Customer Reviews for

Sweet Venom (Sweet Venom Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 294 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Review from MajiBookshelf blog

What made me START reading this book was its LOVELY AND BEAUTIFUL cover. I know, i know, you aren't supposed to judge a book by its cover, but to be honest, i DO. Anyways, i started reading this book without even reading its synopsis.
After i started reading it, the F...
What made me START reading this book was its LOVELY AND BEAUTIFUL cover. I know, i know, you aren't supposed to judge a book by its cover, but to be honest, i DO. Anyways, i started reading this book without even reading its synopsis.
After i started reading it, the FIRST thing i loved was how every chapter or so was written from someone else's point of view. Like one chapter, Gretchen would be talking. The other chapter, Grace would be talking, and so on. This way, i got to know what ALL of them were thinking and how each one of them felt about each other and the situations they faced.
The writing was beautiful. I really fell in love with the book from the start. It was SO INTERESTING in a way i cant even describe. As soon as i started reading, i couldn't put the book down. Actually i had to, because i had to study and go to school, but you know what i mean.
Now let me talk about the characters. As soon as you read the synopsis, you will know that they are triplets. So i loved how every one of them was so different. Gretchen was so tough and cool. While Grace was so optimistic and always looking for the best in people. While Greer was a snob (at first), and cares too much about her "social calendar" as she says :P But in the end, i love all three of them to bits.
Even though this book is paranormal and talks about mythical monsters and all, it wasn't confusing to read. I really liked Tera's writing because even though i have never seen any of these monsters (maybe someday i will), it wasn't so hard imagining them. It wasn't even hard imagining the fights and stuff. So i really liked that.
So overall, this book (as you can see above) is rated 5 for me. I loved it, and i cant WAIT to read the second book of this series.

posted by majibookshelf on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good but..

The story had enough action and love interests to keep it entertainig. The momentum, however, often screeched to sudden stops when the point of view shifted. Despite the author's insistence that the three girls had completely different personalities, the way their POV w...
The story had enough action and love interests to keep it entertainig. The momentum, however, often screeched to sudden stops when the point of view shifted. Despite the author's insistence that the three girls had completely different personalities, the way their POV was written felt like they were the same persn. Granted, theyre sisters and changing the writing style everytime the POV changed would be too exhausting for the author, but nevertheless it might have helped the story flow better. Thats one star. The other star accounts for the major cliffhanger. The story of these girls was enough to ensure that the readers (at least me) will get the sequel. Leaving the readers frustrated is definitely not the way to go.

posted by SMiLeLiMe on October 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A page turner until the end!

    Review by Jen: I really enjoyed this book. I wasn't quite sure what to expect with mythology and a young adult focus, but what I got was a page turner that kept me interested until the last page.

    The book actually begins with Gretchen out on a hunt and the reader is left wondering why such a young girl is out fighting mythical creatures. Then we meet Grace whose (adopted) family has just moved to San Francisco. She's a bit more normal for a 16-year old... that is until she comes back to face with a minotaur. But meeting Gretchen is even more exciting since it may answer questions about her biological family. Unfortunately for Grace, Gretchen doesn't really want anything to do with her until they learn of a third sister and a prophecy about the three of them.

    This book has it all. There's a little romance, lots of action (but not too graphic since it is YA), an interesting plot and characters, and a cliffhanger that will make me pick up the sequel as soon as it's available. I have enjoyed the mythological world that Ms Childs has created and can't wait to delve into it further. I encourage paranormal YA fans to pick this one up and enjoy!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Drama + acation = Awesimeness

    I couldnt put it down!"!!!"

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    This Books Got BITE!

    I am a big fan of Tera Lynn Child's Mermaid series, so I was really looking forward to reading Sweet Venom. Greek myth, Gorgon triplets separated at birth and reunited as teens to fulfill their monster fighting destiny! How could I not be dying to read it? Sweet Venom started off with a bang and from there it told the story of sisters who find each other, and find themselves, and maybe their destiny along the way.

    Gretchen is a monster hunting, kick-butt, full of attitude, take charge female. She's been keeping herself cut off from everyone but her guardian for a long long time. So when she discovers Grace is her sister it take her awhile to let her in. Grace is her opposite in every way. Grace is from a loving family, smart, but not much of one to take up for herself. So when she starts seeing monsters, she really needs Gretchen to teach her a thing or two or ten about defending herself. When at long last they discover Greer, Grace and Gretchen will realize they weren't as different from each other as they thought. Greer is a society princess, how will she even fit in to their monster fighting world? Or accept them as her sisters?

    I really loved that all three girls were so vastly different. They played off of each other really well and there were some really fun moments of bickering that you only find between siblings. The fact that they were all raised in completely different ways, but suddenly shoved together and forced to face something none of them particularly want to really make these difference stand out. There were also so swoon-worthy male figures here and there along the way.

    The only thing I didn't love about Sweet Venom was that I would have liked for there to have been a few more plot lines tied up by the end of the book. I understand that in a series you leave loose ends for book two, but I like for more of a conclusion with each book. I just felt like there wasn't enough with this one. Too much was still up in the air by the end for me.

    Overall, I felt Sweet Venom was a great new take on Greek mythology, an exciting battle with interesting new monsters, and a beautiful tale of sisters reunited. I can't wait for Sweet Shadows to see where the sisters will go next! I recommend this one to fans of paranormal and mythology!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Lovely book.

    You have your mythology, romance, action, and an odd twist on sisterhood packed into one book. I don't think this book one is for everyone, especially guys. Here are few things that might help you make a decision whether to read it or not.

    1. A bit of romance, but not intense.
    2. Lots of girls power!
    3. Greek mythology, but not definately not as much as Percy Jaskson or anything. (More in the 2nd one)
    4. Not much suspense.
    5. It has a cheesy sisterhood thing going. (not too bad, tolerable)

    So that about sums it up. If you read it, I hope you liked it. It is not a bad book, try it out.

    -Krys

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Great for YA audience

    This was a neat story that mixed true life teenage angst with fantasy battles. Sixth grade and up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Loved the book. My only issue is I felt the book was to short.  

    Loved the book. My only issue is I felt the book was to short.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Interesting story

    Good read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Excellent

    A new take on the paranormal. A roller coaster ride filled with action and quiet moments building the characters of the three sisters. Obviously a buildup to the sequels but ok as a stand alone. However I already have the next in series on reserve. I am assuming there's a third since everything these days seems to be a trilogy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Entertaining!

    SWEET VENOM is filled with mythical allure and a kick-ass cast of heroines. Told in alternating vantage points between the three descendants of Medusa, I got a first hand encounter of the different backgrounds the girls came from and how their personalities varied. Gretchen, super strong and a loner, is my favorite of the three. She's had it rough and she came from the worst home out of the three. And because of her adversity, I instantly gravitated towards her and how she overcame her past to fight for the good of human kind. I love how the three compliment each other. Grace is all geeky and happy dory while Greer is the rich and poplar ice queen. I enjoyed getting to know the sisters.

    The sisters, being guardians of this realm have a destiny to fulfill and everything's not cut and dry as it seems. There are a lot of things that the girls are still learning about themselves and their legacy as they try to get over the shock that they are triplets and the continuous showdowns with the creatures that keep popping up all of a sudden. I really enjoyed the spin on Medusa and her descendants.

    With a bang of an ending, I'm looking forward to the next installment. There are so many things that the girls must figure out about their legacy and how it all ties into the now. Plus, I can't wait to find out more about the guys in their lives. I know there's a mystery behind that and I can't wait to get some light shed on it. Overall, this book is an absolutely entertaining start to a new series.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Fun Read

    This was a good book. I have a daughter who loves mythology based series, Percy Jackson, Goddess Girls, etc. I can see this being right up her alley when she is a little older. It does not have as much action as Percy Jackson, but more of the personal interplay that would be interesting to a pre-teen or teenage girl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable!

    It took a little way to get into this , but by the end I couldn't wait to getthe next book! Think it is more for teens but I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome YA Series!

    Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs is about three girls who are trying to get through high school, learning to deal with high school boys, and adjusting to the discovery that they are triplets who were separated at birth. Oh yeah, and they can see monsters.
    The first novel in Childs’ new Medusa Girls series is told in first person while changing the voice with each chapter so that each of the three sisters – Grace, Greer, and Gretchen – get to give their point of view. Three more different girls you can’t imagine yet I think there is a piece of each of them that every girl will identify with. They are strong yet sensitive, intelligent yet innocent, and confident yet unsure. Like all of us they long to have someone who truly understands them. The hard part is your willingness to adjust your world when someone who does understand you suddenly walks into your life.
    Childs does an excellent job in this story of slowly introducing one sister at a time to readers like you’d stir egg whites into a cake batter; never letting any of the sisters’ storylines go flat while rolling the next sister into the plotline. Throughout the entire novel I felt the tension building to a decisive climax that I knew was coming and yet I never saw the specific details of how it would happen until they all but hit me in the face in the final scene.
    This is an excellent first novel for a series. Childs did a great job of resolving just enough of the questions so that I felt I was given a resolution and at the same time she pulled back the curtain on their future so that I could see a host of unanswered questions facing the three sisters ahead. Hold on, I think they are in for a bumpy ride. Sweet Shadows, the second book, is already available while Sweet Legacy is expected in 2013.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    I enjoyed this new take on mythology and Medusa. As a Free Frida

    I enjoyed this new take on mythology and Medusa. As a Free Friday offer, I didn't expect much and was pleasantly surprised. I look
    forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Great book

    Couldnt put it down if you like cassandra clare you will like this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    This book is unforgettable. The sisters are so different in ever

    This book is unforgettable. The sisters are so different in everything they do. I had a really hard time putting this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Good YA

    Well written, enjoyable, good for young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Super!

    The whole story is amazing. But why did thane dissapear?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Good

    I enjoyed this story. It reminded me a bit of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. The sisters are well written. And the plot leaves it open for the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    very good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Wow

    I wasn't sure but the more i got into the story the more i liked it.. it was a great about 231pgs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5