Customer Reviews for

Sweet Tooth: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

If you come to this novel expecting a spy thriller, you will be

If you come to this novel expecting a spy thriller, you will be perplexed and disappointed. Readers who are familiar with McEwan, one of the greatest living English novelists, will find this delicious psychological puzzle and meditation on fiction, reality and creation,...
If you come to this novel expecting a spy thriller, you will be perplexed and disappointed. Readers who are familiar with McEwan, one of the greatest living English novelists, will find this delicious psychological puzzle and meditation on fiction, reality and creation, a joy. If you have never read his work before this is a wonderful place to start.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Save your reading for John LeCarre or Len Deighton, or even Bria

Save your reading for John LeCarre or Len Deighton, or even Brian Freemantle and most certainly read Alan Furst. This book is not too original, and it was a bit tedious. I was expecting more. Very much derivative of several other authors in the espionage genre.

posted by Cataloger on November 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    If you come to this novel expecting a spy thriller, you will be

    If you come to this novel expecting a spy thriller, you will be perplexed and disappointed. Readers who are familiar with McEwan, one of the greatest living English novelists, will find this delicious psychological puzzle and meditation on fiction, reality and creation, a joy. If you have never read his work before this is a wonderful place to start.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Very effective if not entirely affecting emotionally

    To begin, I am a real fan of McEwan's writing, especially the less gothic-style works (Saturday, Solar). I appreciate his beautiful language and often satirical tone. This novel kept me in suspense until the last two pages and provided an ending that I had not at all expected. My book group was slated to discuss this so I read it a second time and enjoyed it just as much --- this time looking closely at the texture and the back story of the Cold War. I cared less about these principal characters than I'd expect to in a work that I liked. However, as a semi-autobiographical work about a literature major coming of age in the early '70s, I found this novel utterly satisfying and intellectually stimulating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I utterly loved this novel. I've read a lot of McEwan and this

    I utterly loved this novel. I've read a lot of McEwan and this was my favorite. I received it as a Christmas gift and plunged right in. Now I'm recommending it to everyone. Serena Frome is an incredible character--I wish McEwan would write a sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Blackfang son of scourge

    Watches

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    Rules & Ranks of assasins group.

    Ranks: <p> Leader:the leader is well the leader. Anyone who denies or rebels againt the leader will be killed immediatly. <p> Second in command:second in command had the full ability of leader except able to do ceremonys and organize raids. <p> Fres: the elite fighters. They are the ones leading the raids <p> the Sigk: the spys who watch and report back to the leader. <p> The Queens:the females who stay in camp and watch over the kits. The Rews:Regular warriors. <p> Rules: <p> never disobey the leader or seconf in command. <p> if We capture prisoners they are either bred if kits are needed or put to death in front of everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    Another great book by a fabulous author. Whilr Atonement remains

    Another great book by a fabulous author. Whilr Atonement remains my favorite of his books, this was well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    AVA

    WILL????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Will

    Where are you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    URGENT

    The gathering has gone wrong!!! Help us kill Toxin and his clones. They are killing too many cats. Shiningstar of Shinibgclan She bolts away

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    To the other Shimmerheart

    Go away. Now! She didnt hurt anyone.
    Shimmerheart

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    To shimmerstream

    U r wanted dead ( hope im not to late)


    - clovertail

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    To Everyone URGENT

    As you can see Romulus is here to kill ALL OF YOU!!! I read it at "Shadow Catcher" result 1! Please please please believe me!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    A cat

    A tom walks in goes to shimmerstream and breaks her neck and walks out

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Shimmerstream

    Goodbye... i cannot live any longer...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Cora to shimmerstream and the cat

    A sleek black rogue runs out of the bushes. "It is l who told you you were wanted dead," she mewed gravely. "Run while you can." She leapt on the bad cat.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Frostshine

    I know you hid it remember? The imposter doesn't know where our camp is!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Megan

    Hi, i was told to come here

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Lexi

    Laughs and leaves gtg

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Elle/bluewing

    Me

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2