Customer Reviews for

Sweet Baklava

Average Rating 3.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quick read - great book

I originally became interested in this book when I saw it was set in Tarpon Springs which is very close to where I live. Really cute love story with a focus on how God can change people's lives.

posted by 7634023 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

too sweet

OMG, I felt like I overdosed on sugar as I read this book. There were no conflicts or drama, it was all so sickeningly sweet that I would not recommend it.

posted by 7083385 on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    too sweet

    OMG, I felt like I overdosed on sugar as I read this book. There were no conflicts or drama, it was all so sickeningly sweet that I would not recommend it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Quick read - great book

    I originally became interested in this book when I saw it was set in Tarpon Springs which is very close to where I live. Really cute love story with a focus on how God can change people's lives.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must-Read...Sweet and Tender Romance.

    Debby Mayne is such a talented writer and she has an amazing way of bringing her characters to life. Once I picked up this book, it was impossible to put it down. I was swept up in this wonderful and tender romance from the very first page until the last.

    Paula Andrews and Nick Papadopoulos were high school sweethearts. But Nick grew restless and didn't want to follow in his family's footsteps of working in the sponge diving or restaurant businesses in the Greek community in Tarpon Springs, Florida. So, he enlistes in the Air Force.

    Now years later Paula and Nick both feels they are right where they want to be in their lives. Nick is happy in the military, and Paula owns her own candle and soap business, which is growing by leaps and bounds, but they're both missing one thing...true love.

    When Nick returns home on leave, the moment he sees Paula, those old feelings surface again and he realizes he's still in love with her.
    He battles with the decision of re-enlisting or staying in Tarpon Springs to start a life with Paula. Even though she want him to stay, she knows how much he loves the military and she fears if he stays he will eventually resent her.

    But with the help and preseverance of some meddling, but loving Papadolpoulos women and the undying love Nick and Paula has for one another...in the end, Love finds a way!

    **As an extra bonus, several of the mouth-watering Greek dishes that are in the story, the recipes for them are listed in the back of the book.**

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    fun story!

    If you enjoy quick easy read books with a positive feel....give this book a try. I enjoyed it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Fun, fast paced and great recipes

    Recommend this book for a fun but reflective read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Sweet Story

    Nice easy read with very likable characters. Although listed as a Christian Lit story, I found religion to be a background element until the 2nd half of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Annoying

    Slow and predictable, this is heavy on preaching and light on romance. I was very annoyed by the interfering extended family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    A Sweet Surprise

    This book took me by surprise. I really enjoyed it. Loved that good things happened to good people even if there was struggle and faith to be found.

    Make sure you indulge in the Avgolemeno soup!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Cute story, dragged in spots

    A fun, quick read with characters you quickly care about. The story did seem to meander slowly at times toward the inevitable conclusion. One thing the editor should have caught - the various timelines don't really mesh. Nick and Paula meet when he is a junior and she's a freshman. He just turned 30 but has been "in love with her" for 18 years. The school "bad girl", who was a classmate of both, has a 16 year old daughter.
    The Greek recipes at the end are a fun bonus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Cute but only because I live where it was set.

    A little sweet, a little bland but I enjoyed the setting, a crazy nearby town.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great, feel good read!

    Nice, easy read! A story that just makes you feel good about human nature!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    pretty good

    Had a few nice surprises although one section seemed to drag a little. Some fun recipes in the back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    ANNOYING: To saccharin sweet, repetive and boring. Won't recomme

    ANNOYING:
    To saccharin sweet, repetive and boring. Won't recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Sweet love story

    I really enjoyed reading this book because of where it took place (Florida, one of my favorite places), because of the family values, and because I enjoy a cute love story. The author made me feel like I was there with the main character while I was reading, and overall I would definitely recommend this book to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    check it out

    very intertaining

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    check it out

    cute story. nice recipes too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Totally enjoyed this entertaining book of love and the challenge

    Totally enjoyed this entertaining book of love and the challenges of fear of losing it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Pleasant light read.

    Pleasant light read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Hey guys

    How many pages is this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Boring

    Couldn't even make it through the first chapter. "Light romance" is definitely not my thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7