Customer Reviews for

Sweet 16

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Sweet 16

    The third book that I read for the third trimester was called Sweet 16. The author of this book was Kate Brian. This is a book about a girl named Teagan Phillips. She is rich, beautiful, fashionable, popular, and she is throwing her sweet sixteen party. No one else in the world is going to have a party like hers. It is going to be the most glamorous and extravagant sweet sixteen party that anyone has ever seen. Well, that is what she hopes for. Things end up taking a turn for the worst for her party and everything is going wrong. This was supposed to be the party of a lifetime and now Teagan is mad. In a search for alcohol to calm her down, Teagan ends up falling down the stairs into the wine cellar. She wakes up having a strange looking woman staring down at her. Her night from there then goes back in time to when Teagan was a much happier person. Before her dad became obsessed with his work and before her mother died. Teagan gets to see how the choices she made in her past led to her being the awful person that she is on her sweet sixteen. The strange woman in the wine cellar will help her and guide her to show her how she could have handled her life a little better. This is one of the greatest books that I have ever read so far. This book was very exciting to read. I always wanted to know what was going to happen next. It was exciting because the author would leave cliffhangers at the end of chapters and I would want to keep reading to find out what was going to happen next. In this book, I could feel like I was ¿in¿ it. I felt like I was ¿in¿ the book because the author uses really great detail and it made me feel like I was there watching the whole story happen. The main conflict of this book interested me. It interested me because I wanted to know how Teagan was going to get out of the mess that she put herself into. I also wanted to know if Teagan was ever actually going to understand that she messed up her life and she also messed up several other people¿s lives. The characters in this book seem realistic to me. There were realistic because of the author¿s detail she uses about them. They were also realistic because I can relate some of their feelings and actions to myself and to people that I know. The ending of this book was very satisfying to me. It ended perfectly and it ended just how I wanted it to. I would tell you how it ended but I can¿t because then I would give the entire story away. I really loved reading this wonderful book. I definitely enjoyed the writing style of the author, Kate Brian. The voice of the author was in third person. There was a lot of vocabulary in this book. A lot of the words I didn¿t know or the author would use the words in a way that I didn¿t know. If I didn¿t know a word I would usually look it up in the dictionary. There are many unique qualities about this author¿s writing style. The author obviously likes to use a lot of vocabulary. She also uses a lot of description. Kate Brian also likes to capture the reader by putting in cliffhangers and things like that, that will keep you guessing and keep you reading. The author likes to use a lot of humor. I like that about the writing style because I enjoy very funny books. The author also uses newspaper articles in the book that I found very interesting. They were articles from Teagan¿s school newspapers and they were all about Teagan¿s sweet sixteen party. They helped you better understand what a mean person Teagan is. One other thing that was unique about this authors writing style is that a lot of people can relate to some of the problems Teagan is going through. Though, I don¿t think most people go traveling back in time, a lot of people have to deal with the pressures of being cool and that is something that Teagan goes through. The author¿s ability to use dialogue is very good. There is a lot of dialogue in this novel and the author is very good at using it. The author¿s ability to use description is also very good. She use

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Un-Freaking-Believable

    After reading this, I honestly feel like a different person. Im thirteen, and this is my new favorite book! I read and finished this book in one day and it was way better than I couldve imagined. If it doesnt make you cry, then there's really something wrong with you...reading this book makes you realize that theres more to life than being a self-centered brat and taking things for granted.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Teagan Philips has it all...

    Teagan Philips is the hottest girl at her exclusive private school, but she's also the most insecure. She claims she and her" best friend" Lindsey are tight, and ignores her other friends Maya and Ashley when it comes to her two favorite people: Lindsey and her boyfriend Max. After conking her head, however, Teagan is visited by her future self who makes her look at life- see who are her true friends; experience the pains of her mother's death, look at the strained relationship between her and her father. Kate Brian adds an interesting twist with a childhood friend that sends Teagan a birthday gift every year, adding a little bit of Sugar and Spice here and there. Readers will fall for this spirited and magical novel about a way-twisted Sweet Sixteen that will forever mark YouTube history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    I really have a hard time understanding those reviewers who off

    I really have a hard time understanding those reviewers who offered negative commentaries on this book. I have read a vast number of teen and YA books, and this is easily among the top three or four --- maybe even higher!

    As many of the reviews note, Sweet 16 is inspired by A Christmas Carol,and the central character Teagan is every bit as nasty and cold-hearted as is Scrooge in the Dickens book. Right away, the reader has to face the reality of a young girl embittered beyond anything expected from one her age. Not only is Teagan young, but she is also wealthy and clearly has lived a privileged life. Before you know it, you are drawn into her story, wishing very much to know how she came to be what she is.

    Any number of Scrooge pastiches have been written, and they are often entertaining. You will also find various film versions around Christmas time in places like the Hallmark Channel. So, when I read Sweet 16, I had to ask myself why this book is so much better than most other examples. The short answer, of course, is that Kate Brian is a very good writer, and she has put all of her talents to excellent use in this book.While 'A Christmas Carol' may have provided the inspiration, her treatment has more the "feel" of "It's a Wonderful Life." Well, that is, if that movie had been called "It's a Wretchedly Miserable Life," and had dealt with a world in which the villain Potter had never existed, rather than the hero George.

    Sweet 16 is at its core a marvelous morality play., but it is no way ponderous or preachy. The lessons we learn from Teagan's experiences are delightful and painless. Believe me,you will NOT regret reading this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Awesoem

    I wasnt expecting it to be as good as it was. But its probably more suitable for young adults and or teens. I loved it. I would never taelke back a penny for it , it was worth evryone. I hope u buy it and enjoy it as much as i did ! I wont say anymore dont wanna give it awayy !!!!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Wow,loved it!!

    It brought me to tears many times it was touching and beautifully written!!!!! Thx for writing this book!! :) i loved it ,it teaches u not to take things for granted and to live life loving those who truly love u

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    great book!

    This is definately one of the best books i have read! It is always catching your attention!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bratty Girl learns her lesson

    Sweet 16 was a fun and light read. I enjoyed reading just how bad her sweet 16 gets and as we all know getting there can be half the fun but in Teagan's case it was about to get worse. The book does have a great message however. This book really gave me a new perspective of why people act the way they do. Teagan's the character you'll love @ hate but in the end you'll be surprised just how much this spoiled rotten brat changes her life. Super funny and perfect for fans of My Super Sweet 16 and all our other guilty little pleasures!!!! hope you enjoy it as much as i did

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Nikki is with her date tap to see who

    Has arrived with her date (cole)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Nadia

    Hey guys! Whats up

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    J

    Babe, i have to go...ill see u at our book later tonight. Bye. Sorry

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Amazing!!

    I have not read this on my nook, but still it is a really good book! I highly reccomend this book! ;3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Horribale book

    Dont read it has so many swear words and like four on the first page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Must read

    Life lesson about the true meaning of life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet 16

    This was the first book that started my long line of reading. I may have read it a long time ago, I still remember most of the details and thats surprising because I've read over 150 books since. I recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Shockingly Amazing!

    When I first got Sweet16 I thought it would be some ordinary story about a girl turning 16. Instead it was about Teagan a girl who is spoiled by her rich father, and durng the course of her party gets visted by herself in the future who gives her a reaality cheak. Its a great story about not taking things for granted. I HIGHLY recommend that you read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute :D

    It was very cute and twisted. I loved the unexpected factor about it. It is a perfect read for people that need a little reality. Perfect also for just the average typical teenager looking for a good read! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THis is Book is Sweet!

    i LOVE this book, its so empowering.. its good for finding yourself definetly i LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I just recently finished reading 'Sweet 16', and it has become one of my favorite books. I could not put it down. I'm really hoping that someone will make it into a movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    wow, just wow

    this was , i can't even say how great well written surprising and enlighting this book was it's way too great for great. i suggest anyone to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4