Customer Reviews for

The Sweet Far Thing (Gemma Doyle Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 694 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(475)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Sweet FAr Thing

I love this book! I was on the edge of my set when reading parts of it. Near the end I even started crying. Libba Bray is a wonderful author. Her writing made me feel like I was Gemma (the main character). I must say you should read her other two books ¿A Great and Te...
I love this book! I was on the edge of my set when reading parts of it. Near the end I even started crying. Libba Bray is a wonderful author. Her writing made me feel like I was Gemma (the main character). I must say you should read her other two books ¿A Great and Terrible Beauty and Rebel Angels. Sweet far thing is the third book in this series. This book is mostly for girls but there is some war like scenes. My favorite part is the hot romance between Gemma and her lover Kartik. Their love is delayed a lot, which made me a little unhappy. I would of like to see on things happen between them I want to say more but I don¿t want to ruin the ending. Gemma and her friends must find a way to save the realms and our world from the evil Winterlands, or is it the Winterland that is evil? Who is the bad guy? Who can Gemma trust? This book has many fantasy creatures like pixies, nymphs, gargoyles, and many other magical being. This book won¿t bored you believe me.

posted by Did_This_For_Class on October 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Angieville: THE SWEET FAR THING

And so ends the trilogy that began with A GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY , continued with REBEL ANGELS, and concludes in this final volume, THE SWEET FAR THING. I liked the first one well enough because of its unique blend of a wild, magical, mythical realm barely constraine...
And so ends the trilogy that began with A GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY , continued with REBEL ANGELS, and concludes in this final volume, THE SWEET FAR THING. I liked the first one well enough because of its unique blend of a wild, magical, mythical realm barely constrained behind stiff Victorian curtains. I really got into the second one as the plot became more complex, Gemma came into her own powers, Felicity and Ann's stories became more layered, and poor beautiful Pippa was relegated to the Realms indefinitely. When I saw how thick the third one was, my eagerness ratcheted up a notch. After all, I have been sitting around lately asking for longer books. Suddenly, here one is.

Unfortunately, 800 pages later, the best thing about it remains the first four words, it's lovely title, taken from a poem by W.B. Yeats. And it does capture the extremely bittersweet feel of the last portion of the book. But somehow this installment failed to capture my imagination. It frustrated me more than anything. Instead of making good use of everything she fought for in REBEL ANGELS, Gemma spends the entire novel trying to decide whether or not to do what she decided to do at the end of the last book. Not until the final pages does she get a grip on herself and do what needs to be done. I thought we were done with crippling indecision in the previous books. I wanted the Gorgon to just let loose and throttle her! Meanwhile, Felicity and Ann are apparently thirteen again and spend the majority of their time being petty and distrustful, backstabbing Gemma whenever they get the chance. Pippa is the most interesting of the original friends, munching on the berries of the dead in all her Miss Havisham glory. But her path is extremely predictable. And Kartik? Fiery, beautiful Kartik? Sigh. The end to his story had far too much in common with Merlin's fate for my taste. I will say that the scene where Gemma and Kartik place their hands inside the stone was achingly beautiful. But, as with much in this hefty book, it was too little too late and I'm left feeling sad. Wishing, somehow, it could all have gone differently.

posted by Angieville on November 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 475 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    Sweet FAr Thing

    I love this book! I was on the edge of my set when reading parts of it. Near the end I even started crying. Libba Bray is a wonderful author. Her writing made me feel like I was Gemma (the main character). I must say you should read her other two books ¿A Great and Terrible Beauty and Rebel Angels. Sweet far thing is the third book in this series. This book is mostly for girls but there is some war like scenes. My favorite part is the hot romance between Gemma and her lover Kartik. Their love is delayed a lot, which made me a little unhappy. I would of like to see on things happen between them I want to say more but I don¿t want to ruin the ending. Gemma and her friends must find a way to save the realms and our world from the evil Winterlands, or is it the Winterland that is evil? Who is the bad guy? Who can Gemma trust? This book has many fantasy creatures like pixies, nymphs, gargoyles, and many other magical being. This book won¿t bored you believe me.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!!!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!! It had everything- a little romance, awesome action, suspense, and more. I have only read two books in my entire life that made me cry, this was one of them. I love how it is told in present tense, too. The best thing about this book is how it all comes together in the end. It's like a mystery in a way. You have to put the pieces together like a puzzle and in the end it is just amazing when all the questions are answered. PERFECT story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Love

    Loved it soo much!!
    Very well played Miss Bray:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    LOOOOOOOVE IT!!!

    This book was so amazing! The only thing that I didn't like was that it had to end:(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Stunning and Tragic

    This book was an incredible ending to the trilogy but I absolutely bawled at the ending!!! I won't spoil it, but it is somewhat tragic...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of my new favorite series!

    I loved it. Like it's maybe one of my new favorite series... because it combines all my favorite things. I adore historical fiction, I really like fantasy-ish other-worldly stuff, and I like Young Adult where there is a flawed but kickass heroine. These books are phenomenal, I would recommend the series to anyone!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amaziing!

    if you are into magic, fun and frienship with a touch of romance this novel is totally for you, the first time i read it i couldnt put it down. i know this is not a good review but seriously give it a try with this book, you'll really enjoy it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE YOU!

    The last of the Gemma Doyle trilogy was a story that made me think. I haven't been this in love with a series in a very long time and my love affair with books has been widespread. It takes a really great book to make my emotions act up to the point where it can make me cry, yell out in frustration, and laugh out loud with sheer joy. The love portrayed between Gemma and Kartik was undeniably one of the sweetest and most gentle of love stories. This book offers so much more than just mystery and fantasy, it gives greater depths into what true friendship is all about and how life may not seem so different as it is written in a book. We can all take a piece of it and apply it to our own lives. I heart Libba Bray!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Katrik or simon

    Ok it is a five star book abd what i dony get why she likes simon. Like seriously Katrik died in a f*** tree and simon lived. She was supposed to be with katrik but i guess that what authors do to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    All-time Favorite!

    This is my favorite book of all. I have read this book so many times I've lost count. Read this book and all of Libba Bray's other books because they re just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    So good!

    I loved the book but the ending was so sad I CRIED.Really wished there was another book.poor gemma.819 pages tho wow!Again loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    genesids carrillo

    Magical! this is a under the cover kind of book. You'll read it just in oe sitdown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Enchanting !

    Makes you wish you could be there, i was a little suprised at the ending. I did not expect it to end this way, but i loved all three books !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    NNNNNOOOOOOO!!!!

    This cant be the last one there has to be another book. :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Great finale!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Amazing!

    It was better then the two other ones because , its more action-packed and really well writen even though it was 600 pages it was worth reading loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Enchanting

    Every page had me holding my breath and I gave up the luxury of a good night's sleep to read as much as i could.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    .

    =)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Woah

    Many people are saying that they didnt like the ending. I will not spoil anything, although i thought the ending was crafted beautyfully. Libba did the only thing, really, to end this series with no open ends and a new begging for all. Whos to say what will happen to gemma, or kartik, or felicity, ann, and the rest of the relms? Right then the future is bright for them to shape it as they like. An absoluty wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good book.... poor kartik

    Why kartik???????????)': i cried so hard!! Will he and gemma be together again when she dies? Or is she going to meet someone else?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 475 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24