Customer Reviews for

Sweet Evil (Sweet Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

From the beginning when I found the blurb of the book in Goodrea

From the beginning when I found the blurb of the book in Goodreads I thought "Hey, this book looks totally awesome. I'm gonna have to read it!" And then I pre-ordered it right away. Reasons? Well, first we have the cover. Have you seen it?! Her red dress is go...
From the beginning when I found the blurb of the book in Goodreads I thought "Hey, this book looks totally awesome. I'm gonna have to read it!" And then I pre-ordered it right away. Reasons? Well, first we have the cover. Have you seen it?! Her red dress is gorgeous, she is a beauty all by herself but surrounded by that wicked forest and the cool shadow of that totally hot guy while the whole covers exudes this "embrace-me right-now-and-surrender" vibe is just too much.

Second reason: The blurb. Maybe this will sound weird but I've always being told I'm some sort of bad influence. Why? No clue. I mean, I'm the personification of cuteness and sweetness and all that... Yeah, right. I'm not fooling you, am I? Thanks to the first line of the summary I had an overwhelming desire to read this book about teenagers that had to be a bad influence in order to stay alive.

And then I finally got to read the book. True to be told I have mixed feelings. You see, Anna's personality at the beginning is just so... so... good (deep sigh). I know it's not bad to be good but then again, an utterly good person can get on your nerves, right? At least she did get on mine. But don't get me wrong, once you understand the deepness of her struggles the entire book develops a new layer of intrigue.

The way Anna interacts with the other sons and daughters of the Dukes make a huge difference in her life. Where once her only friend had being Jay (a human boy that is like a brother for her) now she had to learn to deal with the Twins, Marna and Ginger, daughters of the Duke of Adultery whose purpose was to break couples that truly loved each other; Blake, son of the Duke of Envy; Kopano, son of the Duke of Wrath, that has his own story and whom I like a lot; and finally Kaidan, son of the Duke of Lust, the target of Anna's affection.
All of them had to work for their fathers' cause. Or face the consequences; and let me tell you, we are talking of horrible consequences here.

Thanks to this new situation we see Anna fight and then embrace, somehow, her destiny. But how can see truly turn to evil when there's good inside of her?

Personal opinion:
Right now, if I could, I would love to read the second book. The way Wendy describes the scenes was superb, and this is a debut novel, people. During the first chapters I thought this book was going to be very suave, you know? But Wendy just blew my mind when some scenes were described with complete honesty making very easy to separate good from evil. Some paragraphs were a little too strong maybe but in the right amount. You will cringe but you won't cry; you will just understand what the characters are going through and that's a huge plus.

So yes, buy it and read it in one sit. You won't be disappointed.

posted by Alaiel_Kreuz on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Not So Adequate...

Sweet Evil had promise with a plot completely unique to its storyline. However, it fell short and was just above dissapointing. Personally, a key factor to a good story is a likeable protagonist. Anna was annoying all throughout the book and an utterly emotional crybaby...
Sweet Evil had promise with a plot completely unique to its storyline. However, it fell short and was just above dissapointing. Personally, a key factor to a good story is a likeable protagonist. Anna was annoying all throughout the book and an utterly emotional crybaby. Her completely goody-goody attitude grated on my nerves the entire book. The only characters that were half decent were Jay, Balail, and Kopoke. Kaiden was not so much interesting as he was the typical hot-and-cold broody "love-interest." Unsatified... in short: don't waste your time.

posted by LoverOfBooks0 on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    From the beginning when I found the blurb of the book in Goodrea

    From the beginning when I found the blurb of the book in Goodreads I thought "Hey, this book looks totally awesome. I'm gonna have to read it!" And then I pre-ordered it right away. Reasons? Well, first we have the cover. Have you seen it?! Her red dress is gorgeous, she is a beauty all by herself but surrounded by that wicked forest and the cool shadow of that totally hot guy while the whole covers exudes this "embrace-me right-now-and-surrender" vibe is just too much.

    Second reason: The blurb. Maybe this will sound weird but I've always being told I'm some sort of bad influence. Why? No clue. I mean, I'm the personification of cuteness and sweetness and all that... Yeah, right. I'm not fooling you, am I? Thanks to the first line of the summary I had an overwhelming desire to read this book about teenagers that had to be a bad influence in order to stay alive.

    And then I finally got to read the book. True to be told I have mixed feelings. You see, Anna's personality at the beginning is just so... so... good (deep sigh). I know it's not bad to be good but then again, an utterly good person can get on your nerves, right? At least she did get on mine. But don't get me wrong, once you understand the deepness of her struggles the entire book develops a new layer of intrigue.

    The way Anna interacts with the other sons and daughters of the Dukes make a huge difference in her life. Where once her only friend had being Jay (a human boy that is like a brother for her) now she had to learn to deal with the Twins, Marna and Ginger, daughters of the Duke of Adultery whose purpose was to break couples that truly loved each other; Blake, son of the Duke of Envy; Kopano, son of the Duke of Wrath, that has his own story and whom I like a lot; and finally Kaidan, son of the Duke of Lust, the target of Anna's affection.
    All of them had to work for their fathers' cause. Or face the consequences; and let me tell you, we are talking of horrible consequences here.

    Thanks to this new situation we see Anna fight and then embrace, somehow, her destiny. But how can see truly turn to evil when there's good inside of her?

    Personal opinion:
    Right now, if I could, I would love to read the second book. The way Wendy describes the scenes was superb, and this is a debut novel, people. During the first chapters I thought this book was going to be very suave, you know? But Wendy just blew my mind when some scenes were described with complete honesty making very easy to separate good from evil. Some paragraphs were a little too strong maybe but in the right amount. You will cringe but you won't cry; you will just understand what the characters are going through and that's a huge plus.

    So yes, buy it and read it in one sit. You won't be disappointed.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!!!!

    This book was great! Great story very original. Ive been losing my mind with all the vampire and werewolf books out right now. I mean I love them but you can only put so many new twists to them, and they end up kind of the same in all books. So this book was awesome a whole new original story havent read anything like it yet. The way the characters interact with eacother is great, in most books you dont see the rrlationships between all the characters with eachother. In this book you do, it makes you love each one more.

    SPOILER ALERT!!
    Does it piss off anyone else that Kaiden cant just suck it up and admitt his feelings? I mean freakin Kope knows her for like a couple days, barely talks to her, and he clearly makes his feelings known! I hope she gets over Kaiden more in the next book but at the same time I hope they get together! But right now i just want to punch Kaiden! Yeah im crazy i know.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    I love this book so freaking much, I wish it becomes a series .

    I love this book so freaking much, I wish it becomes a series . Please write more Mrs.Higgins !!!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Wow!

    I love this book and cant wait for the next one! I read this book in about a day! This book is amazing and really draws the reader in too! I love seeing the relationship between all the character develope. This book lures you in and you wont want to put it down until its done. But of corse, after you finish it, youll want to read the next one! I give this book 5 stars and cant wait for the next one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I adore this book so much! I really hope the next two are picked

    I adore this book so much! I really hope the next two are picked up because I have to know what happens next!! It is a must read for anyone who loves paranormal romances in YA.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    On the heels of all the vampire and otherworldly books comes Swe

    On the heels of all the vampire and otherworldly books comes Sweet Evil and blows them all away!! This goes beyond the beyond and leads readers into a world of real good versus evil. I was absolutely blown away and can't wait to read more from Wendy Higgins! I can't wait to follow Anna and see what's waiting ahead for her. And is it bad that I so desperately wanted Anna to give in to the 'evil' and Kai? :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    best book ever i just fall in love with it

    i just have to said a can no wait for a second book, i love the love story between Anna an Kai

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great book, tired of reviewers thinking this a chatting page though

    You guys are retarded with the cat stuff.. what is wrong with people these days! This is a book review not a chat site.. the book i have read it is awesome one of my faves! Nothing to do with cats.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Loves it! I deff recommend it

    Loves it! I deff recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Very intriguing.

    I really enjoyed the true romance and absolutely charming characters. I have read countless paranormal romances and this has to be on my top 10. Completely fabulous; I fell for the main characters instantly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Unique and gripping.  This story grabbed me straight from the be

    Unique and gripping.  This story grabbed me straight from the beginning and didn't let go.  The characters come to life in this well written, witty novel that makes you want to stay up all night reading.  I had trouble focusing on anything else.  This author did a wonderful job of helping the reader connect to the characters and kept the acting coming. Read this book, and I promise you will not be disappointed.  
    On another note, I really enjoyed the underlying good vs. evil battle that really is at the heart of the story line ( although the love story is gripping as well).  Like I said before, read this book, you will NOT be disappointed, instead you will be chomping at the bit to get the next book in the series. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Awesomely Amazing!!!!!

    This book has character, description, romance, action, and emotion all rolled up in one! An awesome read! Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Must read!!!!

    This is an absolutely great book! I couldn't stop reading once I started. Finished it within hours, which I'm now regretting, I want more! Unlike so many other books out there, the characters are likeable and the story line is captivating from the start. I don't want to give any spoilers so I'll just leave it at that. So glad I found this book, can't wait for the next one to come out!
    Buy this book, you won't regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    SUPERB! People who haven't read this book are missing out BIG TI

    SUPERB! People who haven't read this book are missing out BIG TIME!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    This book is excellent! In a world consumed by vampires and were

    This book is excellent! In a world consumed by vampires and werewolves (which I love, so don't hate) its a very nice change. This book truly shows good and evil and gives you a strong female character, that you can relate to in situations, as well as a strong, mysterious male character, who you cannot help but fall in love with.

    All in all, this book is amazing. Reviews, blurbs and summaries do this book no justice. Its a fast past page turner that you'll have to fight yourself to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Beyond awesome

    I saw it at the library and i thought i would give it a try, i fell in love, must read i bought it for the nook so i could take it everywhere

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Fantastic

    Fantastic

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Love it

    Oh my god. I'm so in love with Kaiden. Cant wait to read second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    LOVED IT!!!! 

    LOVED IT!!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    D

    This book was just right for me with the perfect balance of humor, drama, love, bravery, and the supernatural. When I say that this book is good, I mean that it is among the the best of the best, and $5.99 is a cheap shot for a book with such rich quality. I commend the author for her work, and for a 13 year old I really enjoyed it. Abso. Lutely. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11