BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sweet Stuff (Cupcake Club Romance Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by the publisher for review Review

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Let me start out by saying that I love Donna Kauffman. Her writing style and story telling skills just draw me in to the tale and just won’t let me go. And having read the first book in this series, Sugar Rush, and loving the community she was creating, I couldn’t wait to get started on Sweet Stuff.

    This story starts shortly after the Sugar Rush ends and features Riley who made a small appearance in that prior book. And from page one, I was in stitches laughing at Riley’s klutziness, perhaps because I could totally relate. But it also made her more believable. Yes, she’s an attractive women. But she’s also clumsy, not stick thin and a little awkward when it comes to dealing with a man she’s attracted to. And she’s also dealing with having been betrayed from her fiancee. As the story progressed, I found myself rooting her on and anxiously awaiting her “ah ha” moment so we could have our happily ever after.

    Enter into the picture Riley. He’s a famous author who has come to this small island community in South Carolina to clear his mind and work on his new novel. Little does he realize that his world is going to be shaken up when he meets Riley. Quinn is your typical romance hero… you know the type. They’re rich or famous (or both), quite handsome and sometimes just too good to be true. But that didn’t stop me from perhaps just falling a little in love with Quinn myself as I read his love story with Riley. His understanding of Riley and her insecurities, but his persistence with her when she’s keeping him at a distance just had me turning the pages.

    The plot of this book is really just the romance. There’s no grand mystery or bad guy in the wings. There are some minor subplots that enhance the story, but Sweet Stuff is all about the character development as they work toward their happily ever after. And I was honored to go along for the ride.

    As this book is part of the Cupcake Club series, we’re also treated with a couple recipes for the reader to enjoy. How does Reverse Caramel Apple Cupcakes or Sweet Peach Tea Cupcakes sound?

    I honestly can’t wait for the next book in this series, Babycakes, which will be released in October. The book does stand alone, but has characters from Sugar Rush do make appearances in Sweet Stuff, reading the series in order does make the experience a little more enhanced.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Loved it

    Highly recomended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Dgdbxj cgtdjlpaddhbf

    Vdvdcczvchfvfxxygd

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Kristie

    Here?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Just love this story. Love Brutus. Great reading and humorous

    Just love this story. Love Brutus. Great reading and humorous writing. Would recommend for anyone that needs to travel someplace for fun without all the hazzle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Good

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    An Ok Read Riley Brown and her behemoth dog Brutus move to Suga

    An Ok Read

    Riley Brown and her behemoth dog Brutus move to Sugarberry, GA from Chicago when Riley’s seven year relationship goes to hell in a handbasket. She finds some peace in Sugarberry and for the first time in her life she finds good friends to share life’s ups and downs with. Then Quinn Brannigan, famous and hunky author, enters her life and Riley has to decide if she has the guts to grab life by the balls and take a chance on a relationship with him. You know what they say…No guts, no glory.

    This was an ok read, well-written and smooth-flowing with interesting in-depth characters. For the most part, I enjoyed reading about the colorful characters from the first book, Sugar Rush. However…yeah, that’s like a big but (not butt) hanging out there except I like to use ‘however’…for me, there was way too much dialogue and angsting going on and not enough action. Just not my thing, but I’m sure is perfect for others because we can’t all like the same stuff. That would suck and not in a good way.

    *The publisher provided a copy of this book to me for review. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Well written, highly entertaining

    Donna Kauffman has created characters we can all relate to. Their flaws and misgivings, strengths and insights give them depth and make them people that we want to see more of. The story flows well and kept me entertained throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    I want to move to Sugarberry Island!-Love the Cupcake Club!

    Donna Kauffman does it again with a great cast of characters and enough romance and laughs to make you never want to put this book down as well as pack your bags and move to Sugarberry Island. I LOVED Riley's back story and how she made a place for herself with the characters from the previous Cupcake Club book and Quinn is just mysterious and sweet enough to melt your heart. These two heros learn that it's ok to take a risk and a chance and that sometimes doing so leads to one of the best things there is...LOVE. A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    enjoyable

    loved the book, read the 1st cupcake series book first. It was easy reading and enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    I know this will be a pleasure to read!

    I would love to review this book as I have read others of the author and find her an excellent writer. However, I have only just begun to read this item. Put me on "hold" for a while and I would be happy to review this book at a later date. Thank you for contacting me.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Loved this book! Love the series!

    Another great book from Donna Kauffman. Great story. Great characters. Loved the dog!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    This great book really satisfied my sweet tooth!

    One cupcake disaster later and the lives of two people are about to take a turn for the sweetly unexpected. Riley Brown’s life in Chicago has been destroyed and she has to get away from the town and the people in it. So she runs or rather floats away to the tiny island town of Sugarberry, a quiet little haven off the coast of Georgia. She needed the time to reflect and get her life back in order. What she found is a second chance at happiness, filled with true friends and a promising new career. Too bad she just had one of her most humiliating moments in her life and it was witnessed by the handsome and successful author, Quinn Brannigan. Quinn has returned to his second home. It’s been years, but he can feel the calm and serenity of Sugarberry. He is a man at a turning point in his career and he needs peace and quiet to make a very important decision. With his new novel to complete he doesn’t have time for the luscious Riley. The problem is she stirs something within him that he has only written about in his novels. Separately they battle their demons of their pasts and presents until they can no longer deny what they have together. With the help of their friends, they discover that they have the potential for a wonderful new life and learn that their troubles may have started with the cupcake disaster, but it sure made the icing on the cake all the sweeter. Sweet Stuff is the tale of their blossoming relationship. This is an amazing rendering of love and trust. Ms. Kauffman does a fabulous job telling the ins and outs of a relationship; the feelings, desire, uncertainties and the heart and the mind behind it. I was blown away just by the depth of feeling and thoughts that I encountered while reading Sweet Stuff. The relationship build-up, is intensive and thorough, but still felt light and pleasurable. This is a fun read and the support characters are just that, characters. They helped make this story enchanting and delightful. My only disappointment is that I have to wait so long for the next installment, when books #1 and #2 came out rather close together. So if you want to treat yourself to a decadent treat, pick up Sweet Stuff. This story is deep without being heavy, with just the right amount of humor. At times you will wish you could be transported to Sugarberry. A town filled with the unexpected.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2