Customer Reviews for

Sweet Liar

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

READ IT!

I just got done reading this book and i just fell in love with it. I really dont like her contemporaries very much and i didnt have high expectations for this book but i totally fell in love with the characters and didnt want this story to end! Sweet Liar is by far my f...
I just got done reading this book and i just fell in love with it. I really dont like her contemporaries very much and i didnt have high expectations for this book but i totally fell in love with the characters and didnt want this story to end! Sweet Liar is by far my fav. jude deveraux book of all time!

posted by Mariahhhh on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Not a favorite, but ok

This book was my first from Deveraux. Not too bad, although I found Mike to be too sensational. The man had no flaws! That's just not real at all. In romance, I believe that characters have to have good and bad characteristic. People are not perfect and making up ch...
This book was my first from Deveraux. Not too bad, although I found Mike to be too sensational. The man had no flaws! That's just not real at all. In romance, I believe that characters have to have good and bad characteristic. People are not perfect and making up characters that are seems so unreal. You can also fall in love with people with imperfections. I did like Samantha's complexity. I hated her and then I loved her. So, that was good.

posted by CharlieKA on April 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    Sweet Story

    Jude Deveraux has done it again with a story full of love, seduction, humor, mystery, and a little too violent for my taste. But still a story to grab at you. Samantha Elliot, a shy, scared, frumpy girl who needs to find her place in the world around her. A loner, who has been isolated from society and everyone else except her ailing Father she is forced at her Father's death, to go out into the big bad world and find out what happened to her disappearing grandmother. Thus we find the drama and action, and secrets unfold before our eager eyes. She arrives unhappily in New York to an apartment her Father has paid for her to live in and there she is knocked down by a gorgeous hunk, namely Micheal Taggert. Besides being a Man's man, and every woman's dream, he is also her new landlord. After the animosity and embarrassment she feels towards him dies down, they work together to find out the truth. Which leads them down unexpected paths, full of intrigue, danger, and love. I liked this story, go get it, I think you will too.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Recommended

    Interesting story with a good mystery/ romance feel.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Rruuurjfb

    Njjf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Ryan

    Walks in and kisses the slave girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Recommend

    Another good story from Jude Deveraux.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Another good book from Jude Deveraux. Kept me turning the page to see how it was going to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Great story!

    I loved this book! I want to read more about this family.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    I recommend this book!

    First book of Jude Deveraux's I've read. It was an easy and enjoyable read for me. Liked the heroine, overcoming problems to soften and love again. Mike was my dream guy....is there really someone out there like him????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Highly recommended,

    Didn't want to put down, was hooked at first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    A good read

    This is the first Jude Deveraux book I've read. I would recommend it and I will read more of her books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    connie ny

    while this is a great book it is an OLD book. original publish year 1992. kinda angry i wasted money on a book i already read. not nice b&n/nook. publish year in review is 2004.
    which is still 10 yrs ago, but i thought i had just missed reading one of this authors works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Quickand fun read

    Enjoyed the book but kept remembering the secondary characters names from other titles which were not in line with the characters from the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    frustrating

    she was so frustrating and I could not believe he put up with all her wiwhywashy attitude got over all her drama the story line was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Slow start but great middle end

    I found myself geating bored/ irratated with main character samanrha in the beginning of the book, too much poor me going on, but nce she loosened up its a GREAT book with love mystery and suspence, i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    great

    a story tht u cant put down no matter what!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was OK

    I really enjoyed the first 3/4 of this book, I couldn't put it down. The two main characters were likable and passionate for one another. However, as I got toward the end of the book I began to lose interest in the story. Not a bad read my any means, but not one of my favorites from Jude Deveraux.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    excellent!!

    I admit I was a little unsure if I would enjoy this book or not since many of the reviewers are high schoolers, but I found this book extremely good!! The chemistry was some of the best I've read, and I really loved the progression of the love story. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the suspense portion of the story was a little underdeveloped. The danger seems to 'poof' -- disappear all of a sudden with no reasons given. But other than that I thoroughly enjoyed this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    enchanting

    This was truely an enjoyable book. The hero was ssooooooo caring......... Must Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2