Customer Reviews for

The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious - and Perplexing - City

Average Rating 3.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

When You Pine for Paris, Read this Book

I just moved back to the US after 3 years in Paris. Help! What to do when I'm wishing I were back in Paris and longing for some good French cuisine?

Why, I shop, of course! But lacking the requisite French culinary skills, I don't shop for groceries; I head straigh...
I just moved back to the US after 3 years in Paris. Help! What to do when I'm wishing I were back in Paris and longing for some good French cuisine?

Why, I shop, of course! But lacking the requisite French culinary skills, I don't shop for groceries; I head straight to the book store.

And today I found the perfect remedy for what ailed me. I purchased a copy of David Lebovitz's The Sweet Life in Paris, a fabulous collection of anecdotes about his life in the City of deLights. I'd been meaning to read it since it first appeared last month.

From the introduction to the final page, the book reads the same way you would relish a French feast. Each chapter is like a dish to be savored. Delightful to the senses, pleasing array of perfectly-timed morsels. One course to the next sauced with David's tangy, well-honed humor. And punctuated by his best recipes (so tempting that even I might try them, kitchen flunkie though I may be). And, like a proper diner of an exquisite French meal, I devoured it appreciatively from cover to cover in one sitting.

So if you, too, would rather be in Paris, treat yourself to The Sweet Life in Paris. The next best thing to being there.

Yum!

(this review originally appeared on my blog "Polly-Vous Francais?)

posted by Polly-Vous-Francais on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not the Paris I know.

Lebovitz's whiney memoir about living in one of the most beautiful cities in the world presents a place unlike the Paris I have visited. Instead of pointing at Parisians and complaining, perhaps he should look at the common denominator (himself) as being the problem. ...
Lebovitz's whiney memoir about living in one of the most beautiful cities in the world presents a place unlike the Paris I have visited. Instead of pointing at Parisians and complaining, perhaps he should look at the common denominator (himself) as being the problem. Lebovitz attempts, unsuccessfully, to be humorous about the many problems he experiences and makes one wonder why he stays.

posted by KRG on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    When You Pine for Paris, Read this Book

    I just moved back to the US after 3 years in Paris. Help! What to do when I'm wishing I were back in Paris and longing for some good French cuisine?

    Why, I shop, of course! But lacking the requisite French culinary skills, I don't shop for groceries; I head straight to the book store.

    And today I found the perfect remedy for what ailed me. I purchased a copy of David Lebovitz's The Sweet Life in Paris, a fabulous collection of anecdotes about his life in the City of deLights. I'd been meaning to read it since it first appeared last month.

    From the introduction to the final page, the book reads the same way you would relish a French feast. Each chapter is like a dish to be savored. Delightful to the senses, pleasing array of perfectly-timed morsels. One course to the next sauced with David's tangy, well-honed humor. And punctuated by his best recipes (so tempting that even I might try them, kitchen flunkie though I may be). And, like a proper diner of an exquisite French meal, I devoured it appreciatively from cover to cover in one sitting.

    So if you, too, would rather be in Paris, treat yourself to The Sweet Life in Paris. The next best thing to being there.

    Yum!

    (this review originally appeared on my blog "Polly-Vous Francais?)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I wish I finished this book before my taking my first trip to Pa

    I wish I finished this book before my taking my first trip to Paris!

    It's fun to read and makes you laugh every third page or so. There are plenty of insider food-related recommendations. And lots of unusual recipes!

    A fun summer read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    A fun read!

    Some down-to-earth, ins-and-outs of a newcomer's daily life in Paris with wonderful recipes included.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Entertainng

    Interesting and straight forward ups and downs of living in Paris.
    Parts were 'laugh out loud' plus enjoyed the recipes thrown in...
    especially that Chocolate Cake.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    Not the Paris I know.

    Lebovitz's whiney memoir about living in one of the most beautiful cities in the world presents a place unlike the Paris I have visited. Instead of pointing at Parisians and complaining, perhaps he should look at the common denominator (himself) as being the problem. Lebovitz attempts, unsuccessfully, to be humorous about the many problems he experiences and makes one wonder why he stays.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    A Little Elitist

    Not a bad book, but the author comes across as a little elitist. I really hate books by expats that do nothing but complain about the country they are currently in. This book does this about half the time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Short on Memoir

    Very short on stories and bits of memoir, much heavier on recipes. Which is fine, if I had known I was buying a book that is nearly more recipes than Foodie/France memoir.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Utterly Charming - a real surprise!

    I picked this up just to breeze through the recipes. I found myself reading the entire book and really enjoying every minute. A very nice light hearted read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Made me want to cy......

    Reading this made sad because I was only able to visit Paris for 3 days. When I arrived I actually wanted to cry due the joy of finally visiting my dream city. This book reminds me of that feeling with each page and each recipe. I only wish I had read this book before my trip. Cannot wait to crank up my Eartha Kitt CD, put on my pink shappy chic apron and escape to my favorite place via cooking...while sipping some wine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    A friend loaned me a hardcover version of this book and I couldn

    A friend loaned me a hardcover version of this book and I couldn't put it down until the last page was read. The addition of recipes was a bonus and I just purchased it for my Nook. Have been in Paris several times and could relate to so many of the incidents that the author experienced. The description of buying crepes from a food wagon selling many varieties of fillings on the street is perfect as I remembered enjoying a crepe with butter, sugar and fresh lemon juice. This is a must read!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Love this

    This book is such a joy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    enjoyed it

    :)

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    t

    g

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3