Customer Reviews for

Sweethearts

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

What I Think About "Sweethearts"

Sweethearts is about a boy adn girl who grow up together. Just like anyother love story you would think that they would end up together. But in this book, Sara Zarr takes a turn on the love story. Jenna used to be the un-popular kid in her old school. But once her Mom g...
Sweethearts is about a boy adn girl who grow up together. Just like anyother love story you would think that they would end up together. But in this book, Sara Zarr takes a turn on the love story. Jenna used to be the un-popular kid in her old school. But once her Mom got married and she moved, she was one of the popular kids in her school. She was no longer fat, and there was nobody to make fun of her. She had the boyfriend that anyone could have wanted. She also had a boyfriend. Her old time friend, Cameron, left her 8 years ago. So when he finally decideds to show up in her life again, that's when her world comes crashing down. Her boyfriend, Ethan, get jelous, and Cameron won't even hang out with her friends or even talk to her that much. Sooner or later he finally decideds that he will hang out with her and her friends. After about half a year or so, he then starts to question why he came back to see Jenna. In the meantime Jenna is falling in love with him. Later Ethan and Jenna brake up and Jenna tells Cameron, while he is sleeping, that she loves him. Then when she wakes up Cameron is gone. And Ethan and Jenna already broke up. So Cameron went back to California to help out his family. There is a lot of baggage in the book that you will have to find out for yourself about Cameron adn his dad, brothers and sisters. That is the reason why he left Jenna. This book is full of love, secrets, lust, friendship, partying, and just typical teenage stuff. I saw this book just sitting on the shelf, picked it up, read the back, and decided to read it. I recommended this book to my friends, and will recommend it to you, too. This is a must read book. Short, ease chapters.

posted by KelliNicole on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth Your Time or Money.

I read the back of 'Sweethearts' and felt that I just HAD to read it. I wish someone had been there to talk me out of it. The whole book's just a bunch of the main character, Jennifer, trying to avoid making choices. "Should I stay with my boyfriend or not?". Then there...
I read the back of 'Sweethearts' and felt that I just HAD to read it. I wish someone had been there to talk me out of it. The whole book's just a bunch of the main character, Jennifer, trying to avoid making choices. "Should I stay with my boyfriend or not?". Then there's her childhood friend who returns out of the blue and she struggles with deciding if she likes him enough to dump her jealous boyfriend. Not to mention that periodically throughout the book there are segments that describe an "incident" that Jennifer and her old friend had with her friend's father. Those segments make it sound like a big, gross, unfortunate, heart-breaking incident, when it just turns out to be a bunch of running, yelling, and threatening. Plus there's Jennifer's never ending self-consciousness that just gets old after about 70 pages. This book did have me going for the majority of it because I wanted to see what Jennifer did with her life, does she start a relationship with an old friend or does she stay with the guy she knows is crazy about her? So when I was reading I didn't mind her quirky personality, the slow pace of the story, the strange rambling monologues she had, or the even stranger habit she had of stealing small items- mainly food- from convenient stores. Really, what killed this book for me was the pathetic ending. It was pointless and it seemed like the author just gave up or rushed to meet a deadline. It definitely wasn't worth the pages it took to get to the ending. While the book isn't a complete waste- since there is some delightful humor swirled in- it wasn't worth the money and time I devoted to reading it.

posted by moviebuff95 on April 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    Not Worth Your Time or Money.

    I read the back of 'Sweethearts' and felt that I just HAD to read it. I wish someone had been there to talk me out of it. The whole book's just a bunch of the main character, Jennifer, trying to avoid making choices. "Should I stay with my boyfriend or not?". Then there's her childhood friend who returns out of the blue and she struggles with deciding if she likes him enough to dump her jealous boyfriend. Not to mention that periodically throughout the book there are segments that describe an "incident" that Jennifer and her old friend had with her friend's father. Those segments make it sound like a big, gross, unfortunate, heart-breaking incident, when it just turns out to be a bunch of running, yelling, and threatening. Plus there's Jennifer's never ending self-consciousness that just gets old after about 70 pages. This book did have me going for the majority of it because I wanted to see what Jennifer did with her life, does she start a relationship with an old friend or does she stay with the guy she knows is crazy about her? So when I was reading I didn't mind her quirky personality, the slow pace of the story, the strange rambling monologues she had, or the even stranger habit she had of stealing small items- mainly food- from convenient stores. Really, what killed this book for me was the pathetic ending. It was pointless and it seemed like the author just gave up or rushed to meet a deadline. It definitely wasn't worth the pages it took to get to the ending. While the book isn't a complete waste- since there is some delightful humor swirled in- it wasn't worth the money and time I devoted to reading it.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read Sweethearts for my book club,  so it wasn't something tha

    I read Sweethearts for my book club,  so it wasn't something that I would have picked out for myself. When I first finished it, my initial thought was that it was a great book, but after discussing it in my book club, I realized that it wasn't all that great at all. There were so many flaws and things that needed to have been further developed, that I was pretty surprised that I had overlooked them at first. Sweethearts wasn't awful or anything like that, but there was some definite room for improvement.




    The main problem with this book was Cameron. He was Jenna's childhood friend, who she thought had died years ago. It turns out that he hadn't died and came back into Jenna's life in the weirdest of ways. He revealed himself in a note. Really? He couldn't have done it any other way? Cameron just had to choose the creepiest and most unsettling of ways to let Jenna know that he was still alive. It was very odd. This had me a little on edge about what Cameron would be like once he made an appearance. He was actually even creepier than his note.




    As my book club agreed, he was kind of a stalker. He had been following Jenna for years, knowing just about everything that there was to know. Mainly, the most important information: her name after she changed it, her school, her address, her location. This didn't sound right at all to me. The author briefly touched upon how he found all of this information, but I thought that it sounded a little farfetched... he just search for her online and there she was? I don't know, it sounds like he did a great deal of digging to find all of that information.




    Not only was Cameron a stalker, which would have been enough for me, but his personality was the craziest thing. He was meant to be mysterious and troubled due to his difficult childhood, but I just don't think it was done exactly right. Cameron didn't really fit well into these categories. The author tried to create that type of character, but Cameron just came off as being rude, paranoid, and creepy.




    Jenna and her family continuously tried to justify his erratic behavior and his sudden disappearances by blaming it all on his upbringing, which I didn't think was fair to do. He was practically an adult, who was also responsible for himself. Cameron was no longer tied to the "difficult childhood" excuse.




    Jenna was another issue. She kept having tiny flashbacks of some horrible thing that had happened to her and Cameron when they were children, it involved Cameron's abusive dad so I expected some awful things. Nothing happened. Well, nothing that would have been as traumatic for her as she made it seem. She changed her whole personality, life, name, everything because she was "traumatized" by what happened and losing Cameron. What aggravated me about this was that she had been this new person for about 4 years and she still felt like she was pretending. After 4 years I wouldn't think that she would feel like she wasn't being herself. I would assume that some of her true personality cracked through that and she was kind of a mix of both, so I just didn't like that whole "fake" Jenna thing.




    What I did like about this book was the story line. I liked what was happening, though I wasn't too fond of the characters. I liked the way that the story unfolded, though there were scenes that I could have done without. I was very interested in Cameron's home life, though little was discussed. I kept expecting more details and more information that would help me connect to Cameron and Jenna, but it just wasn't there. I think that if I had connected to the characters I definitely would have enjoyed this a lot more than I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK WAS OK IT WAS NOT EXELENT I READ BETTER

    when i bought this book i was so exisited to read it the title looked so cute and the description of the book on the back sounded nice to.im not a big fan of the characters jenna is always overly emotionel and kind of anoying.and camrin was just (ok) like he dose not realy talk much and he ditches jenna.but the person that is realy anoying is ethan he is realy rude to camerin.i would not read this book again.maybe its just no my style .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    BLAND

    Though many see this book as a growing experience written to life.... it was BORING there was absolutely no action, not much of a plot and i was really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1