Customer Reviews for

Sweet and Deadly

Average Rating 3.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

This was a very enjoyable book, It had a good story line snd a quick pace, I would recommend it to my friends .

posted by Mariyel on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The ending...

I was compleatly engrossed in this book until I got to the ending. The revelation of the murderer was shocking but the reason for the murders was disappointing. And there wasn't enough info regarding how the heroine came to her conclusion about the murderer.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    The ending...

    I was compleatly engrossed in this book until I got to the ending. The revelation of the murderer was shocking but the reason for the murders was disappointing. And there wasn't enough info regarding how the heroine came to her conclusion about the murderer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Good book

    This was a very enjoyable book, It had a good story line snd a quick pace, I would recommend it to my friends .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    1950s Deep South mystery

    It has been six months since her parents died in a car crash and Catherine Linton has returned to Lowfield, Mississippi in the hopes that familiar surroundings will help her healing process along. She is angry because her parents were murdered when their car breaks were deliberately loosened and she wants vengeance for their deaths. She also knows in her heart that the culprit is someone from Lowfield responsible because her parents never locked their car or garage. --- One day while target shooting at the run down tenant house on her land, she sees the bloody body of a woman who is later identified as Leona Galles, who was her father¿s nurse more than three decades ago. The sheriff discovers evidence that she was a blackmailer but treats her homicide as a separate incident that isn¿t connected to the deaths of Catherine¿s parents. When a reporter dies while investigating the homicides, Catherine believes the same person killed all four people and in a dangerous moment sets out to prove it. --- Long before Charlene Harris wrote the Sookie Stackhouse tales, she wrote this mystery and it shows the talent that in future years will make her a superstar. Readers get a picture of living in a small town in the Deep South in the 1950s when everyone knows their neighbors and murder is an aberration. Even a quarter a century ago, Ms. Harris was a genius at creating characters who are easy to understand and of course the identity of the villain comes as quite a shock. This is a thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining southern gothic mystery. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Predictable but good read

    Predictable ending but a good and easy read. The author is very adept at bringing her characters to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Great

    She always delivers a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Engrossing quick read

    I love all of Charlaine's books. This was a fantastic stand-alone. I wish it were longer, but it really didn't need to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Surprising

    Not my favorite book but I definately had no idea who done it till the end and I was surprised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Fast Read

    Good fast read in the time before Sookie Stackhouse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ONE OF HER FIRST BOOKS

    I thought it was a great book considering it was one of her first books and is written in third person. This book is over 20 years old and newspapers do everything electronically now-a-days. The book was also originally only 154 pages long. Catherine is not in first person like her others, but you still get a sense of who Catherine is. I found it to be a real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Great Story

    This was a great story. You couldn't guess "who done it" until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not Her Best

    Unfortunately, I did not find this book from Charlaine Harris as enjoyable as I have her other book series's (Harper Connelly, Sookie Stackhouse, etc.). I thought that this particular book was slow, uninformative, and a little confusing. I have loved all of her other books, but this particular one surprised in how confusing and lacking of information to the reader. Take care with this book and do not expect too much from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not a bad read at all!

    I bought this book to entertain me while flying to and from Seattle from the Midwest... It certainly kept my mind on the story and not on the clouds outside the window! Tightly woven, well written, and an easy summer read, I can definitely recommend this one to anyone needing some mystery in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5