BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sweet Madness (Veiled Seduction Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh my goodness~! I can¿t tell you how long I have been waiting f

    Oh my goodness~! I can’t tell you how long I have been waiting for this book to come out. It has been a long and very good wait in deed for such a great book. Although I did occupy my time with other fabulous readings in between the waiting but it has been worth it! I cannot say how much I love this book. I’m also sorry it took me so long to post up a review though. I took me some days to finish~ life got in the way you know. But here we go!

    Lady Penelope Bridgeman, widowed Lady Morton, has been caring for ex-soliders in the hospital founded by her cousin Liliana, now the Countess of Stratford and her husband, in curing and easing the ex-soliders’ mind back into society and help them fight their traumatic memories of the war to recovery. Now she has been called on to help her cousin by marriage, Gabriel Devereaux, Marquess of Bromwich, fight his madness and take back the reins of the Marquessate. But she cannot help but fight her own demons at the same time.

    Gabriel Devereaux, Marquess of Bromwich, is mad. Or so he and others think; that is until his late cousin’s wife appeared in is room at Vickering Place, a sanitarium for the higher ranks of society. He has been in love with her ever since their first dance at her wedding to his cousin. She has given him hope once, of one day finding himself a mate and moving forward with his life and away from memories of the Napoleonic war. But now who would have a madman let along one who’s broken and scarred. But as he begins to heal can he also find love too?

    I loved how Ms. Snow started the book with Lady Penelope’s wedding in the prologue. It was such a great moment to see and catch a glimpse of the two characters together before the start of the story and see what kind of character they possess. But also to see their personality and see how well they fit together! I love that the story pulled me into the story in the first pages and kept me on edge even onward till the end of the book. Although I did figure out the “mystery” within a couple of chapters it was still a surprise.

    I love the Hero and Heroine! They were made for each other long before they even knew it. Even though I was frustrated with Gabriel at times I understood why he felt certain ways and how hard it was for him deal with being mad in the head. How he only wanted to keep Penelope safe and away from him if his madness were to lash out. I also love that during his healing process he managed to help Pen too. No matter what happens I will still love him even if he were truly mad to the bones! Penelope I adored~ She has such a huge heart and for her to go out of her way to help ex-soldiers fight through their trauma just makes her even more of an angel, especially after the death of her husband. I loved her even more while helping Gabriel, she never faulted him or believed him to ever be mad in the head, she has always believed it to have been from battle fatigue, PTSD in our modern day. She was such a fighter that even when he had lost all hopes she fueled it back up and never gave up till, well, till she was dragged out or kicked out. But even so she will find other ways, even resorting to..well, you’ll see. :)

    Liliana and Stratford also made the story fabulous. It’s so great to see them again and know how they’re faring. They had a huge part in this story. I’ll have to go back and re-read their story~ I so love them!

    This was a super fabulous read and I so hope to see more of Ms. Snow’s next work.

    This ARC was provided by the author Heather Snow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    I found a delightful surprise hidden between the pages of this h

    I found a delightful surprise hidden between the pages of this historical romance by Heather Snow. She is a new author for me and from the first page I was drawn into the story and along the way had a myriad of emotions. I was impressed with the storyline. Mental illness isn't usually a "feel good" topic for a love story. However she creates a strong and smart heroine who is able to break through incredible barriers with her strength and compassion. A very touching story with a happily ever after. I will not give any spoilers away. I highly recommend this book. It's always a treasure to find a new author and be able to recommend them to others. Happy reading :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    Sweet Madness is the 3rd book in the Veiled Seduction series. La

    Sweet Madness is the 3rd book in the Veiled Seduction series. Lady Penelope, who was introduced to us in Sweet Enemy as Liliana's cousin, is now a young widow and, even more than two years after the death of her husband, still wears her black widow weeds. To help her cope with her grief, she has taken up counseling ex-solders of the Napoleonic wars. She finds that she has a gift for this work and is asked by her husband's aunt to help with her son Gabriel, a marquess, who has recently been committed to a sanitorium. Gabriel Devereaux, Lord Bromwich, met Penelope at her wedding to his cousin Michael three years ago. From that day, he has been entranced by Penelope, and became friends with her during the six months of her marriage. After the death of Michael, however, Pen hid herself away from him and the rest of society and he lost touch with her. 




    He is horrified to find Penelope at his bedside at the sanitorium, and especially to find out that Pen witnessed his latest "episode". Gabriel suffers from battle fatigue (our current day PTSD) and Pen is determined to help him enough to get him out of the asylum. But Gabriel also has strange manic episodes every few weeks where he truly acts like a madman for hours and then later has no memory of his actions. Pen has never seen anything like it but decides that Gabriel is worth fighting for. But the odds are stacked against Gabriel as his brother, and especially his brother's fickle, money-hungry wife, are trying to get Gabriel ruled as legally insane, meaning he would spend the rest of his days at the sanitorium and lose all rights to control his estates, his money, even his body.




    This book was a delight to read. Pen encourages Gabriel to talk through his experiences of the war, and teaches him that in order to help him break his harmful associations between normal, everyday activities, such as riding in a carriage or entering a ballroom, and the battlefield, he will have to open his soul to her. In the process, Gabriel realizes he is not the only one holding back on life, as Pen continues to mourn her husband, and truly, doesn't engage in her life as she used to. Is there a reason that Pen seems to be stuck on the memories of her marriage, more than just her love for her husband? 




    I highly recommend this book for historical romance readers and those who enjoy historical psychology and legal matters as well. While I have read the previous two books in the Veiled Seduction series, I don't believe it is necessary to read those before this one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    When will this book be available to Nook Readers? I can hardly

    When will this book be available to Nook Readers? I can hardly wait to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book

    4.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Heather Snow is one of those historical romance authors that you may have not heard much about but you should be taking a closer look NOW.” ~Under the Covers

    Heather Snow is one of those historical romance authors that you may have not heard much about but you should be taking a closer look NOW. Her stories are tightly written, very original, full of romance and some intrigue. Her characters are always complex, multi-dimensional and very smart. She writes some of the smartest and most awesome heroines ever!

    Now that I can stop gushing…let me tell you about the story. Gabriel thinks he’s going mad. He’s come back from war a bit touchy and his condition just seems to worsen to the point that his family locks him in an institution. And during all that time, the girl he’d crushed on and fantasized about is married to his cousin.

    Penelope was a sweet society girl who married the dashing artist, Michael. But Michael wasn’t right and she soon found herself in a marriage with a madman. After his death she took it upon herself to research the maladies of the mind, and has tried to help soldiers who have come back from the war with problems.

    Gabriel’s family asks her to intervene and see if there’s any hope for Gabriel to get better and she soon finds herself in that institution with a version of Gabriel she doesn’t recognize. And one that is not scared to tell her how much he’s always wanted her.

    Their romance was almost perfect. While Penelope finds a way to help Gabriel with his issues, they also slowly realize how good they fit together in almost every level. I liked Gabriel even when he had a fit. He’s a genuine hero, good at heart, a true gentleman, selfless sometimes. Even amongst his “madness”.

    Penelope, on the other hand, is strong willed and she’s lived through enough that she’s both tough but also knows what she likes and wants and can find that soft side in herself. I love seeing a strong heroine and sometimes they don’t have to kick ass to show that strength. That was Penelope.

    SWEET MADNESS was another unexpected and absolute favorite. It had a little bit of everything, a good romance, a sizzling couple, a story full of intrigue and twists and turns. I can’t wait to read more from this author!

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book 3 in Heather Snow's Veiled Seduction series. Penelope's hu

    Book 3 in Heather Snow's Veiled Seduction series.

    Penelope's husband killed himself months after their marriage due to his Bipolar Disorder. When she could finally bring herself to venture out of mourning, she studied the effects of battle fatigue in soldiers returning from the wars.

    Meanwhile, Gabriel suffers from episodes that have landed him in an asylum. Penelope becomes certain that he is not mad, but dealing with his own battle fatigue exacerbated by his stay in the asylum. She helps Gabriel for several weeks, and in turn he helps her overcome the trauma of her husband's death.

    When two broken souls come together, sometimes they find healing. If you are looking for a smart story that delves deep into the minds of the hero and heroine, this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Sweet Madness is Book 3 in the Veiled Seduction series. It is a

    Sweet Madness is Book 3 in the Veiled Seduction series. It is a wonderful and compelling story. After the death of her husband, Lady Penelope Bridgeman researches 'maladies of the mind' especially those that effect the soldiers returning from the war. She uses this knowledge to help Gabriel Deveraux, who has come back weary and troubled in both mind and spirit. Penelope works with Gabriel to help him regain his life and keep him from being declared insane. Along the way they are given a second chance at love. To find happiness they must learn to trust and to rely on each other. Their romance is filled with strong emotion and pain. Heather Snow has a wonderful writing style. She portrays her heroines as smart, capable and strong women and her heroes as loving, steadfast and honorable. I love that she included characters, Liliana and Stratford, from her previous book, Sweet Enemy. It's like seeing old friends. I received a copy of this book from the author but that didn't influence my review. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a story filled with passion, romance and intelligent characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Heather Snow did it again with Sweet Madness!!!  I just can't ge

    Heather Snow did it again with Sweet Madness!!! 
    I just can't get enough of her books!! Lady Penelope's story did not disappoint! What a strong, and brave young widow she proved to be, by helping soldiers through the mental strains of war!  Oh, and her relationship with Gabriel was amazing! She shows such courage and strength.
    This is such a great read! I love how all of Heather's books encompass strong, and intelligent women! So nice to read books where the heroines are not sitting around all day doing needlepoint.  Heather's writing style is superb!
    I can't wait for book four to come out!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Our heroine, Lady Penelope Bridgeman, is a young widow who has b

    Our heroine, Lady Penelope Bridgeman, is a young widow who has been helping x-military men with the mental effects of war. She is very intuitive and has a knack of reaching the suffering men. Her husband's cousin, Gabriel Devereaux, has been placed in a sanitarium by his family due to his inability to harness his mental problems. Penelope has been asked by Gabriel's mother to see if her method of treating returning military men would help her son, Gabriel. Gabriel has placed himself in the sanatarium in order to get relief and a cure for his "madness".
    Gabriel has been in love with Peneploe since he attended her wedding to his cousin several years before. He knows there is no future in it since she is married and he has become ill and lives in the sanitarium. However, unbeknownst to him his cousin passed away while Gabriel was in the sanitarium and Penelope in now a widow. When Penlope comes to help him, Gabriel tries to send her way.
    This was another great read by Heather Snow. The characters were well described and had great interaction. There was plenty of sexual tension and a fun mystery being worked on. Supporting characters were also good without being overpowering. I am looking forward to more from this author, I love her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I have been in a historical romance mood the last couple of days

    I have been in a historical romance mood the last couple of days and let me tell you Sweet Madness fit my bill for a great historical romance. This is the first opportunity I have had to read a book by Heather Snow and it most certainly will not be my last. She has a great writing flow that kept me completely interested in her historical romance. I know I can't wait to see what other wonderful stories Heather Snow has.




    I found the characters in this book so charming and entertaining. Lady Penelope Bridgeman is a sweet, kind, caring, and  intelligent lady that captured my interest right away. She has suffered so much loss and tried so hard to help her husband. When she was unable to help her husband she went through a deep mourning period. She is finally able to find her relief in helping others who have suffered battle fatigue. Penelope has such a unique way of helping these soldiers and it is very interesting to see how they treated the soldiers of the early 1800's.




    Poor Gabriel Devereaux has an extreme case of battle fatigue. He has periods of complete madness and he does not remember anything during these times. This gentleman is in dire need of help, a caring source of help. He finds that in Penelope. When she is ask by his family to see if she is able to help Gabriel she is quite glad to be of assistance. Gabriel is reluctant to accept her help however he does decide to give her a chance to help. He has always had a fondness for Penelope and doesn't want her to see him this way. However Penelope convinces Gabriel to let her have a chance, this is something that she needs.




    These two are exactly what each other needs. I really liked Gabriel and Penelope and thoroughly enjoyed reading their story. I was kept completely enthralled all the way through this story. There is a lot of drama and twist that Gabriel and Penelope have to over come in order to be together.




    I think if you enjoy historical romance you will enjoy Sweet Madness, I know I honestly enjoyed this story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I just finished reading "SWEET MADNESS" by Heather Sno

    I just finished reading "SWEET MADNESS" by Heather Snow! OMG! I have to give it 7/5 stars. It's a breathtaking! This book has moved me so that I am overwhelmed with emotions! When I started to read SWEET MADNESS, I wasn't to sure what to expect! To my surprise, this one is my favorite of her three novels! It's a high drama, with characters filled with rich and strong emotions!
    I loved her two main characters, Gabriel Devereaux and Penelope Bridgeman. Gabriel , once a proud soldier, returns back from war, shaken and a broken man. Penelope is a counselor and deals with soldiers suffering from PTSD. The story starts in June 1817, when Gabriel attends his cousin's marriage to Penelope, a young woman whom he was secretly in love it. Then in 1820, Penelope, who was not a naïve young lady anymore, since her husband had passed away and had decided to move on with her life. She started to study the maladies of the mind to help soldiers suffering from battle fatigue. She, soon learns that her dear friend Gabriel is interned as a patient in a sanatorium. Penelope, who was a gentle and understanding woman, will try to help Gabriel get rid of his mental problems and return him to a normal life. A trust will bond them together and soon sparks will flare! You have to read this beautiful novel! Heather Snow is an exceptional high quality writer. I simply could not put it down. It is so well written that the words flow...Heather Snow's heroines are smart women who had to fight against what society expected of them. It's a breathtaking suspense! You will feel high emotions and the chemistry between Gabriel an Penelope. I loved Ms. Snow's notes and I have to agree with her, that "art therapy" can make a person feel better. She has well researched and documented the symptoms of the battle fatigue. If you are a Fan of Heather Snow, you will live a great suspense and will not be disappointed by this book. She is a new writer to watch! A breath of fresh air, something different from the usual Regency stories. SWEET MADNESS will be released on April 2, 2013. I can't wait to read her next books! Ms. Snow you are truly an exceptional writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1