Customer Reviews for

Sweetest Taboo

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Okay, so, I had no idea what to expect when I got this book. It

    Okay, so, I had no idea what to expect when I got this book. It was actually the first book I have read in a year because I have been so busy writing mine! I must say I was pleasantly shocked. It was different, different in a good way! The main character, Isabel, is a very mature teenager who is 15 going on thirty. I have always been intrigued by older guys myself so I was drawn to this story. I also have unconventional ideas about the expectations that society places on us and wanted to hear it from another point of view. That is exactly what I got out of it. I was let into a teenager's mind and she shared her deepest darkest secrets with me. Unabashed and fast paced, I couldn't wait to see where Isabel and Tom Stevens ended up and I am in sweet anticipation for book two in the series, Tainted Love, due out in March 2013!

    Beautifully done, Eva!

    Sweetest Taboo is Book One of a contemporary YA romance series. Book Two, Tainted Love, is scheduled to be released on March 5, 2013! Stay tuned for excerpts, cover and trailer reveal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    I normally take a couple of days after reading a book before I a

    I normally take a couple of days after reading a book before I actually write the review. It could be that I'm lazy at times, or it could be that I want to allow the book's elements to marinate for a little while so that I can give it a truly thoughtful response. I like option two better...sounds better. But it's probably a mixture of the two. All that being said, I just finished reading Sweetest Taboo at 1:35am tonight, and here I am at 1:42am writing the review for it. This review is also going to hop over several other books and be posted immediately for no other reason than that it had a truly impactful message for me and I absolutely loved it.


    I've always had a pretty firmly held opinion about teacher to student relationships...mostly when we're talking about high school. Once someone's in college, I pretty much feel like they're consenting adults and whether they have a relationship with a professor is something they have the intellect to reason out on their own. But with high school students, it's more, yes, taboo, because the idea is that a kid in high school is more vulnerable, more easily preyed upon by sexual predators, and that teachers, having a position of authority over them, are able to then exert that authority in an unhealthy way to provoke the student into elicit activities and relationships that they're not mentally equipped to deal with. Does it always follow that this assumption is true, however? This is the question thoroughly explored in Eva Marquez story, Sweetest Taboo.


    I went into this story knowing exactly what my take on this subject would be. I've watched multiple new stories, Dateline episodes and other documentaries about teacher-student relationships that were outed and ended up being prosecuted, and I pretty much felt that this was always wrong, despite the fact that I could name at least two such cases where, after the sentence was served, the relationship picked right back up where it left off, and the now "of age" student is still in a relationship with their former teacher. In this book, Marquez explores the possibility that these relationships don't always have to be criminal, or of a sexually predatory nature. What if you have a young student, girl or boy, who knows exactly what he/she wants, and a teacher who would never do anything to hurt that student, would in fact protect them, do anything for them, and that the ultimate sex act isn't what the relationship is based on? What if it was based on nothing but an emotional connection that ultimately leads, instead, to a special love?


    I absolutely loved Isabel. This is a smart girl. She's mature for her age, despite the fact that there are a couple decisions that she makes early on that are impactful, and that do show her age. The way she feels about her teacher, Tom Stevens, is firm and deep. Teenaged kids fall in love with other teenaged kids all the time, and no one has any trouble accepting the fact that it is truly love. So why, when the person they love is much older, is it not looked upon in the same light? Isabel's relationship with Tom starts slowly, builds over the course of years, and it takes just about that long for them to even take their relationship into the ultimate physical act. It is clear that their love is pure for each other. Is it not possible that there might be times when such relationships are an exception?


    Tom's character was sweet, gentle, caring. There were times that I found him to be a little weak, but even he recognized this in himself, and there are things he does to change that. The journey these two take over the course of the book was engrossing, and I couldn't help myself as I ended up rooting for them. You just wanted so badly for them to get to be together as you read.


    I have to give props to Eva Marquez. Her writing of this book was masterful. To be able to take such a taboo (yes, there it is again) situation and actually make her reader think of it in a new light, takes some talented handling. People are probably going to either love this book or hate it, depending upon the strength of their convictions. But I can guarantee, that regardless of their resulting opinion, the book WILL make them think, and it just might change their mind a little. Bravo to Marquez for taking on such a controversial topic and handling it with such sensitivity and bravery. It was utterly captivating to read, clearly, as I started it and finished it in one sitting. I am dying to read the sequel, Tainted Love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    How can qualify love? When the concept about romance and love ha

    How can qualify love? When the concept about romance and love has changed through time and what was right 50 years ago is unthinkable today is hard to say what is right and what is wrong. We can boast around about us being open-minded; however we have to know the all story before we can judge.

    Sweetest Taboo is the story of a 15-year-old girl that has a relationship with a teacher more than twice is age. During three years they sneak around and have an intense relationship that breaks all rules and is forbidden by society.

    Isabel falls in love with an older man, who is married and have kids. Tom is her swim coach and a school teacher. The moment they set sight on each other everything in their world is turn around.
    The book is told by Isabel's point of view and because of that I can say that she is a mature girl for her age but like every teenager her emotions are a roller-coaster and every feeling is ten times more potent than for any other person.

    She has to deal with being a teenager, with her parents wanting to get back to Chile and with been in love with Tom. The fact that she has to deal with it in private, alone and in secret is really exhausting. Being in love as a teenager is hard enough to anyone and if you add the age difference and that you and the other person shouldn't be together your whole world seems darker.

    Anyone who has been or still is a teenager would feel relate to many of the things Isabel has to live. Maybe you will pass from hate to love as I did, because the book has that effect, is takes you from one point to the other.

    Eva creates a wonderful world, where the lines between fantasy and reality are really thin. A relationship that causes different emotions in the reader and makes you shiver to the core. She has the ability of being objective and you never feel like she is trying to convince you that the situation is right or wrong.

    The whole point is bringing to the table a situation that we may see or not in our daily basis and to make us question about it.

    I loved it and I would recommend it to all readers who enjoy reading "controversial" stories, stories about real people and stories that will let you thinking about your idea of love and romance.

    (I recieved a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1