Customer Reviews for

The Sweetest Thing (Lucky Harbor Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 318 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very great story line. enjoyed it and would recommend!

    Very great story line. enjoyed it and would recommend!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    excellent Series!

    Loved this book, great 2nd book of the series. There is just enough Maddie and Jax from the first book so you aren't missing them. Loved Tara and Ford their story took me a little by surprise. Don't miss this series, it's great if you're looking for a summertime read I recommend visiting the great character's in Lucky Harbor!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Love this series

    This was really good, I enjoyed the first book but this was great.... roll on December until Book Three.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very entertaining read. One of the few books this month that I e

    Very entertaining read. One of the few books this month that I enjoyed reading.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    True 2nd chance at love

    The two things in her life that Tara Daniels never expected was 1.She'd come back to Lucky Harbor and 2.That 1st love Ford Walker would show up in her life all over again. I loved reading the 2nd installment of Lucky Harbor Series I liked the whole idea of 2nd chance at love thing and this book truely shows a thing or 2 of that. I love how once the very daughter both Tara and Ford gave up at birth shows up again and that really sparks something between Tara and Ford again. I loved reading this book and will over and over again can't get enough!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Another gem!!

    Five +++ stars!!!!! Love a book that i can laugh out loud and bawl my eyes out all on one page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Love this series!

    Awesome book, could not put it down.love love love

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Awesome Second Book in the Series!

    USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis has penned more than three dozen romance novels. She is a three-time RITA nominee and three-time Readers Choice winner. Other titles include: The Trouble With Paradise, Smart and Sexy, Kissing Santa Claus, Instant Temptation, Slow Heat, Storm Watch, Jinxed, Out of This World, Just Try Me, and Get a Clue. She resides in Lake Tahoe.

    This is book two in the Lucky Harbor series, with Simply Irresistible coming before it, and the third book, Head over Heels, coming in December 2011. Though these books are part of a series, they can be stand alone reads. Anything needed to know about the plot in previous books is explained for new readers to catch up.

    Two men are one too many... After her life majorly crashes and burns, Tara Daniels has no choice but to return to the little coastal town of Lucky Harbor, Washington, where she once spent a wild, hot, and heartbreaking summer visiting her mother. Now running a restored Bed and Breakfast with her two half-sisters in the house her mother once owned, she finally feels like she has a plan for her new life and is regaining some of her control back. Except a certain tanned, green-eyed sailor from her past has other plans. Plans that involve the two of them rekindling the passion they once shared so long ago. But Ford isn't her only problem. Oh no. Her very sexy ex-husband has shown up in the small town to win her back. These men are two things she can't control, and three is a crowd. And when her deepest secret reappears, Tara is forced to confront her past and discover what she really wants. If she looks close enough, she just might find it right where she is.

    I had the pleasure in reviewing the first book in this series, and though I loved it, it would appear these books only get stronger and more intense as the series goes on. I cannot wait for Sawyer and Chloe's story in the last book.

    This is an author who knows her conflict, knows how to produce heat, and knows how to invoke powerful emotions-- all while having you gasping with laughter. Not an easy task. The setting in a small resort town was perfect, filled with an array of secondary characters you can't help but love. I love the bantering between the three sisters, very unique and very diverse in their personalities, clashing at every turn. Most of all, this book in particular displays just how haunting the past can be, and just how difficult it can be to overcome it. Highly recommended!

    Kelly Moran,
    Bookpleasures

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    loved it!

    Another great story by Jill Shalvis. Can't wait to read Mia's story this winter!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful love story

    The Sweetest Thing By Jill Shalvis is another heart warming fun and sexy read.

    Tara Daniels has returned to Lucky Harbor, Washington. She intends to only stay long enough to help her two sisters get the Inn they inherited up and on its feet. Tara needs to get her life back in some type of order after her divorce. She needs to form some type of life plan but a man from her past keeps getting in her way.

    Ford Walker has always lived his life in the fast lane. Racing boats for a living has taken him all over the world. He had returned to Lucky Harbor to simplify his life. But there is nothing simple about his long buried feelings for Tara Daniels. They fell in love as teens but reality soon had them apart. Now that Tara's back Ford will stop at nothing to get Tara to realize how good they could be together.

    Tara's secret makes a surprise appearance along with her ex-husband causing all kinds of inner turmoil for them both. Will these two former lovers be able to make a go of it as adults?

    The Sweetest Thing is another delightful read. The interactions between Tara and Ford are just sensational. Their emotions run the gamut of past insecurities to present day issues. You find yourself routing for this couple to find a way to their happy ending. Jill Shalvis books are must reads for me, they deliver every time. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This series is simply irresistable!

    I have been anxiously awaiting this book since I finished the first book in the Lucky Harbor series titled "Simply Irresistible" and I must say this book was definitely worth the wait. The author pulled me right back into the town of Lucky Harbor with such ease that I literally read this book in one sitting.
    This series of books revolve around three half sisters Maddie aka the mouse, Tara the steel magnolia, and Chloe the wild child, who are brought together in Lucky Harbor after the death of their mother Phoebe. In Phoebe's will she leaves a run down inn to the girls and they decide to stick around and turn it into what they hope will be a successful B&B.

    In this installment Tara is getting a second chance at love with an old flame from her past. When she was seventeen she spent the summer in Lucky Harbor and had a relationship with Ford Walker, but the relationship ended when she wound up pregnant and gave her baby up for adoption. Fast forward seventeen years Tara is back in Lucky Harbor after a failed marriage ,she is trying to help her sisters get the B&B up and running.She thought she was over Ford, but now that she is back those old feelings are being stirred up all over again, and if that's not enough her ex-husband shows up wanting a second chance. Who will she choose?
    I love the relationship that the sisters share. The banter that goes on between them often had me laughing out loud. Because each of the sisters were raised so differently they each have different outlooks on life.While they are still getting to know each other, that bond that only sisters share is certainly there. Tara's character is very uptight, it was nice to see Ford was able to get under her skin.
    I loved this story which is funny but also has enough twists to keep you flipping the pages to see how things will turn out. I will be anxiously awaiting the next installment in this fantastic series that's simply irresistible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Second is the key number in this warm Pacific Northwest romance

    Tara Daniels inherits an inn in Lucky Harbor, Washington along with her two half-sisters (Tara star of Simply Irresistible and Chloe) whom she never knew existed. The three women share the same mom but different fathers. The three siblings agree to try to run the B&B.

    In Lucky Harbor, Tara also runs into her teenage sweetheart Ford Walker. When each was seventeen years old, they had a child that reluctantly but rightfully they gave up for adoption. Ford knows he never stopped loving Tara and regrets they had no choice but to give away their baby as they had no other options. However, his efforts for a second chance are impeded by her former husband, injured NASCAR driver Logan Parrish, arriving in Lucky Harbor to stake his second chance claims on his ex wife.

    Second is the key number in this warm Pacific Northwest romance as this is book two in the Lucky Harbor half-sisters trilogy and the two men in Tara's past want another chance with her. Readers will enjoy the triangulation as jocularity and heat combine to make The Sweetest Thing a fun contemporary romance.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2012

    GREAT SERIES BY JILL SHALVIS

    I was going into the hospital for surgery and needed something to pass the time during recuperation. I was scanning Nook books and just happened to run up on this series and the cute comments and reviews by the readers. Needless to say, I'm HOOKED. I believe we all need a little extra "legal" romance in our lives and Jill gives that. I have read all 6 of the books and they are wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Blaze

    Its ok

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone that likes a well written romance novel and the group of people that make up Lucky Harbor. My only complaint about this book is that it ends to soon and I wanted it to last longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Flintscar

    Right here. Lets go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Sweetstar

    Great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    The whole series hits the spot. Best series of books that takes you there and is relateable. Every emotion is felt by the reader and the humor is spot on with just the right steaminess to mix it up. Reminds me of some of the home towns I grew up in. GREAT READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Aswome and im 11!

    Im only 11 but i love these book jill ur my FAV

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    great series

    The Sweetest Thing
    This part of the book is about Tara, the one who cooks at the local cafe: Eat Me Diner.
    The town is always having a festival, this time it's the Summer Arts and Musical Fest
    where the whole town comes out to participate in.
    The inn is almost ready to open and she's giving away peach muffins with the inn's flyer on them to all who are on the pier. Tara had been married to a NASCAR driver but had gotten a divorce before moving back to Lucky Harbor.
    Ford owned the bar with Jax and was also a world class sailing expert, gone for many weeks/months at a time. He also took care of the boats moored at the inn's dock, where his boat was kept.
    Even though this book is mainly about Tara the other sisters are mixed in with everything as well. Great we can keep up with the whole family and new neighbors and townspeople.
    Tara's ex husband is back, injured from racing and going to spend the whole summer there trying to win her back.
    Things are just moving along and out of left field: Someone else is back in Tara and Ford's lives also and she's only got 7 weeks with them. Lot of heartwarming truths come to the surface.
    Competition to win her over, accidents, ER visits to name a few things that make this a 'never a dull moment' at the Inn.
    Can't wait for the next one head over heels as we get to check out Chloe's story along with keeping up to date with her 2 sisters and townspeople and other family members.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9