Customer Reviews for

The Sweet Potato Queens' Book of Love: A Fallen Southern Belle's Look at love, Life, Men, Marriage, and Being Prepared

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    So funny, it hurt!

    This book, and all of Jill Conner Browne's books are delicious. You can be going through the absolute worst time in your life, and still laugh out loud reading this! The humor is so genuine, you feel as though you have been watched, and someone is writing your life story! Hilarious, wonderful, and an absolute must read!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!!!

    This book was fabulously fun and funny all the way through! I'm buying it for all of my girl friends. I recommend listening to it on tape or CD- It's read by the author and to hear her read some of the passages in with her sweet southern accent makes it even better!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    Funny book-loved it

    OK, I rarely laugh out loud while reading a book, but this one served up laughs throughout. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    Every women should read this book

    You'll laugh so hard you'll cry, but you will never forget the lessons in love and life that you learn from this book! I have never read a book more than once, I've read this book 4 times so far!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    I laughed out loud all the way thru this book

    I not only laughed out loud but read parts of it to my girlfriend and then, we both laughed. It was a joy to read something so down to earth and funny and honest. I would LOVE to meet Jill and just sit and listen to her and the other Queens - they must make any day not as bad as you thought. I would love to have them as girl friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Tears

    I was sitting on a plane reading this book, laughing out loud with tears running down my face. I actually had people stop me as we deplaned to ask what I was reading so they could get a copy. What a hilarious way to pass a 3.5 hour flight. I've read this book four times and laugh every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Michaela

    Ur my friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Eric

    I hve a crush on cali....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Thanks guys

    Love cali

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Damn it, where’s my ice cream? When I started this book I

    Damn it, where’s my ice cream?

    When I started this book I was ready to have a good time. I was looking for a light, easy read with a high entertainment factor for the weekend, however, it never happened. After a slow start I tried to keep the faith, but by page 65 my faith dwindled down to nothing. This book was always on the verge of being funny, but never crossed the threshold. I thought with chapter titles like: Men Who May Need Killing, Quite Frankly or What to Eat When Tragedy Strikes, I was in for treat, but I never was satisfied. I wanted an ice cream sundae, but all I got was the bowl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    wanted to love it :(

    I think the book has some very funny stuff in it, but it also has several remarks that are sadly racist. Not the big over the top racist, but the insidious less obvious kind. example: when describing a difference in language pronunciation, they could have said "depending on your culture" instead they said "depending on your neighborhood" which indicates they couldn't or shouldn't be neighbors!! And that is only one example. Actually having close friends and family of every skin tone and many cultures - tends to make you aware of these examples. And once you are aware - you just can't help but notice and be saddened by it. It just plain killed the funny. oh well, bless their hearts . . .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    A must read!!!

    I laughed till my sides hurt! So incredibly funny. And the surprises not seen in other books are drop dead funny. Even my husband liked this book, and he doesn't read very often.(he's more of an ESPN type and we know how they can be!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    it was ok...

    It wasn't quite as funny or hilarious as I thought it would be. Don't get me wrong, there were some funny parts to it, but the way it was raved about to me by someone, I expected much more than what was there. It was an ok read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Who needs a therapist?!

    The Sweet Potato Queens really are the best and only life coaches you will ever need -- and I say this as someone who underwent years of expensive psychotherapy. Not only will the Queens save you a bundle, they'll have you rolling with laughter to boot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    The title says it all

    This is a book about a group of women who start a support group and are all about girl power and being a diva. It is a cute, fun and funny book the characters are fun and funny. It took me a little time to get into the book but once I did, I found it cute and fun to read. If you have a book group they will love it. If you have a girlfriend who needs a laugh, recommend this one to her. I love the picture of the girls on the front of the book, so funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Sweet Potato Queens' Book of Love

    I wasn't quite sure what to think of this book when I first saw it. Who are the Sweet Potato Queens? And why are they dressed so strangely? And if this book is so popular in the South, then as a non-Southerner, will I even get most of it? What I found was that The Sweet Potato Queens' Book of Love is a slyly clever, wittily wise, and wholly hilarious handbook for the modern woman's life. It's up to the reader how seriously she takes each bit of insight, but I was delighted to discover an echo to some of my own frustrations and revelations. And the recipes? I can't wait to try Chocolate Stuff and the Mambo Margaritas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    What a fun book!

    I have now read ALL of the Sweet Potato Queen books...and all I can say is that I think that Jill Connor Browne is a BRILLIANT, FUNNY and VERY ORIGINAL author! Her writing is fresh and her use of the language is marvelous. I can hardly wait for her to put out her next book! For anyone interested in writing, her work is a study in itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    It's Like Goin' Home

    I'm proud to shout I was born in Mississippi and lived the good life there until I was snatched out at the tender age of 12. HOWEVER, once in your soul, it's YOURS for life! Isn't that the greatest thought!! Wonderful book; brought me to my knees laughing and crying at the same time. For my money, Browne simply gives undisputed credence to what every girl from Mississippi already knows. You go, Girl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Laughing is good for the liver!

    And Jill Connor Browne is making quite a contribution to good health! She is a laugh riot and I thought my friends were funny - If you want to meet a southern belle extraordinaire - the Sweet Potato Queen is ready for you. You will love them as you, too, sit in the driveway 'just finishing this chapter'. I can't wait for the next installment and I wish my commute were longer!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    I KNOW These Gals!

    Don't ALL women know these ladies??? There's one of 'em, right now, in the mirror! Seriously funny stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4