BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sweet Talk

Average Rating 4.5
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of

There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of them. A great summer read.

posted by simple344 on August 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

So I think this is my last Julie Garwood for a while. At least,

So I think this is my last Julie Garwood for a while. At least, until she writes another historical. Since she branched into the contemporary market, I've found myself increasingly dissatisfied, to the point that I've struggled to finish books. If I hadn't been reviewin...
So I think this is my last Julie Garwood for a while. At least, until she writes another historical. Since she branched into the contemporary market, I've found myself increasingly dissatisfied, to the point that I've struggled to finish books. If I hadn't been reviewing this book as an ARC, I would have stopped reading this book after about eleven pages. The same problems keep cropping up, and there are just better books I could be spending my time on. I'll always remember her earlier books fondly, but I know Garwood can do better.

The prologue stops me dead. It's almost 15 pages of little girls running around, creating havoc. It's boring, and does nothing to to move the story along. It's nothing that couldn't have been introduced into the main text of the story. I hate prologues that are useless. It took me a day to get past the prologue.

And then you meet Olivia MacKenzie, all grown up. And perfect. And Grayson Kincaid. Who's also perfect. This is the problem I have with the leads in Julie Garwood's books. They're perfect physical specimens. So impossible sexy and gorgeous, other characters are bowled over by their looks. It's annoying and I'm tired of reading about it. The attraction between the two is also superficial. Garwood spends a lot of time telling us that these two are crazy about each other, but all I can see is lust and sex.

The actual bare bones plot is mildly interesting, but the supporting characters are one dimensional and do nothing to prop up the leads, or even give the leads complexity. The villains have no depth. The family of the MCs are just there for wallpaper. The other FBI agent, Ronan, is mildly interesting, but disappears for pages at a time, and then does nothing interesting when he is around. The three other Pips, Olivia's childhood friends, slow down the action when they are around. Jane, the only one in the book for long periods of time, is only there to remind us that Olivia is super smart and there to save the day.

I just...I didn't like it. And it makes me sad because I look at my Julie Garwood historicals like Saving Grace, The Wedding, and Ransom, and I think...will she ever write like that again?

posted by MellySue on August 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Delightful

    Another great book from Julie Garwood. I love the characters and storyline. A book you won't want to miss.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Free friday

    It would be nice to have a good book like this on free Friday.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    ¿¿I look at the list and I ask myself, who doesn¿t want to kill her?¿ Ronan to his partner Grayson

    Thanks to the publisher, Penguin Group (USA), and NetGalley for the chance to read Sweet Talk early! Sweet Talk introduces you to the “Pips” – short for pipsqueaks; 4 young girls brought together by disease and the doctor, Dr. Andre Pardieu, determined to cure them. Jane Weston, the artistic one, from New York; Samantha Pearson, the adventurous one, from Alaska; Collins Davenport, the sensitive one, from Louisiana; and Olivia MacKenzie, the youngest and leader, from California. Hopefully, there are future installments for Jane, Sam, and Collins. But Sweet Talk is the story of Olivia. Wow…Olivia has got problems; twelve years have passed since she went into remission – so it not the disease trying to kill her…the question is who – a member of her very dysfunctional family, the arrogant-ass she punched during her interview (Eric Jorguson), Eric’s bodyguard (Martin), one the FBI agents of the sting operation she ruined, or one of the people she investigated for her job at the IRS. “…I look at the list and I ask myself, who doesn’t want to kill her?” Ronan to his partner Grayson Grayson Kincaid was a wonderfully well rounded hero. I loved him right away. Grayson is not an over the top alpha hunky male and instead he is a confident realistic man who works for the FBI. Even with all that is going on in his personal life he is 100% committed to ensuring Olivia’s safety. For the majority of the story, the reader is treated to a bit of a mystery trying to figure out who is out to kill Olivia and then a suspenseful buildup of the other subplots draws to climax. Olivia and Grayson’s feelings escalate quickly and they become a well-developed couple. The banter between these is awesome ~ one of my favorite quotes ~ “Grayson,” she groaned. “Gloat Later.” Mercy, by Julie Garwood, was the first adult contemporary romance I read; it was a Christmas gift. I was instantly hooked on the series and lucky for me she had already published other installments. My friends and I started a tradition the year I received Mercy (2006); each Christmas instead of Christmas cards we exchange books. Julie Garwood given me great romance book over the last 5 years she has given me a tradition that I am now passing on to others. If you are interested in knowing more about our tradition you can get more information on my blog.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Awesome

    I wait all year for her new release...it was well worth the wait. I love all of her books and "Sweet Talk" slides right into my list of favorites. Her characters are interesting, entertaining and keep you drawn into to their lives ready to fight or rejoice right along with them.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Another great read!!!!!!!

    It does not matter which area of books she writes --be it historical or current FBI series no one does a better job of writing each story. I happen to love reading her FBI series and look forward to each and every new book in the series. I happen tl like the fact that she draws the names of her historical characters into her current FBI series. This book in my opinion is one of her best and I will be re-reading it again at a later date. Once I start one of her books, this one included I cannot put it down until its finished . A GREAT READ!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Keeps the FBI story line going.

    Keeps the FBI story line going.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Hope

    Ya

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    I quite liked it.

    I quite liked it.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    :)

    Great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Sissy good book enjoyed it 1/5/13

    Great read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    funny and romantic

    Love julie garwoods books. This is another hiit!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Great book!

    Read the past reviews and don't understand the low rating. I had a hard time putting this book down, it great a definite page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Great

    Liked the story a lot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2012

    Good Read

    Excellent Book, must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kept me on the edge of my seat!

    I have always heard that Julie Garwood is a brilliant author but then I hear that about a lot of authors and as they say if you do not try it for yourself you will never know !

    So I went ahead and tried and WOW was I amazed at how good this woman is at writing I mean she had me completely mesmerized and trapped in a world of absolute passion,action,drama and just pure brilliant writing !

    I loved the characters,the setting,the scenes were so vivid it had me on the edge of my seat and I could not stop myself from going every now and then " Oh my word Julie that was a brilliant move".

    I liked how the characters relationship went a little on and off again every now and then,how they tried really hard to fight the attractions for each other.

    The plot was well placed and twined together and the characters really complimented the story line. I do hope that Julie will surprise us with more !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    I have alway enjoyed reading a Julie Garwood book, I am never disppointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    A fast read

    I liked this book very much. It moved right along and kept my interest. The characters are interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13