BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sweet Revenge (Culinary Mystery Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    Entertaining mystery series

    interesting characters with supportive relationships. Goldie is a caterer and her murders are always involved with her catering jobs. There is usually a subplot involving her teenage son and her very entertaining friend Marla. She ia a full bodied,wealthy woman who always helps in the crime solution and adds humor to the story. Goldie's husband is a police detective is very supportive, and very sexy. this book involves a murder at the local public library where Goldie is catering a brunch.It then involves several wealthy families who also hire her. the story line revolves around valuable antique maps. greed and prestige lead to danger and murder.All Diane Mott Davidson's book include yummy recipes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Good cozy series

    Fun read for fans of cozy's. Had to overlook some absurd actions: Goldy calling the school, thinking the Secretary would give personal info about an alumni, and being perturbed when no one answered - on a Saturday - really ?! Also, the Police giving her a ride after she crashes her car, drop her off on the corner, making her walk home - in a blizzard. Content: no swearing, no gore, minor sexual references

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    Enjoyable light reading.

    I enjoy Diane Mott Davidson's series. Sweet Revenge did not disappoint. However, Barbara Rosenblat's reading of the book was terrible. She was so overly dramatic, that I had to turn it off and get the book from the library to finish it. Find a new reader, please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    This is an excellent series. I have purchased all of her books.

    Her book have wonderful recipes and the reading is light and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Tasty Treat

    After reading two lousy books, what a treat to dig back into a Diane Mott Davidson adventure. As usual, Goldy Schultz finds herself in the middle of a murder mystery, this time, the former DA winds up dead at the public library. And as usual, Goldy goes snooping around, risky life and limb, to solve the crime. This was a very enjoyable read, like waking up from a warm nap. My only complaint was a lot of extremely minor characters from past books show up so you struggle to try to remember who was Sandee and who was the old lady softball player and why are they important. Looking forward to number 15!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Fun Read

    I enjoy all of Diane Mott Davidson's books. I like mysteries and I like to figure out if I know who the "bad guy" is ahead of time. Sometimes it's obvious...sometimes there's a twist in there and it's someone else. I have yet to try any of the recipes although many look yummy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    The book was a really good really rainy day book that you could sit and read in one sitting...............enjoyable and definitely and escapel

    If you enjoy easy reading with a bit of thrill and laughter, this is a great book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Overall enjoyable, but somewhat disappointing compared to earlier books in this series.

    Pleasant, but found many of Goldy's actions to be rather absurd and unbelievable, even for actions of an amateur sleuth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    SWEET REVENGE

    SILLY AND DOWNRIGHT BORING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    A comfortable read of a favorite writer and a visit with an old friend.

    This book is like visiting with an old friend. I get to hear about the changes in her life and get some great recipes and have a really good visit while helping her solve a mystery. This time she was facing grief along with everything else. I love Goldy and her family and felt good after our most recent "visit"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Murder, catering, and Christmas

    Goldy Schulz is a caterer in Colorado. With the holidays approaching, she has 25 parties to cater in December. Hermie MacArthur and her husband Smithfield, a map collector, are throwing two of those important events in the Aspen Meadow Regal Ridge Country Club.<BR/><BR/>About a month before, Goldy thought she saw a ghost in that she thought she saw Sandee Brisbane, the killer of her ex-husband, driving around time.<BR/><BR/>While getting ready to set up for the library breakfast the next morning, she and a library employee find former DA Drew Wellington murdered in a corner of the library.<BR/><BR/>Can Goldy complete all her catering jobs while doing some investigating of her own? Especially when she appears to be in the crosshairs of the killer.<BR/><BR/>I love this series, but I have to be honest and say that this book and Dark Tort were not my favorites. It felt, to me, as if the author had a specific word or page count to meet. I prefer mysteries to be under 350 pages. Her latest books have been well over. <BR/><BR/>Plus it felt like the author tried to have everything happen over too short a time period. I found myself asking whether so many things could really happen to one person in one day.<BR/><BR/>All that said, I love Goldy, Tom, Arch, Julian, and Marla. They are such likeable characters. I love all the discussion of food as well. The Colorado location is fabulous, too. I recommend this book and look forward to reading many more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    Review of Sweet Revenge

    The female-sleuth here is Colorado caterer Goldy Schulz. The premise of this book is that Goldy is investigating the murder of Drew Wellington, the former district attorney. She was setting up for a breakfast she was to cater in the city library when she and the head librarian find the dead body of Mr. Wellington. Of course Goldy has to try to figure out what happened, even though her police detective-husband Tom reminds her to stay out of the case and let the police handle it. <BR/><BR/>And there is another mystery to be solved: Goldy also thinks she sees a woman who is supposed to be dead named Sandee Brisbane. Sandee murdered Goldy's ex-husband and then committed suicide. Now Goldy wonders if Sandee really did commit suicide? Did they ever find her body? Why was Sandee, or someone who looked just like her, in the library right before they find Mr. Wellington's body? <BR/><BR/>This book is well written and I would recommend it. The ending is a real page-turner and is quite clever. We discover, along with Goldy, just 'who done it'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Food and fiction a winning dish

    Diane Mott Davidson manages to combine my two favorite things a good cozy mystery and food. I enjoyed my time with Goldy and the gang as she tries to solve the mystery of a dead woman who seems oddly alive. Davidson captures well the teen angst phase in Goldy's son, Arch. The mystery was a bit slow going at times, but the culinary info kept me interested. 'I tried out the Chicken Divine and found it quite good.' I do think husband Tom would do well to believe his wife when she tells him she's onto something. The woman has solved her share of mysteries, for goodness sake and he was downright condescending at times. The Sandee Brisbane thread was a tad heavy for a cozy, but as someone who has been guilty of interjecting some depth into my own cozies, I admire her for adding some layers. All in all, another satisfying read from Davidson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    After thirteen light, entertaining mysteries, maybe Diane Mott Davidson has run out of steam. It's time for sleuthing caterer Goldie Schultz to grow up: She's created a new life with her son after surviving an abusive first husband and runs a thriving catering business. Why does she continually make rash decisions regarding her own safety? Despite losing the brutal first husband, Goldie still takes a beating from a variety of bad guys and perilous situations in every novel - she should be wiser now, or dead about nine times over. Further, Mott Davidson has neither introduced nor developed other compelling supporting characters. Everything in this book felt worn out. Sad, since I've enjoyed this series for years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Goldy's back on track

    I had stopped reading Diane Mott Davidson for the past couple of years because the last one I read was so bad. I picked up Sweet Revenge on a whim and was unexpectedly delighted! I felt the pace was good, the story was not predictable and it was a very fun, light read. Much better than some of the Christmas novels I've read by other authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    Not a goodie

    This book is not as good as all of her others. It drags and is hard to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A DELICIOUS DIVERSION !

    Colorado caterer Goldy Schulz had a lot to be grateful for as the holidays approached. She had 25 parties to cater in the month of December, and Hermie MacArthur, who, along with her husband, are wealthy additions to the Aspen Meadow's Regal Ridge Country Club area asked her to take charge of two very important events. This was even more jingle for Goldy's holiday stocking. Hermie's husband, Smithfield, collected antique maps, very expensive ones. That's fine with Goldy, she's quite used to rich eccentrics. All of this seems too good to be true - and it is because as Goldy says, 'A month before Christmas, I saw a ghost.' Granted the ghost is a very attractive one. Nonetheless, the apparition appears to Goldy to be Sandee Brisbane, not only a woman presumed dead but the woman who murdered Goldy's former husband, aka the Jerk. Goldy takes great pleasure in arranging the table for an event she is catering. So, she takes her time viewing the set-up for breakfast at the Aspen Meadows Library, but all that comes to a quick halt when the body of former DA, Drew Wellington is found in a corner of the Library. He definitely was not on her menu - nor was the expensive antique map found along with him. Always perceptive and one to heed her intuition she believes that the thought to be late not very great Sandee and Drew are mixed up in a pot of trouble, perhaps a poisonous concoction for her. With her 14th culinary caper, author Davidson's plot simmers as temptingly as Goldy's stews. Plus, readers receive more original recipes, including Unorthodox Shepherd's Pie, Prudent Potatoes au Gratin, Chuzzlewit Cheese Pie, Bleak Bouse Bars, and Got-a-Hot-Date Bars. Enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    Sweet Revenge by Diane M. Davidson is truly a taste tempting treat that's hard to beat and calorie FREE!!! Laugh). My failed attempt at humor (smile). All jokes aside, I have been a fan of Ms. Davidson for a very long time and have read and enjoyed ALL of her fun books. I recommend all of them. Her characters are fun and her plots are thrilling. If you have not had a chance to read any of her swwet tales of murder and mischief then this is the book to start with. I'm happy to recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The perfect mystery

    Goldy Schulz¿s catering business is booming as she has twenty¿ five events between December first and Christmas. On the way to the MacArthur¿s house to finalize theevent she is catering, Goldy sees someone she believed has been dead for six months the woman who killed her abusive ex-husband the Jerk. Sandee Brisbane had cause because he raped her when she was a teenager but everyone believed she perished in the blaze. When she tells her husband, a police officer he believers she saw someone who looked like Sandee because nobody could have gotten out of that fire even though her bones were never found.----------- At a library event she is catering she thinks she sees Sandee again but loses sight of her when the head librarian finds the body of ex-D.A. Drew Wellington who tried to cover up his DUI and his being in the car with a nubile minor.. One of Drew¿s business acquaintances is also found dead with his head bludgeoned. Goldie thinks the two murders are connected and she starts investigating and uncovers some very ugly secrets people hide in their closets.--------------- Diane Mott Davidson is one of the premier writers of culinary mysterious of this decade and after readers finish one of her books, they come away hungry for food and the next tale. Goldy needs to know the truth about the alleged rebirth of Sandee and the murders. Once the motive becomes clear, readers will feel no sympathy for the victims. SWEET REVENGE is a satisfying and tasty treat.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3