BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sweetheart (Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!

I absoulutely just love this series!! Its a must read suspense!!

posted by TaraLomax on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Irritating!

There have been many, many books...esp. mysteries...that involve police officers who have annoying 'issues', and one wonders how such characters would ever pass psych evals. I've never read anything else by Chelsea Cain (and will probably avoid any other offerings by th...
There have been many, many books...esp. mysteries...that involve police officers who have annoying 'issues', and one wonders how such characters would ever pass psych evals. I've never read anything else by Chelsea Cain (and will probably avoid any other offerings by this author), and only read this book through 'til the end in the hope that the stupid, sex-driven detective and the serial killer would both die horrible deaths!

posted by Anonymous on September 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    I absoulutely just love this series!! Its a must read suspense!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Um wow

    This is the 2nd book where you have another murder that has to do with a story Susan has been working on for a while. And than something else happens and you're like, oh boy, these guys are going to need to take a long nap after this. Especially Henry and Archie and Susan.

    I was going to give this a 4 or 4.5 but then halfway into the book it took an interesting turn that I should have seen coming. But didn't and yet it should of been obvious.

    That's what happens when you stay up to read a little then find you've read one too many chapters. Of course it would be a couldn't put it down kind of book. I'm really liking the series so far.

    The game Archie and Gretchen are playing, oh the tension, the creepy this is so not right kind of tension, what is happening and are you serious. Yet you want to keep reading, wondering what they'll do next.

    Anyway, this was a good sequel and obviously going to start the next book. After an ending like that, yes please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Watch out

    Another great novel by the likes of ms Cain A real heartstopper Second in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    A must read

    So good!! Sick and twisted, but intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Just as with Heartsick, I thought this book was phenomenal! I di

    Just as with Heartsick, I thought this book was phenomenal! I didn't think it was possible to be any more twisted than the first book,
    however, the author has really found her niche in psychological thrillers!

    I think that Chelsea Cain has superb writing abilities and is very thorough and descriptive with her story line, but not so much so that
    the story drags along and becomes too in depth. She knows how to draw a reader in and keep them interested from the first page to
    the last.

    This books helps you get a little more insight into the lives of Archie Sheriden and Gretchen Lowell and maybe helps you better
    understand the twisted reasons behind the whole story.

    Once I started reading this, I couldn't stop, if I had to stop, I couldn't wait to be able to start reading it again! I also can't wait to move
    right along to the third book in this series as book one and two have both been off the charts!

    I listened to the audio version of this book and I thought that the narrator, Carolyn McCormick did a wonderful job of conveying the
    story. Too often, I find myself turned off of a book simply because I didn't care for the narrator of the story, however, that was not even
    close to the case with this book. It was a wonderful and quick easy listen!

    I can't wait to pick up the 3rd book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    buen

    demasiado b bueno

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    AND IT GETS EVEN DARKER!!!!

    I am completely hooked on this series. I started it last week with the first one (as I was interested in her latest in this series that is due out any day now), and as soon as I finished it, I had to have this one.

    Chelsea Cain can really write a very dark thriller. This one I think is darker than the first. Archie's psychosis is getting worse, Gretchen is getting worse with her obsession with Archie, and poor Susan - I just don't know how much longer that girl will live the way she puts herself in danger.

    In the second book of the series, you start off with just a little time passed since the first installment. Ms. Cain does a great job of not letting too much time pass between the first and second story lines.

    The farther I get into this series, the more sucked in I am. The characters are real (real messed up too). Gretchen is what nightmares are made of. Archie is about as messed up a hero as I have ever seen. I am off right now to purchase book three. I can't wait to see what is in store for all of these characters.

    Soooooo happy I gave this author and this series a chance. Can't believe I have missed it before now!!!!! If you like the good twisted thriller mystery novel, this is for you. Several stories tied together in the end.

    LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    This was an amazing read. Even better than the last one. Chelsea Cain's characters are so real. I can't help but feel for all of the characters.... Even Gretchen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A disturbingly gripping look into obsession!!

    Chelsea Cain comes back to the characters from her first novel, Heart Sick, almost directly after it ended. This book seems less like a sequel and more like the next chapter, and I love that. Here we glean more insight into the relationships of the main characters and sink with them. The end of this seems a little more open ended than the first book but it was still fun reader every page. Great stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    great read

    loved this book read it in a day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweetheart made me heartsick

    What a read! Chelsea Cain is my new favorite author. Didn't want to stop reading. Resented my husband for trying to talk to me while I had the nook in my hand.....almost the birth of another victim for Gretchen.

    Chelsea, I hope that you have finished the 3rd installment and that it is at the printers. Waiting, but not patiently.amr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    On the edge of my seat!

    This book, like the first in the series was hot. I couldn't put it down...a one day read. I can't wait to read the next. RUN GRETCHEN RUN! Am I crazy to aid in the escape of an insane serial killer? NOT!!!! (LOL enjoy)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Awesome, but I'm having some deja vu.

    This book series overall is very good. Chelsea keeps the suspense going in Sweetheart by having Gretchen escape. She also gives the readers a glimpse of what Archie is feeling when he sees Gretchen when she's out. These books kind of remind me of the Hannibal series. Gretchen and Archie's relationship is kind of like that of Hannibal and Clarice. I think that's why I like this series. It gives the reader a good storyline of a killer and her obsession with Archie. I haven't read a book series in a while that had the serial killer be a woman. Gretchen just is so creepy, but at the same time interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The "Evil Dead" of thrillers, just keeps coming back and smacking you in the face

    To me this was Cain's best book to date, I have just finished book three and can safely say that the second part is intense, amazing and irresistible, definitely her best effort yet. After surviving his capture by a serial killer, one who also happened to be his object of wanton desires and fantasies, Archie is determined to solve all the open cases with Gretchen's help. The only problem is his secret desire and hunger for being near her. His marriage is in shambles and his psyche is just as shattered, but Archie can't stop taking his painkillers and visiting Gretchen, in this book his life gets worse and worse by each page, I sat reading in bed with my mouth open, saying things out loud, and living through the story. The stress of being stuck between Gretchen and his wife felt like infinite number of tons of pressure on top of Archie's head, and once pushed too far he was ready to spiral in any direction, one not necessarily good. He begins to realize that his plea bargain to keep Gretchen alive is turning back on him, it's no longer about getting the info about missing victims, but about his addiction to the pain pills and the haunting dangerous blonde that has captured his mind, soul and even his libido.

    The reader gets a shaking one in a while, Gretchen is so alluring and mysterious that one forgets what she had done in between these pages, the pops and burst of insane cruelty break the pages and stain them red, we see that Archie is getting lured into a spider trap one that he seems to be entering of his own free will. They way she messed with is mind is pure genius, only a cold sadist could have manipulated a living breathing creature into an entranced shell of a man who used to be a great upholder of the law. Torn between lust and his morals Archie enters deepest corners of human mind and discovers that some things about our ability to choose aren't directed by pretty desires, but primal hunger for something not always decent and not always going in our favor, one moment of ecstasy is worth a gamble of one's life when entranced by a beautiful killer like Gretchen. This was an amazing story, one that I read in bed most of the day and even took it with me into the bath, I couldn't part with it until it was over, and I loved every page. Out of the whole trilogy this was the best effort and one that I will remember the best. For fans of intriguing thrillers that keep one on the edge this is a real beauty.

    - Kasia S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hooked!

    Chelsea has done it again. I can't believe I am so addicted that I read this in one day! Ready to get the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Memerizing!

    After I read the first Gretchen Lowell Book, I could hardly wait for #2- I have to say I became emotionally entwined with the characters and was in suspence until the very last page - on to number 3. Chelsa Cain is superb at creating unforgettable realistic characters with whom the reader becomes attached!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a must read

    if you like heartsick then you really like this book its intense and thrilling makes you wanna read more and not put the book down its that good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    I enjoy reading this author, and I love the charachters in this book...

    You can't help but become angry with Archie, who sometimes seems possessed by Gretchen and the hold she has on him. I can't decide if I want him to kill her....end up with his wife ...or start something with his oh so eager new young friend. I just know that I look forward to many more books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Chelsea Cain does it again

    Sweetheart is the 2nd in the series of 3. I've now read all three books with Heartsick being first and Evil at Heart just coming out a few weeks ago. I had never really taken to reading thrillers, but had the opportunity to help manage a B&N when Heartbreak was coming out and was able to read an advance copy. It was excellent. It came with Chapter 1 on CD and on my way home one night after closing the store (around midnight) I drove myself down the dark back roads as a shortcut home. I popped in the CD and by the time I reached my driveway, I realized my knuckles were white and my hands ached from holding the steering wheel so tightly as I listened to the horrific scenes described. I thought, this is not the book for me, but then when settling in for the night found myself reaching for the book to find out what happended. I knew then I was hooked.

    I came across Sweetheart by shear accident walking thru the store one afternoon (after no longer being an employee, but still very much a huge fan of the store) finding it in the bargin books. How could I pass up $4.98 or the fact that the first book was great, the 2nd just had to be and thankfully I was not disappointed. Chelsea Cain takes these characters to places that one can only hope would never happen in real life, but leaves the reader with vivid visuals as if watching it all happen before your eyes.

    If you have never read Chelsea Cain before or even read a thriller before, take it from a faithful Evanovich/Plum fan, this woman and her ability to create a story will not disappoint. I read book three, Evil at Heart in one day, I couldn't put it down. The worst part of each book is waiting for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Sweetheart

    Excellent thriller. I love this new writer....she has a knack of surprising the reader and just the right time. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6