
    APPEARENCE: Chevy is tall, about 5' 11", and athletic. She has a midnight blue pixie cut, and large gray eyes. Her single lip piercing is barely visble, as is the one on her right eyebrow.
    <br>
    USUAL OUTFIT: Chevy usually wears ripped, acid washed skinny jeans, a black v-neck, and some kind of black shoes. (Usually combat boots)
    <br>
    CRUSH: Chloe, admittedly.
    <br>
    PERSONALITY: She's bubbly, exuberant, loyal, and very flirtatious.
    <br>
    CAR: A black 1967 Cheverolet Impala.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Blood's Updated Bio

    Name: Brianna Lance Clear
    Preferred Name: Blood
    Age: 18
    Looks: Long, straight, blond hair the length of her knees. She is very pale with ice-blue eyes.
    Personality: Kind, se<_>xually active, quick to judge, short-tempered.
    Car: Not a car; motercycle. A pure black, two-seeted Harly Davidson.
    Status: Single
    Crush: Carrie
    Other: Lesbian; Likes women.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Chance's and Chloe's Bio

    Name: Chance
    Age: 18
    Description: caramel colored hair, silver eyes that glow at night, dimples in her smile, full plump lips, she has a nose piercing, tongue piercing, snake bites, a belly button piercing. And has a tattoo on her side of a snake
    Personality: meet her :D

    >Chloe<
    Name: Chloe
    Age: 16
    Description: blonde hair, crystal blue eyes, skinny, very tan, dimples in her smile, a nose piercing and belly button piercing and tattoo on her hip of Stitch and says Ohana
    Personality: kind, caring, sweet, shy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Wow

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Great read

    Couldnt put it down. Cant wait for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    B

    She moans louder and grinds her hips toward you

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3