Customer Reviews for

Sweet Love

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Great Easy Read

    This is the first of Ms. Strohmeyer's books i've read. Got it in the bargain books section. I got it for my jury duty. With those you can never tell but I was pleasantly surprised. Its not a terribly deep story line but I think a that the author does a great job on focusing on the different relationships in the story (job, parents, child, romantic, best friends, etc.). The plot line was good, esp. if you are really into the food/cooking scene since they do spend a good amount of their time in a cooking class. I'm not one of these people but i still enjoyed it.

    If you are looking for an interesting read with likeable characters then I would def. recommend Sweet Love

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed very much

    This is the first book by Sara Strohmeyer that I've read (thank you bargain books) and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I look forward to reading other books by the same author. Not too complicated and yet not insulting to the brain cells. A good balance in character development. One thread of the plot got a little confusing toward the end and I'm still not sure, but it wasn't a big distraction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    I really liked it!

    Cool story. Try it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Decadent

    I LOVE Sarah's Bubbles series. I am a Bubbles head & proud of it (yes, I am a yahoo carrying member). I am also going to say, my heart belongs to the Bubbles series & nothing Sarah writes will be as good as Ms. Yablonsky's hilarious series! For real! I mean, hello Bubbles Unbound scooped up the Agatha Award for best first novel in 2001.


    That said & out of the way, I will say Sarah has whipped up a savory morsel in Sweet Love. This is Sarah's best stand alone to date.

    Sweet Love is delectable. Sarah Strohmeyer has created a beautifully written novel that dares you to care & get invested in Julie's life. Julie is a single mom doing her best to do the right thing. When I think of Julie, the word mosaic comes to mind.

    Sweet Love is a heart-rending novel rich w/ emotion. Michael is a brilliant gem. He simply steals the show. Julie's mom, Betty, reminds us just how precious our mom's are. Strohmeyer hits a home run delving into the heart of mother/daughter dynamics. Strohmeyer shimmers as she tenderly & realistically gives us a peek into the lives of Julie & Betty. *Tissues*.

    Sweet Love is a quick read that packs an ardent wallop. Strohmeyer's writing is so riveting, you can't help but empathize w/ Strohmeyer's delightful cast of characters.


    Strohmeyer's Sweet Love is as frothy as a chocolate soufflé. Sheer bliss.


    Sweet Love is a bit slow to simmer but as soon as Michael appears the book bubbles over w/ yummy goodness.

    Strohmeyer tosses in a plot twist @ the end that took me by surprise. Kudos to Sarah for penning such a charming novel that invites you into the hearts & souls of the sweetest characters to come along in a long time.


    The cover is heavenly, huh? Magnolia bakery anyone...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    As smooth and luxurious as ganache

    Sarah Strohmeyer's "Sweet Love" follows the hectic life of single mother Julie Mueller, a TV reporter who's currently single and seriously overworked. Julie's hoping to be picked to follow the upcoming presidential campaign even as she digs up facts on the abduction and murder of a local girl. As a single mother, the case touches her deeply, and she oversteps her journalistic bounds in pursuit of the truth. <BR/><BR/>Julie lives above her parents, and her mother Betty, a breast cancer survivor, is desperate to see Julie matched up with the perfect man before she dies. Betty enrolls Julie in a dessert class by the renowned chef Renee D'Ours, much to Julie's chagrin. Julie feels herself to be a modern, liberated woman, and has no desire to be chained to the kitchen simply to appease some male whim. She feels strongly that her mother is little more than a domestic slave to her father, who disappears as soon as Betty is ill. Julie struggles with the sense that her father is constantly abandoning her mother, and can't understand why Betty stands by him despite his shortcomings. <BR/><BR/>Despite her misgivings, Julie goes to the dessert classes to discover that a) she does enjoy learning how to make sumptuous desserts, and b) her first love Michael Clayton, newly divorced, is also enrolled in the same class. Coincidence? <BR/><BR/>The rest of this sweet confection reads like a primer in dessert porn (but is thankfully calorie-free!) as Julie struggles to master elegant desserts. She also comes to grips with her bitter earlier falling-out with Michael, and she must step in when a family health crisis arrives. "Sweet Love" is a delightful read, the story of an overworked single mom looking for love and unexpectedly finding a connection to her own mother in the kitchen, the last place she ever planned on being.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    It's all about relationships

    Julie Mueller is a single working mom trying her best to juggle raising her teenage daughter and her career. She's also trying to be an adult woman with her mother, who sometimes treats her like a five year old girl. Her mom, Betty, means well though. She has the usual concerns most others have regarding their single daughters: please marry a nice man and allow him to take care of you and your daughter so I don't have to worry that you will be alone for the rest of your life! As Betty starts to face her own mortality, she realizes she has one regret regarding her daughter: she sabotaged her crush with Michael, who was good friends with Julie's older brother. Trying to correct this mistake, she surprises Julie with cooking classes for her Mother's Day present. Problem is, Betty loves to cook, while Julie, well... does not. Julie doesn't want to hurt her mother's feelings so she agrees to go to at least one class, while thinking of excuses to get out of the remaining classes. To Julie's surprise, her first true love, Michael is also in the class. Funny how old feelings can rapidly come back and fill you in the present. Both Michael and Julie will realize the intensity of their feelings. I absolutely loved this book! Julie's relationship with her mother was honest and real. What Julie considered to be nagging, Betty thought she was just being concerned for her well-being. The book not only focused on Julie's relationship with her mom, but relationships in general. I especially liked the relationship between Julie and her daughter. Highly recommended. 4.5 Stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1