Customer Reviews for

Sweet Revenge: A Nemesis Unlimited Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks! Sweet Revenge by Zoe Arche

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks!




    Sweet Revenge by Zoe Archer is the first book in a brand spanking new series call Nemesis Unlimited.  This book is classified as a historical romance, but most certainly, it can be debated to be an action/adventure, mystery/suspense with a dash or erotica (got to say, the juicy bits were juicy ;)).  This book had EVERYTHING one could possibly want in a novel.  I loved this book so much, that I am currently rubbing gritty eyes writing this review because I inhaled and gobbled it done in one night (leaving me to function on 1 1/2 hours sleep).  NOW THAT IS A GREAT BOOK! :)




    We are taken back into England 1886 when the book opens with our hero "Diamond" Jack Dalton (seriously mansome, gigantic in size, intimidating, animal like brute, out for blood .. *shudders*) creatively finding a way to escape the prison he has been a confined to for the past 5 years.  You see, Jack is doing time for an impulsive, anger driven attempted murder of a fancy, real SOB Lord (oh just wait till I cut into this jerk face) and his former boss.  Just relayed to him by a guard, jerk face just so happens to be at a local inn which means he is accessible to Jack.  Out busts Jack ready to finish the murder he never quite had the chance to complete but has dreamed of for the past 5 years.  Crawling up the window isn't he surprised to find himself at gun point by three strangers, more specifically, the most enticing female he has ever laid eyes on (our beloved heroine Eva Warrick), at the other end of that pistol.  Within minutes, and quite against his will I may add, Jack has escaped one prison only to be scooped up into another form of prison.  These three strangers have set Jack up to break out of prison and recruit him to be a key player in their latest mission at Nemesis Unlimited.  Pretty much it's "play with us or we turn your sorry rear end in to the coppers!"  Poor Guy!




    Nemesis Unlimited consists of a group of people who feel that sometimes vengeance needs a little help with ensuring that the bad guys really do get their day in hell.  Our specific bad guy is Lord Rockley.  Lord Rockley is a real scumbag who enjoys using his privileged standing in society and wealth to get all he wants without a care for anyone else.  He is a sadist that likes to prey on young innocent girls or prostitutes alike and it just so happens that he preyed on Jack's sister Edith and caused her tortuous death.  He is also a treacherous wretch who is scamming the government by producing sub par ammo for the soldiers while pocketing half the coin that should of been used for proper materials.  Wherever he goes, he causes death and mayhem.  My goodness he was so easy to hate!




    So .... the Nemesis Unlimited crew lay out all the cards on the table and tell Jack that he holds vital information about the Lord, as he use to be his personal bodyguard and knows his inner circle and schedule.  Jack doesn't care and doesn't want to hear it ... he wants blood NOW.  Through gentle encouragement and bold directness presented by Eva, and a deep serious intense attraction they have each other, Jack agrees to dig deep and help this team out.




    Off we go on a full on adventure through the sewer streets of England, the snobbery of the ton, and the middle class common folk and experience the twists and turns that are developed and delivered through this story.




    Eva!  Now Eva is a kick ass heroine.  Like all members of the crew, Eva has to live a double life in order to keep their team funded.  She is quick witted, tough, beautiful, not the least bit scandalized at anything (even sexy naked guys in carriages ...WINK), cool as a cucumber and one fine operative.  She can tutor a child with the greatest patience and ease one minute with her immense intelligence, and then turn around and drop kick a man to his knees the next.  Jack can't resist her, nor can she resist him.  The sexual tension between these two is incredible and believe me, Zoe Archer DELIVERS when that tension finally snaps.  




    So hard not to give away anything so I will leave it at that!  This was a fast paced, intense, action packed and gushworthy read.  It has a real gritty feel to it with the use of time appropriate language and also because Zoe Archer is very good at writing out the small descriptive details that make the scenes so vivid in my mind I could see them so clearly.  I shuddered at times when she would lay out the way the poor had to live, or cringe at the right moment when a punch would meet it's mark.  I love an author who can do that so perfectly.




    I'll leave this review with a quote that really sums up the relationship between Jack and Eva.




    "Goddamn, I love you.  From the first time I saw you, pointing a gun at me, I knew you'd be either my death or my salvation."




    Which is it??  Death or Salvation?  LOL




    HAPPY READING! :)




    copy supplied by publisher via NetGallery for an honest review.  Thank You for allowing me to review! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Zoe Archer never fails to impress me with her wonderful narrativ

    Zoe Archer never fails to impress me with her wonderful narratives. 

    I loved her Blades of the Rose series, and yet Nemesis is even better. I'll never get tired of Archer's voice, and this book really delivers. I am so excited to read the stories of the other Nemesis members.

    Also, Archer's heroines KICK AS$. It's only one of many reasons she's on my auto-buy author list. And believe me, Eva doesn't faint or fan her face. This is a true heroine. And Jack...hot damn. The chemistry is fantastic.

    I can rave about this book all day. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Angel to aiden

    Wrong book

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Deathheart

    Pads in, furious with her diamond shard in between my teeth. Sets it down carefully and trains against a dead yet strong tree. Thinks of my clan burning down, the fox, twilightclan, toxin, breaking my jaw, thistleclaw leaving. Hits the tree super hard and knocks it totally over, my silver heart in my chest glowing. All of a sudden, thinks about wolves and they appear. <p> Colbalt appears. <p> Emeralddeath appears right beside him. <p> "Mo..mother? Father?" <p> "Fang, we are worried about you." Colbalt starts. "This clan, endangers you. There is a rising evil. And you know you are going to die soon. <p> "Father I am never leaving Bloodclan! And my death will not happen for a while!" I snarl. <p> Emeraldheart stares at her daughter. "We just need to talk. You really need to be careful with that prophecy. You have to die. It is your destiny." <p> Deathheart stares at the ground. <p> "Deathheart we are doing this for you... I know about Jaggedstar. I like him. But you can't die with him. You MUST die before.." <p> Emeralddeath and Cilbalt disappears. Deathheart pads back to camp.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    I LOVED this book. A grittier, late Victorian romance, the autho

    I LOVED this book. A grittier, late Victorian romance, the author shined at drawing out sensual tension between Jack and Eva.
    She also handled well the big bruiser hero with heart and some brains after all. I have the feeling that Zoe Archer peels back the layers of men very well. Be forewarned, there's lots of profanity and some violence. But, that's what happens when you combine a rough from-the-streets hero who wants to avenge his sister's death. I highly recommend the book and look forward to more of Zoe Archer's &quot;Nemesis, Unlimited&quot; series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Excellent Historical Romantic Suspense

    Good historical detail, terrific characterization, and emotional depth make for a rousing read. I will definitely be reading the next book in the series. Highly recommended. -- lyradora

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    NetGalley - Nemesis Unlimited #1 "Sweet Revenge" by Zoe Archer

    Author: Zoe Archer
    From St. Martin's Paperbacks
    Published: June 4th., 2013

    ARC ACQUIRED THROUGH NETGALLEY

    After the years of imprisonment Jack Dalton is nothing but an automated man without any humanity and all he thinks about is getting revenge from the evil that took his sister's life.
    When he get's news that his most hated enemy is in town he arranges a way to escape and finally get his revenge.
    But things aren't always what they seem and when he finds out that there is hope beyond revenge, will he take a leap of faith and save himself or will he only see deception or revenge ?

    Zoe Archer is what I think a perfect creator of characters, tortured heroes and ¿scenarios that come out of ancient times that have marked history, in this case England in her most dark beauty and shadows.
    Who doesn't love a good robin hood story combined with the methods of the greatest detective that lived: Sherlock Holmes ...

    This book started out being a refreshing surprise to me, a story theme that I've never had read before, with surprising scenarios and twists that leave you panting for more, a beautiful city, dark in all it's glory, with no main border between the poor and the rich, your fate decided at birth.

    Between Jack and Eva confidence, or the lack of it, is probably the main and first link between them. The lack of confidence that Jack feels and the belief that Eva has in Jack turn their feelings into something more than just a mere professional relationship.
    The growing of confidence that Jack feels influence a physical attraction to turning into a deep long lasting relationship.
    They are two characters that accompany us through out the book and are both the trigger for the plot that we follow closely.

    I can't leave out Simon, a character with an amount of mystery that grows through out the story and keeps us waiting for the second book.
    I personally can't wait for it and hope that light will be shed on the reasons of why and how he came into Nemesis.

    If you're looking for adventure, a bit of passionate romance and retribution for the villain, this is the book for you.
    It's an historical romance out of the ordinary, away from the glamour of the rich and influential, away from the flashing balls and beautiful dresses, and into the dark of the streets, the poor, the homeless, and like saviors, human compassion is here at it's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Sweet Revenge b

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Sweet Revenge by Zoe Archer
    Book One of the Nemesis Unlimited series
    Publisher: St. Martin's Press
    Publication Date: June 4, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from NetGalley

    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    When Jack Dalton escapes from Dunmoor Prison, he has only one thing in mind—finding the nobleman who murdered his sister and making him pay. But when he reaches the inn where the Lord Rockley is rumored to be staying, three well-dressed strangers are there to meet him instead. And the pretty blonde is aiming a pistol right at his head …

    Joining Nemesis, Unlimited has made Eva Warrick much more than the well-mannered lady she appears to be—one who can shoot, fight, and outsmart any man in the quest to right the injustices so often suffered by the innocent. She’s not afraid of the burly escaped convict, but she is startled by their shared attraction. She and her partners need Jack’s help to get to Rockley, but Eva finds she wants Jack for scandalous reasons all her own…


    What I Liked:

    When I finished reading this book, I could not help but thinking, wow, this book was not too bad! I am not sure what I was expecting before I read the book, but I did not think that I would like this book as much as I did!

    This book is not typical of what I usually read when choosing historical romance novels. Usually, I end up with the fluffy and stuffy English society ones, with lords and dukes and earls and ladies and so on. Rather than being centered around the richer class of historical English society, this book is focused on the opposite end. Neither Jack nor Eva nor the majority of Nemesis Unlimited are high-ranked nobility (one person is). I can safely say that I liked the exploration of the lower-ranked members of society!

    This imbalance of power in society has a great deal to do with the plot. Jack is furious and out for revenge, because of what a certain Lord Rockley did to his sister. I definitely liked the plot of this novel, because it was so lively and action-packed. I was very impressed at how the author keeps the reader's interest on the central plot of the novel, and THEN the romance.

    The romance is a significant, but not overwhelming, part of the novel. Jack and Eva are sweet and fiery at the same time. I enjoyed watching the sparks fly between them, and I loved how each character encouraged the other to embrace at part of them that makes them a better individual. And no love triangle! Yay!

    The ending is PERFECT - well, I think it is. I love the ending. It fits Eva very well, and it fits Jack very well, and it fits Nemesis Unlimited very well. Wink wink.


    What I Did Not Like:

    I had the problem of wanting more from this book. Don't get me wrong - I love the plot of this book. But I feel like there could have been more to it, that would make it even more dimensional, even more complex, even more intricate. I really did like what the author constructed, but I felt like their could have been more to the journey. The plot was pretty straightforward, and that is not a bad thing! But there could have been more. You know what I mean?

    I kind of wanted more background on most of the characters. Jack is the most fleshed out, which is fantastic, but many of the other characters, especially the secondary characters, are not as explored. This is a small thing, but I still would have liked to see more about most of the characters!


    Would I Recommend It:


    This one is pretty good, so I think if you want a different sort of historical romance novel, then this one is a good one to look up! I enjoyed it while reading it, but it probably is not the best historical romance novel for everyone.


    Rating:

    3.5 stars -&gt; rounded up to 4 stars. This book was different from the historical romance books I am used to reading, and not too bad!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Nemesis is a group of individuals fighting for the people that h

    Nemesis is a group of individuals fighting for the people that have nowhere else to turn. Eva Warrick, a tutor by day, is a secret member of Nemesis and is about to embark on a life changing mission. To bring down twisted Lord Rockley, Nemesis has decided to enlist (take hostage) the prisoner Jack Dalton. Dalton is a man bent on revenging his sister's untimely death at the hands of Rockley.

    Jack Dalton is encourage to escape from Dunmoor Prison thinking he is on his way to kill Rockley. What he never expected was to find Eva Warrick waiting for him instead and holding a gun to his head. Jack reluctantly partners with the Nemesis group and Eva to further his own cause, ending Rockley. The fiery attraction between Jack and Eva is definitely an unwanted and unexpected side effect of their partnership but it can’t be denied, especially when the two face insurmountable danger at every turn.

    A fast paced, action packed adventure placed in historical England, Sweet Revenge was an excellent story. Although it is in England of old, the story read like a contemporary black ops romance. By Zoe Archer's vivid writing style, we are immersed into the dark and gritty under belly of London’s crime ridden streets. Zoe Archer created colorful characters and a riveting plot, a wonderful start to what is sure to be a fabulous series.

    I received this ARC of Sweet Revenge from St. Martin's Press in exchange for honest review. This book is set for publication June 4, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1