BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sweetheart (Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!

I absoulutely just love this series!! Its a must read suspense!!

posted by TaraLomax on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Irritating!

There have been many, many books...esp. mysteries...that involve police officers who have annoying 'issues', and one wonders how such characters would ever pass psych evals. I've never read anything else by Chelsea Cain (and will probably avoid any other offerings by th...
There have been many, many books...esp. mysteries...that involve police officers who have annoying 'issues', and one wonders how such characters would ever pass psych evals. I've never read anything else by Chelsea Cain (and will probably avoid any other offerings by this author), and only read this book through 'til the end in the hope that the stupid, sex-driven detective and the serial killer would both die horrible deaths!

posted by Anonymous on September 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    A Bit of a Stretch

    Not bad, but believable only to a point, then becomes a bit of a stretch. Writing quality is fine; character development good. Recommend trying to read as much as possible at a time, as time away can help confuse things. Probably worth about what I paid for it...not much..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    I saw Castle reading this book in "A Death in the Family&qu

    I saw Castle reading this book in "A Death in the Family", Season 1 episode 10. That might be an indication to try it out for yourself. So, I won't rate it now but I will after I read it. Since I have to leave a star, I will start at 3 and then comeback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    MOVE ON. IT'S REALLY SICK

    When I first read this Author I thought weird a Female Serial, but then she just kept getting uglier as the book went on. I have little respect for law enforcement and I have to say this book didn't give them any brownie points. Really you fall in love with a Serial and really can you express that she means more to you than your children. I was hoping that they both would die, but like most authors it has to continue to the last drop. I purchase these books on clearence and I'm glad I did ,as I would not pay full price for these. I have her last one and will read it as I am an avid reader, but I will not keep these in my house, as I don't want my children thinking this is proper behavior. She seems like a great writer but a little twisted. I loved Henry as he seem to be the only one with a brain. When the office said what should we do if we encounter her, his reply was to SHOOT her, but then needy ass Archie would rather save her at the cost of his children. Me I would have added and if he gets in your way shoot him as well. I know that this is fiction, but hell, let's kill them off already.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Does not live up to Heartsick

    Well, I thought the book had really great parts, where it was thrilling and parts where there were quite a few surprises uncovered, but the book just didn't really live up to the first one. I thought the first one was much more engaging and had a very complete, full plot. Sweetheart though, I'm not sure what to say about it. The plot just seemed to stagnate and it seemed to pick up a little towards the end but it just didn't have the same fast thrilling ride like the other one.

    Gretchen still hasn't changed, she's still the same psychotic "Hannibal Lecter" we all have come to know since Heartsick. Although, there's just something about her that I can't seem quite to understand and grasp. True, she's a villain but I've read other ones that would easily take the "Crown of Evil" away in a heartbeat. Perhaps it's because there's not much information about her yet, I'm not sure. She just feels so "wooden" but it's as if the author has tried a little too hard to make her a villain and instead the result is a stagnant villain with a dysfunctional relationship with Archie and it's puzzling. There's no feeling from her, no "flesh" to her I guess, she seems entirely two dimensional. I don't know what to say about Archie. I don't understand what he's trying to do with Gretchen. On the other hand, it seems he wants to be with her but knows it's wrong but does it anyway yet somehow "covers" it up by trying to recapture her (at least, in my opinion it sure looks that way). It's this rather strange chemistry between these two that I don't quite get and it seems to put a bit of a damper on the book.

    The case with the Senator and the underage teen was interesting, but it just seemed so out of place with the main Gretchen/Archie plot that it looked like it was meant as a page filler for the novel. Thankfully though, the chapters were short so it felt as if you could read through the book quickly and easily.

    Don't get me wrong, the book wasn't so bad. However I thought it could be so much better. The thrilling action bits were good and nearly redeemed the book but it just wasn't enough. I'm really hoping the third one after this will do the job and not be a giant snowball going downhill. The ending was really good and was left in a cliffhanger, but I really hope this relationship/obsession between Archie and Gretchen does somewhat come to a closure, it's just too dysfunctional for me.

    overall, I'm not sure what to say. It was good, yet in so many ways it could have been better. It's a fast read with short chapters so it can be easily breezed through. It's a "must read" though, if you want to get through the Gretchen Lowell series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    Just OK.

    After reading and thoroughly enjoying Heartsick, I was thrilled when Sweetheart was in the Bargain Bin. After finishing Sweetheart, thank goodness it was bargain priced. The story started out good, but there were just too many implausible events that I kept thinking "Aw, come on." (Enough with Archie, die already,or slap some sense into him). --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as Heartsick

    Heartsick was incredible. Chelsea Cain's sophomore novel, Sweetheart just wasn't as good. The characters get dull, the story is predictable, and the ending was disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    not as good as first

    Heartsick was perfect. This was not. It was entertaining and a thriller, but nothing compared to the first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    Misses the heart.

    Well as far as I'm concerned there is know use going on and on about this book. Chelsea Cains first book "Heartsick" was a flat out masterpiece from beginng to end. Now this the second book by Cain "Sweetheart" is a bit flat in places, I had the idea reading it that the auther thought she had to add some crazy plots to the story, and I'm telling you she missed the mark. I'm sure book three is on the way, and all I can say is that I hope Cain get's back to filling the pages with the charters Archie Sheridan, and Gretchen Lowell. I tell you the charter Gretchen Lowell is as bad as they get. It's sure nice keeping up with these to great charters, but getting back to this book I have to say that it din't stack up to the first. The book is still worth your time reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Sweetheart

    Although I thought that Heartsick was a good book, I got a little disapointed with Sweetheart. The plot is good, but the characters are a little strange. There´s very little information about who Gretchen is ( even if that is her name), Archie is a real sick guy ( and I mean sick phisically and mentally) and sometimes I wondered why his wife even gave him a second chance. However, is a good book, not for everyone, but it´s not a keeper for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2