Customer Reviews for

Sweet Baklava

Average Rating 3.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quick read - great book

I originally became interested in this book when I saw it was set in Tarpon Springs which is very close to where I live. Really cute love story with a focus on how God can change people's lives.

posted by 7634023 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

too sweet

OMG, I felt like I overdosed on sugar as I read this book. There were no conflicts or drama, it was all so sickeningly sweet that I would not recommend it.

posted by 7083385 on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must-Read...Sweet and Tender Romance.

    Debby Mayne is such a talented writer and she has an amazing way of bringing her characters to life. Once I picked up this book, it was impossible to put it down. I was swept up in this wonderful and tender romance from the very first page until the last.

    Paula Andrews and Nick Papadopoulos were high school sweethearts. But Nick grew restless and didn't want to follow in his family's footsteps of working in the sponge diving or restaurant businesses in the Greek community in Tarpon Springs, Florida. So, he enlistes in the Air Force.

    Now years later Paula and Nick both feels they are right where they want to be in their lives. Nick is happy in the military, and Paula owns her own candle and soap business, which is growing by leaps and bounds, but they're both missing one thing...true love.

    When Nick returns home on leave, the moment he sees Paula, those old feelings surface again and he realizes he's still in love with her.
    He battles with the decision of re-enlisting or staying in Tarpon Springs to start a life with Paula. Even though she want him to stay, she knows how much he loves the military and she fears if he stays he will eventually resent her.

    But with the help and preseverance of some meddling, but loving Papadolpoulos women and the undying love Nick and Paula has for one another...in the end, Love finds a way!

    **As an extra bonus, several of the mouth-watering Greek dishes that are in the story, the recipes for them are listed in the back of the book.**

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Sweet love story

    I really enjoyed reading this book because of where it took place (Florida, one of my favorite places), because of the family values, and because I enjoy a cute love story. The author made me feel like I was there with the main character while I was reading, and overall I would definitely recommend this book to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    check it out

    cute story. nice recipes too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Totally enjoyed this entertaining book of love and the challenge

    Totally enjoyed this entertaining book of love and the challenges of fear of losing it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Must read for Floridians

    Very "sweet" story. Especially for Floridians AND Air Force brats who can identify!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Good story, great recipes. Fun!

    Good story, great recipes. Fun!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Chey to ryder

    Hey where u r wats happen im going to start to cry if u cant post turn ur nook off then turn it back on then go to the book happy third result kk lov ya and im really starting to miss u

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Good book

    Good light read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    i loved this book

    this is such a heart warming story. i had a hard time putting it down. i would read more about these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Wonderful story

    I loved this book so much. So many couples go through exactly what Paula and Nick do: they have their own goals and passions and giving it up for a chance to be with someone they love is risky. Perhaps the timing hasn't been right before, perhaps they each have been working for something and aren't sure if the other person is ready to commit, or perhaps the couple has been on and off. There are so many times I hear about something like this, and I thought Debby Mayne did a wonderful job capturing what is a real-life situation for many couples.

    The characters are really lovely. I so enjoyed coming back to this book every day and seeing what was going to happen. Paula runs a soap and candle store, and the descriptions of her business made me smelling those candles every time I cracked open the book. I liked the backdrop of Tarpon Springs, Florida, and could picture the sights of the town and just about smell the ocean air from the descriptions of the restaurants and shops.

    I especially loved the Papadopoulos family with their generosity and endless supply of food! In fact, if you aren't hungry by the time you finish Sweet Baklava, you will be when you see the small collection of recipes at the end.

    I could so relate to Paula, who loves Nick but isn't sure if she can give up her business and the stability that Tarpon Springs has provided. I also found her a wonderful example of what God's grace can do. This was the first Debby Mayne novel I read, and would recommend it. (I'm also going to pick up a few more from her.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2