Customer Reviews for

Sweet Talk

Average Rating 4
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of

There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of them. A great summer read.

posted by simple344 on August 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

So I think this is my last Julie Garwood for a while. At least,

So I think this is my last Julie Garwood for a while. At least, until she writes another historical. Since she branched into the contemporary market, I've found myself increasingly dissatisfied, to the point that I've struggled to finish books. If I hadn't been reviewin...
So I think this is my last Julie Garwood for a while. At least, until she writes another historical. Since she branched into the contemporary market, I've found myself increasingly dissatisfied, to the point that I've struggled to finish books. If I hadn't been reviewing this book as an ARC, I would have stopped reading this book after about eleven pages. The same problems keep cropping up, and there are just better books I could be spending my time on. I'll always remember her earlier books fondly, but I know Garwood can do better.

The prologue stops me dead. It's almost 15 pages of little girls running around, creating havoc. It's boring, and does nothing to to move the story along. It's nothing that couldn't have been introduced into the main text of the story. I hate prologues that are useless. It took me a day to get past the prologue.

And then you meet Olivia MacKenzie, all grown up. And perfect. And Grayson Kincaid. Who's also perfect. This is the problem I have with the leads in Julie Garwood's books. They're perfect physical specimens. So impossible sexy and gorgeous, other characters are bowled over by their looks. It's annoying and I'm tired of reading about it. The attraction between the two is also superficial. Garwood spends a lot of time telling us that these two are crazy about each other, but all I can see is lust and sex.

The actual bare bones plot is mildly interesting, but the supporting characters are one dimensional and do nothing to prop up the leads, or even give the leads complexity. The villains have no depth. The family of the MCs are just there for wallpaper. The other FBI agent, Ronan, is mildly interesting, but disappears for pages at a time, and then does nothing interesting when he is around. The three other Pips, Olivia's childhood friends, slow down the action when they are around. Jane, the only one in the book for long periods of time, is only there to remind us that Olivia is super smart and there to save the day.

I just...I didn't like it. And it makes me sad because I look at my Julie Garwood historicals like Saving Grace, The Wedding, and Ransom, and I think...will she ever write like that again?

posted by MellySue on August 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So I think this is my last Julie Garwood for a while. At least,

    So I think this is my last Julie Garwood for a while. At least, until she writes another historical. Since she branched into the contemporary market, I've found myself increasingly dissatisfied, to the point that I've struggled to finish books. If I hadn't been reviewing this book as an ARC, I would have stopped reading this book after about eleven pages. The same problems keep cropping up, and there are just better books I could be spending my time on. I'll always remember her earlier books fondly, but I know Garwood can do better.

    The prologue stops me dead. It's almost 15 pages of little girls running around, creating havoc. It's boring, and does nothing to to move the story along. It's nothing that couldn't have been introduced into the main text of the story. I hate prologues that are useless. It took me a day to get past the prologue.

    And then you meet Olivia MacKenzie, all grown up. And perfect. And Grayson Kincaid. Who's also perfect. This is the problem I have with the leads in Julie Garwood's books. They're perfect physical specimens. So impossible sexy and gorgeous, other characters are bowled over by their looks. It's annoying and I'm tired of reading about it. The attraction between the two is also superficial. Garwood spends a lot of time telling us that these two are crazy about each other, but all I can see is lust and sex.

    The actual bare bones plot is mildly interesting, but the supporting characters are one dimensional and do nothing to prop up the leads, or even give the leads complexity. The villains have no depth. The family of the MCs are just there for wallpaper. The other FBI agent, Ronan, is mildly interesting, but disappears for pages at a time, and then does nothing interesting when he is around. The three other Pips, Olivia's childhood friends, slow down the action when they are around. Jane, the only one in the book for long periods of time, is only there to remind us that Olivia is super smart and there to save the day.

    I just...I didn't like it. And it makes me sad because I look at my Julie Garwood historicals like Saving Grace, The Wedding, and Ransom, and I think...will she ever write like that again?

    55 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    !

    To the children playing kittycat games here...this is a book review site, not a roleplaying web site. I have reported it to bn and hope they ban you. Go elsewhere to play your litterbox games and leave this to serious book reviews by grownups.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    I was really disappointed

    I have enjoyed Garwood books in the past; however, her past few books have not up to her standards.

    This book is even more of a disappointment. The plot is not developed and the characters are unbelievable. Without the unneeded torrid sex and the fairy tale thought processes, the story could have been written in about 30 pages.

    Needless to say, I will not be buying any more of her books until they have been out a while and I can check reviews.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Disappointed again

    I LOVE Julie garwoods historical and early contemperary books,but i have not loved, or even liked, her most recent ones. I grew up on For the Roses and Ransom books and use to buy because she was a dependable writer. I couldnt even buy that these characters were even in love. I wish that she would go back to her old style od writing. I will not be buying another book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Pantherstrike

    Can u get everyone to stop impostering me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Poor

    Not up to her usual standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    did not like nook sample

    did not like noot sample

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Let down big time

    Have always loved Julie's books but this one left much to be desired. It felt as if she wrote the book only to meet a deadline and not for the story. Had to force myself to finish it. The best character in a book should not be someone who is spoken of for all of five minutes i.e. Sam. Spend your money elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Very disappointing!

    Wow, I have been an avid Julie Garwood fan for years. Even though her earlier historical romaces were redundant (all male protagonists were brilliant warriors who had never been challenged by a woman; all female protagonists were righteous in their rebllion and determined to ride or hunt better than their counterparts), the writing was witty and entertaining and I read them repeatedly! This novel was so distasteful that I struggled to complete it, and only did so because of the money already spent. What did I dislike? The writing (dry, no direct impact on the emotions), the plot (implausible, uninteresting, the exact opposite of a page turner), the heroine (too perfect, even the medical aspect of her past is improbable), the hero (no swag, I mean really?!), the antagonists (wow, their perfidy left me speechless--in most plots the reader can relate to the "bad guy"--in this book there are too many bad guys and their bad is not sexy!). The conclusion of the matter is that this book is not worth the money! If you are still curious or just loyal, borrow it from the e-library or have a nook friend lend it to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    is it good

    I haven reaf this book i here its good but i dont no

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Very poor

    Very disappointing......not worth the time it took to read. This was far below Julie Garwood's usual work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    I always look forward to a new Julie Garwood novel, but I think

    I always look forward to a new Julie Garwood novel, but I think I will
    rephrase it to be "I used to" look forward to a new novel from
    her. I was very disappointed in the characters of this latest book and
    the story line was not her best. I did not enjoy it and am sorry I
    wasted my money on it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1