Customer Reviews for

Sweet Revenge

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 1/2 REVIEW:  Matt Dean has always protected

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 1/2
    REVIEW: 
    Matt Dean has always protected those he love. He stood up for his brothers when he was little. He fight to keep them safe from everything and everyone. But failing his youngest brother has been the hardest then he has ever had to go through. But he still has two brothers left that need him. The need him to complete his latest mission in order to save them all. But oh the wicked twists of fate are about to bring dear old Mattie to his knees. 

    Laney is a woman who knows that it is just a matter of time before he past catches up with her. A past that she doesn’t ever want to relive. But when a tall, dark and very dangerous man finds his way into her life, for just one moment she let’s her guard down. In that moment everything changes, and not all of the changes are for the better. 

    Loved this books. Loved Mattie & Laney. Loved that Emery.... well you will just have to read and find that out. This was a great second book in Rebecca’s Sins Brothers series. I am so looking forward to Nate’s book and uncovering all the dark secrets that this brother holds. 
    If you have not read book 1 Forgotten Sins, I would highly suggest that you do. While I think you could read Sweet Revenge and be okay. I really think that you need to know the Gray Brother’s history and to do that you need to read Forgotten Sins. 


    Disclaimer: 
    I received a complimentary copy of the book from NetGalley & Forever (Grand Central Publishing) in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I like the premise of this series. There are 4 brothers who have

    I like the premise of this series. There are 4 brothers who have been enhanced by "The Commander". All their senses are multiplied and they are the elite soldiers. They are looking for their freedom. Rebecca must have done lots of research for all her military tactics in her books. This is the first time I have read one of Rebecca's books. I will be looking for from her. As I got farther into the book I found that as much as I liked the book I had to walk away to regather myself. That's how I know it's a good story. I hope you try this series. You won't regret it. I didn't!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved Matt and Laney and their somewhat bumpy road down romanc

    I loved Matt and Laney and their somewhat bumpy road down romance lane. I definitely enjoyed their story more than Shane and Josie's. Even though Laney knew that her mysterious and handsome employee and temporary tenant could wreck havoc on her life and heart, she couldn't resist him. Not that she really tried which made their interaction very sexy and endearing. I sympathized with her and her desire to be wanted and loved. To connect with someone who liked her and wanted to protect her. Aside from being sweet and compassionate, she was also independent and (hallelujah!) not a drama queen. I thoroughly enjoyed the absence of self pity or a low self esteem. She accepted the consequences of getting involved with Matt without feelings of inadequacy or fearing rejection, and she didn't run from her evolving feelings. I do like when characters are mature enough to lay the cards on the table and see where the chips fall.

    Matt was so sexy, with his slightly dominant nature, his devotion to his brothers and sister-in-law, but also caring about people in general. In case you haven't read the first book, Matt and his brothers were genetically engineered and raised by the whack jobs who created them. Trained in all forms of combat since childhood, these (now) men have gone through hell until their escape a few years prior. They're not emotionally stunted or incapable of love. In fact they have an abundance of it, for each other. When they fall, they fall hard and fast. The women who manage to capture their hearts make them whole and give them even more of a reason to fight and to live. I kind of love the thread that runs through this story of finding love and committing to another person even though they may not have much longer to live. It's just one of those things, like, “Better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all.” (From Alfred Lord Tennyson's poem In Memoriam:27, 1850).

    The story had a great pacing and a nice balance of romance versus action. And there is no shortage of action. The love scenes were all sizzling hot (fans self). I also like the few flashbacks to the times the boys were in (captivity) training. If you're new to the series, I think the flashbacks will help you understand the heroes without having read the first book. The writing is really good and all the characters are fleshed out, even down to the villains. They were so depraved, I wanted to rip them out of the pages and stuff them in the garbage disposal. I'm not sure why Laney bothered to learn a little self defense from Matt since the three times she was attacked, she ended up not being able to defend herself. But that's just a very minor complaint or observation. This series continues to grow on me, and the teaser for Nate's story at the end already has me salivating for more.

    The bottom line: Pick up this action-packed book and fall in love with the heroes as they wage war with a ruthless enemy in an attempt to save their lives, find their presumably dead baby brother and keep their promises of a HEA with the women they love.

    Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. The views and opinions expressed in this review are my own, and in no way represent the views or opinions of the publisher/distributor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    O. M. G. I loved this book. I loved Forgotten Sin so much I didn

    O. M. G. I loved this book. I loved Forgotten Sin so much I didn't think this book could beat it but I was so wrong. I want Matt he was so hot and so alpha. I need more. *sigh*. Matt and Laney have great chemistry and are a perfect match. Rebecca Zanetti out did herself. If you have not read her yet you are truly missing out on some great books. I've read all of them and she is a must buy for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Great book

    I love this series of books. It is the second book in the series and you need to read the first one to understand this book. There is a lot of action in this book. Great love story that is tied into another sub plot. I can not wait for the next book to come out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Great series!

    Love Love Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was an avid fan of this series after reading book 1, and that

    I was an avid fan of this series after reading book 1, and that has firmly been cemented after reading Sweet Revenge. This author really knows how to write an action-packed romance with plenty of suspense and plenty of action, in and out of the bedroom. I just love these brothers and as their story keeps unfolding, I am becoming more and more invested in their survival and, hopefully their happy endings.

    Matt is the eldest brother, the 'protector' of the family, the one who always stood up for his brothers and took the brunt of the punishment dished out by the Commander, all to keep them alive and together. His loyalty to his family is unquestioned, only too willing to sacrifice himself so that those he loves can live. He is supremely alpha, the ultimate soldier, demanding and able to take charge and keep everyone focused, always upholding their family oath of 'never alone'. He also has a vulnerable, gentler side and this only confirmed my belief that an alpha man who shows his vulnerability and says what is in his heart, makes him one of the most attractive males in existence. But this man carries his own fair share of guilt about his younger brother Jory, and the quest for answers and ultimately revenge is what drives him day and night. If you can't tell already, I loved Matt for all of the above and then some. These brothers have captured a piece of my heart with their history and the way they love so hard and so completely.

    Now, as for Laney. She is living a seemingly quiet life in a little town called Charmed, hoping with each day that she is moving further and further away from her history and the secrets she is keeping. She is feisty, sassy, independent and strong. Her gentle and caring nature has endeared her to the other inhabitants of the town, and she feels she finally has some semblance of the family she missed out on as a child. Laney is a character that you can easily relate to, and when her back story comes out, she is only made more endearing to the reader. I loved her strength of character, the way she fought for those she loved, her willingness to show her own vulnerability when she connects with Matt, and her total bad-ass actions in the last part of the book. She really won me over.

    As eluded to in the synopsis, Laney is hiding from her own demons, ones that are connected to Matt in the most deadly of ways, but the attraction between them is too hard to ignore. Their sexual chemistry heated up my reader, their steamy love scenes amongst some of my favourites and I loved the way they communicated and connected with each other. They were flirty and playful, hot and sexy, sweet and funny, intense and passionate.

    Once again this author has delivered and ticked all the boxes that I look for in a romantic suspense book. The action scenes had me on the edge of my seat, with heart pounding twists and turns, full of mystery and intrigue. This book flowed effortlessly from Forgotten Sins and there was no need to go back and refresh my memory. The continuation of the overall story gave us more of the brothers past and more of what is to come. Shane, Nate and Josie made their appearances again which I loved and I cannot wait to read more about this family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Very Enjoyable

    This series is the first I've read by Rebecca Zanetti. I have really enjoyed them. I am normally a Regency Romance reader and not too into contemporary romance - I want to escape when I read..... I have already Pre-Ordered Nate's story and hope that she continues with the story line with other "brothers"
    Other similar series : Christine Feehan's Shadow Walkers - paranormal special ops and
    Maya Banks KGI series - special ops with just a touch of paranormal in a couple of the books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Great!!!!

    I cant wait intell the next book . I thought it was hot and exciting from the very beginning can wait to see how it trun out .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Great writer!! Love the series she does! Great action, story line and great romance!! Loving forward to the next book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Arriana

    Walks in

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Katlyn

    She wlked in

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Revenge cat

    Camp is at re3 have fun mwahahaha

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Silverfang

    Love it!!i hope im in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Diego

    Do part two!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Love it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Fox's Revenge- Prolouge

    Rosefur ran out from the warriors den carefully. She snuck out of camp through the dirtplace. The gaurd of the camp looked her way but she was aoready gone. She sprinted towards the river that bordered her clan and the twolegplace. She sat on the creculean colored waters. "Its okay. Im alone. You can come out now." Rosefur mewed softly. The sound of an animal larger than a cat approching her echoed through the darkness of the night. Cliffhanger!!! Comment and like and tell me to continue if u liked it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Firesteel to Fox

    "It's good. I anticipate part two."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Fantastic

    ## Awesome. That's how I would describe this book. The story is suspenseful, intriguing, and romantic all in one. Sure the hero had some issues and likes to boss the heroine around. But he always tries to protect her. And the heroine was perfect. Smart, beautiful and sassy. Just how I like them. This is obviously a series but it stood alone just fine. I will be seeking out Shane's story. Good read, appx. 330 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My rating: 4.5 of 5 ¿¿ With six weeks left before his and hi

    My rating: 4.5 of 5 ¿¿




    With six weeks left before his and his brothers' time ran out, genetically engineered military 'secret weapon' Matt Dean was hot on the trail of the one doctor who might be able to save his and his family's lives. The trail leads him right to Charmed, Idaho, where he ends up wounded in an alley behind a bar, where he is discovered by the bar owner. A small green-eyed beauty who, after 'rescuing' him, promptly faints at the sight of his blood.




    For five years Laney Jacobs has successfully hidden out in her bar in Charmed, escaping a past she fears and regrets. Though initially suspicious of the huge, handsome and clearly military man, she quickly warms up to him when he shows her he is absolutely no threat to her. With a busy couple of weeks ahead and some odd events taking place, Laney won't turn down the extra pair of hands Matt is offering. Not to mention the added protection.




    Work at Laney's bar provides Matt with the perfect cover to investigate his lead a little closer, while at the same time making sure Laney was safe. The bar owner was awakening all kinds of protective feelings in him usually only reserved for his brothers. Gauging from Laney's responses to him, she was not unaffected either. Giving in to their attraction was unavoidable and explosive, and Laney was glad for the strong arms keeping her safe. Threats were coming in steady.




    With Matt's leads running dry, but danger not far off, tension is at a boiling point. And with the arrival of some unwanted support, comes the revealing of a secret that could break the case wide open, and Matt and Laney far apart.....




    *****




    So friggin good!!!!! This book felt so long - just delicious!! The tension, the build up, the twists and surprises!! And the scrumptious heat....boy.....




    I already fell in love with this series in the first book FORGOTTEN SINS and vowed I would read every last one of the installments. The books are technically individual HEA's, but together form a larger story that doesn't end with each book, although each of the books does have a sub story of its own. To get the full effect however, I strongly suggest you read the books in sequence, simply because it will give you a better context and greater enjoyment. 




    Matt is, of all the brothers, the one who takes responsibility for all of the men. He assigned himself caregiver when they were young and he has never been able to let that go. Never having experienced anything other than brotherly love and the overwhelming sense of responsibility, the feelings that Laney awakes in him take him completely unaware, despite the fact he has seen his brother go through the same. He tries to fight it, not wanting to put Laney at risk by caring for her, but it is of no use. 




    Laney has been alone in the world for so long, taking care of herself, she is unfamiliar with the feeling of being protected and safe. Matt makes her feel that way instantly, and she hardly feels inclined to resist it. Living with the realization that her cover might be up at any time, she decides to grab what she can and 'live in the moment', and Matt represents 'the moment' since he is supposed to be passing through. Despite knowing it is temporary, her heart can't be held back.




    There is such intensity in Rebecca Zanetti's writing, both in the suspense as in the development of the relationship. Sex with these Dean boys can be tender, but is mostly primal and raw......hot stuff!! 
    The concept of the plot of this series is chilling, but in this day and age, not entirely out of the realm of possibilities, which makes it all the more frightening. So aside from delivering a scorching hot romance, Rebecca also manages to produce a high quality suspense novel that can stand up by its own merit.




    ¿Tight, provocative and sinister battle against deadlines.¿




    **ARC provided by NetGalley and Forever in return for an honest review.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3