Customer Reviews for

Sweetheart (Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!

I absoulutely just love this series!! Its a must read suspense!!

posted by TaraLomax on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sweetheart not so sweet

I have to say Chelsea Cain can write a story that brings you back for more, but reading this latest book left me feeling disturbed. I felt like the character of Archie just forgot everything important in his life it was like he no longer loved anyone. When Gretchen goes...
I have to say Chelsea Cain can write a story that brings you back for more, but reading this latest book left me feeling disturbed. I felt like the character of Archie just forgot everything important in his life it was like he no longer loved anyone. When Gretchen goes to the school where his children are at he wasn't willing to kill her to protect them even though he remembers a case where Gretchen killed a little boy and skinned him, he seemed not worried enough to protect them. Also finding out more of his relationship with Gretchen I couldn't help feeling that his wife was getting the short end of everything, maybe if the story didn't let us know so much about her and the fact that they didn't seem to have an unhappy marriage. Even though I felt this book left you with an ungood feeling I probably will still read her follow up just to see what happens.

posted by 333040 on November 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Guaranteed Great Read

    A very interesting sequel that would make perfect sense even for those who have not read the first book. Chelsea Cain is a wonderful author with a unique and mesmerizing story to tell. The ending will have you jumping to get the third in the series. I could not put this down, I read it in under two days. This is definately a great read for thrill seekers, and it is very interesting from many different perspectives. I highly recommend this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    I absoulutely just love this series!! Its a must read suspense!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    Sweetheart not so sweet

    I have to say Chelsea Cain can write a story that brings you back for more, but reading this latest book left me feeling disturbed. I felt like the character of Archie just forgot everything important in his life it was like he no longer loved anyone. When Gretchen goes to the school where his children are at he wasn't willing to kill her to protect them even though he remembers a case where Gretchen killed a little boy and skinned him, he seemed not worried enough to protect them. Also finding out more of his relationship with Gretchen I couldn't help feeling that his wife was getting the short end of everything, maybe if the story didn't let us know so much about her and the fact that they didn't seem to have an unhappy marriage. Even though I felt this book left you with an ungood feeling I probably will still read her follow up just to see what happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    When I finished reading HEARTSICK, the first novel of this series, I touted it as the best thriller ever. I still stand by that sentiment. And even though SWEETHEART doesn't quite live up to the greatness of that first book, it's still a really good read. <BR/><BR/>All of the characters from the first book are back, and they find themselves in circumstances that are, in a lot of ways, similar to those in the first book. <BR/><BR/>Archie is still obsessed with Gretchen. Gretchen is still obsessed with killing -- and with Archie. <BR/><BR/>Archie's family, friends, and co-workers are trying to help him end his addiction to both painkillers and Gretchen, but it doesn't seem to be working. He's living with his ex-wife and children, and he loves them and wants to keep them safe, and yet he still wants -- no, needs -- to be with Gretchen in some way. <BR/><BR/>The plot is added to (and sometimes complicated by) the story that Susan Ward began working on in HEARTSICK -- that of the affair between the beloved Senator and the underage babysitter. This story becomes intertwined with the present when Susan's friend/mentor is killed, and the case falls into Archie's lap. <BR/><BR/>SWEETHEART is a fairly quick read, and I stayed up late to finish it. I really did like it, even though I wasn't as impressed with it as I was HEARTSICK. <BR/><BR/>There's no doubt that Archie and Gretchen will be back. I'm anxious to see more of them, and to find out who will be the death of who.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Irritating!

    There have been many, many books...esp. mysteries...that involve police officers who have annoying 'issues', and one wonders how such characters would ever pass psych evals. I've never read anything else by Chelsea Cain (and will probably avoid any other offerings by this author), and only read this book through 'til the end in the hope that the stupid, sex-driven detective and the serial killer would both die horrible deaths!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Watch out

    Another great novel by the likes of ms Cain A real heartstopper Second in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    A must read

    So good!! Sick and twisted, but intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    I saw Castle reading this book in "A Death in the Family&qu

    I saw Castle reading this book in &quot;A Death in the Family&quot;, Season 1 episode 10. That might be an indication to try it out for yourself. So, I won't rate it now but I will after I read it. Since I have to leave a star, I will start at 3 and then comeback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Just as with Heartsick, I thought this book was phenomenal! I di

    Just as with Heartsick, I thought this book was phenomenal! I didn't think it was possible to be any more twisted than the first book,
    however, the author has really found her niche in psychological thrillers!

    I think that Chelsea Cain has superb writing abilities and is very thorough and descriptive with her story line, but not so much so that
    the story drags along and becomes too in depth. She knows how to draw a reader in and keep them interested from the first page to
    the last.

    This books helps you get a little more insight into the lives of Archie Sheriden and Gretchen Lowell and maybe helps you better
    understand the twisted reasons behind the whole story.

    Once I started reading this, I couldn't stop, if I had to stop, I couldn't wait to be able to start reading it again! I also can't wait to move
    right along to the third book in this series as book one and two have both been off the charts!

    I listened to the audio version of this book and I thought that the narrator, Carolyn McCormick did a wonderful job of conveying the
    story. Too often, I find myself turned off of a book simply because I didn't care for the narrator of the story, however, that was not even
    close to the case with this book. It was a wonderful and quick easy listen!

    I can't wait to pick up the 3rd book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    buen

    demasiado b bueno

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    must recommend

    really good. can't wait for the following ones

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    4.5 stars

    The sequel does not disappoint...only pulls you deeper into the twisted relationship of archie and gretchen...hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    AND IT GETS EVEN DARKER!!!!

    I am completely hooked on this series. I started it last week with the first one (as I was interested in her latest in this series that is due out any day now), and as soon as I finished it, I had to have this one.

    Chelsea Cain can really write a very dark thriller. This one I think is darker than the first. Archie's psychosis is getting worse, Gretchen is getting worse with her obsession with Archie, and poor Susan - I just don't know how much longer that girl will live the way she puts herself in danger.

    In the second book of the series, you start off with just a little time passed since the first installment. Ms. Cain does a great job of not letting too much time pass between the first and second story lines.

    The farther I get into this series, the more sucked in I am. The characters are real (real messed up too). Gretchen is what nightmares are made of. Archie is about as messed up a hero as I have ever seen. I am off right now to purchase book three. I can't wait to see what is in store for all of these characters.

    Soooooo happy I gave this author and this series a chance. Can't believe I have missed it before now!!!!! If you like the good twisted thriller mystery novel, this is for you. Several stories tied together in the end.

    LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    This was an amazing read. Even better than the last one. Chelsea Cain's characters are so real. I can't help but feel for all of the characters.... Even Gretchen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Terrific series!!!!

    This is an edge of your seat thriller!!! I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    MOVE ON. IT'S REALLY SICK

    When I first read this Author I thought weird a Female Serial, but then she just kept getting uglier as the book went on. I have little respect for law enforcement and I have to say this book didn't give them any brownie points. Really you fall in love with a Serial and really can you express that she means more to you than your children. I was hoping that they both would die, but like most authors it has to continue to the last drop. I purchase these books on clearence and I'm glad I did ,as I would not pay full price for these. I have her last one and will read it as I am an avid reader, but I will not keep these in my house, as I don't want my children thinking this is proper behavior. She seems like a great writer but a little twisted. I loved Henry as he seem to be the only one with a brain. When the office said what should we do if we encounter her, his reply was to SHOOT her, but then needy ass Archie would rather save her at the cost of his children. Me I would have added and if he gets in your way shoot him as well. I know that this is fiction, but hell, let's kill them off already.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A disturbingly gripping look into obsession!!

    Chelsea Cain comes back to the characters from her first novel, Heart Sick, almost directly after it ended. This book seems less like a sequel and more like the next chapter, and I love that. Here we glean more insight into the relationships of the main characters and sink with them. The end of this seems a little more open ended than the first book but it was still fun reader every page. Great stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    great read

    loved this book read it in a day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweetheart made me heartsick

    What a read! Chelsea Cain is my new favorite author. Didn't want to stop reading. Resented my husband for trying to talk to me while I had the nook in my hand.....almost the birth of another victim for Gretchen.

    Chelsea, I hope that you have finished the 3rd installment and that it is at the printers. Waiting, but not patiently.amr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I found this book annoying

    The first book in this series was intriguing, but I found this one to be pretty off-putting. It's very derivative of the Hannibal Lecter series, but the author tries too hard to be shocking and repellant -- and instead reaches well into the realm of the ridiculous. And when the key "hero" characters are so annoying and stupid that you find yourself almost rooting against them ... enough said, right? It is a very quick read and well-written enough that it moves along and I did not abandon it, but overall, I was not very impressed. I had already bought part three in the series because I liked the first one, but it has moved to the bottom of my "to read" list based on this second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11