Customer Reviews for

Sweethearts

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

What I Think About "Sweethearts"

Sweethearts is about a boy adn girl who grow up together. Just like anyother love story you would think that they would end up together. But in this book, Sara Zarr takes a turn on the love story. Jenna used to be the un-popular kid in her old school. But once her Mom g...
Sweethearts is about a boy adn girl who grow up together. Just like anyother love story you would think that they would end up together. But in this book, Sara Zarr takes a turn on the love story. Jenna used to be the un-popular kid in her old school. But once her Mom got married and she moved, she was one of the popular kids in her school. She was no longer fat, and there was nobody to make fun of her. She had the boyfriend that anyone could have wanted. She also had a boyfriend. Her old time friend, Cameron, left her 8 years ago. So when he finally decideds to show up in her life again, that's when her world comes crashing down. Her boyfriend, Ethan, get jelous, and Cameron won't even hang out with her friends or even talk to her that much. Sooner or later he finally decideds that he will hang out with her and her friends. After about half a year or so, he then starts to question why he came back to see Jenna. In the meantime Jenna is falling in love with him. Later Ethan and Jenna brake up and Jenna tells Cameron, while he is sleeping, that she loves him. Then when she wakes up Cameron is gone. And Ethan and Jenna already broke up. So Cameron went back to California to help out his family. There is a lot of baggage in the book that you will have to find out for yourself about Cameron adn his dad, brothers and sisters. That is the reason why he left Jenna. This book is full of love, secrets, lust, friendship, partying, and just typical teenage stuff. I saw this book just sitting on the shelf, picked it up, read the back, and decided to read it. I recommended this book to my friends, and will recommend it to you, too. This is a must read book. Short, ease chapters.

posted by KelliNicole on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth Your Time or Money.

I read the back of 'Sweethearts' and felt that I just HAD to read it. I wish someone had been there to talk me out of it. The whole book's just a bunch of the main character, Jennifer, trying to avoid making choices. "Should I stay with my boyfriend or not?". Then there...
I read the back of 'Sweethearts' and felt that I just HAD to read it. I wish someone had been there to talk me out of it. The whole book's just a bunch of the main character, Jennifer, trying to avoid making choices. "Should I stay with my boyfriend or not?". Then there's her childhood friend who returns out of the blue and she struggles with deciding if she likes him enough to dump her jealous boyfriend. Not to mention that periodically throughout the book there are segments that describe an "incident" that Jennifer and her old friend had with her friend's father. Those segments make it sound like a big, gross, unfortunate, heart-breaking incident, when it just turns out to be a bunch of running, yelling, and threatening. Plus there's Jennifer's never ending self-consciousness that just gets old after about 70 pages. This book did have me going for the majority of it because I wanted to see what Jennifer did with her life, does she start a relationship with an old friend or does she stay with the guy she knows is crazy about her? So when I was reading I didn't mind her quirky personality, the slow pace of the story, the strange rambling monologues she had, or the even stranger habit she had of stealing small items- mainly food- from convenient stores. Really, what killed this book for me was the pathetic ending. It was pointless and it seemed like the author just gave up or rushed to meet a deadline. It definitely wasn't worth the pages it took to get to the ending. While the book isn't a complete waste- since there is some delightful humor swirled in- it wasn't worth the money and time I devoted to reading it.

posted by moviebuff95 on April 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Aww

    This book made me cry i wish the endng was different

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Cute

    I liked how the author really got into the feelings of the main characters. The book was great, althojght it was short and i hated the ending. Cameron and Jenna didnt even like date at any time throughout the book which was a letdown. But its cute and fun, and A greay read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a pretty awesome book =]

    It's really emotional, and great, and its story line is TOTALLY touching!! i loved it! the charcters are great, and the whole thing is definitely, DEFINITELY unforgettable!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    If you like a good Hollywood ending, then you may want to skip t

    If you like a good Hollywood ending, then you may want to skip this book. I’ll just toss that out in the open right now, so you can either lay down your hand or continue to play. Aside from the true-to-life ending, it was hard not to get caught up in SWEETHEARTS and really get behind both Jenna and Cameron.

    I bounded through the pages like a racehorse galloping toward the Kentucky Derby finish line. To say this is a quick read might be a bit of an understatement, but it’s certainly darker than the typical light read.

    The structure of the novel did seem a bit broken and disjointed at times, but that was true of the characters themselves. Broken relationships, broken promises, and broken personas seemed to fill this smattering of pages. Overall, though, this was certainly an enjoyable read.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is a well written, bittersweet story. Don't forget your tissues.....you'll need them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    The book sweethearts is a book about a boy and girl who grow up

    The book sweethearts is a book about a boy and girl who grow up togather
    , i thought this would be like anyother book where the boy and girl
    ended up togather but not exactly. Jenna was the unpopular girl in her
    old school but her Mom then gets married and moves, where Jenna is now
    popular in her new school. One of the biggest factors ; her being fat
    was no longer there , and there were new people that didn't make fun of
    her. She now had a boyfriend that everyone would have killed to date.
    Her old friend, Cameron, hasen't seen her in 8 years (there is alot that
    goes on with cameron with his dad at his house with his brothers and
    sisters). Jenna's life is finally all set, when cameron pops up into her
    senior class. Her current boyfriend ;Ethan , gets extreamly jeleous
    while Cameron doesn't even come around Jenna and her friends. As time
    passes he starts to question why he even came back to see Jenna while
    Jenna is falling head over heels for him. Ethan and Jenna break up and
    Jenna tells cameron (while he is sleeping) that shes in love with him
    and when she wakes up he is gone. Cameron then goes back home to
    california to help his family. There's too much detail to go into about
    Cameron's home life that im going to let you read to findout. Because of
    camerons home life is the reason why he left Jenna. It is a great book ,
    really simple flowy chapters. It is full of usual teenage stuff; love,
    friendship, partying,ect.) I would definitly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Intriguing, Heartwarming, and Eye Opening (Contains Spoilers)

    In Sara Zarr's Sweethearts, Jennifer Harris is an outcast- the 'ugly, fat, poor girl' who sits alone everyday at lunch. It isn't until she meets Cameron Quick that she starts to accept herself for who she is; Cameron is the only one that truly knows her and "loves her anyway." But when Cameron suddenly disappears after a traumatic event, she is left with just the memories of her only friend as she is left all alone. Now in high school, Jennifer is now Jenna. Jenna has a new body, new clothes, friends, and a boyfriend. She lives the life she always wished for, until Cameron Quick comes back. They are both faced with the reality of their memories and "Jenna" must deal with her two lives- the one of her past, and the one she has made for herself.
    What I loved about Zarr's writing is that it all seemed very real to me. The way she portrayed Jenna's inner conflict was something I could relate to myself- Choosing between your childhood and you 'new life' is something I've had to do many times. Her writing style is also very refreshing and simple, which is hard to do with such a complicated and twisted plot as this. The way Zarr explained the unbreakable and unexplainable bond between Jenna and Cameron intrigued me and I could not stop reading to find out what would happen between the two.
    This leads me to the one thing I didn't like about Sweethearts: the ending. At the end, Cameron leaves yet again without saying goodbye, in my opinion leaving Jenna with no more closure than before. As she says in the book, "there will always be unfinished business between us," but all she learned from Cameron's visit was where he went when he disappeared. Though that was the biggest aspect of her worry (not knowing where he went) I feel like the ending was rushed and could have provided some more closure as to how Jenna continued her life/ how his visit impacted her on a larger scale other than the relief of knowing he wasn't dead.
    There are countless themes and messages in this story. The main thing I took away from it was that you can never truly forget or abandon who you truly are. Your past will always come back to you in some way. I think Cameron's visit gave Jenna a knowledge that someone out there still did love her no matter what, and so she was more able to bring her true self out of hiding and into her new life. Zarr's story also showed that no matter where you come from or what you've been through, you can always make your life better for yourself. Though Jenna's transformation might have been for the wrong reasons, (to completely forget Cameron) it was healthy because she learned not to rely solely on one person as she had relied on Cameron, and she grew in the process.
    Overall, Sweethearts is a fantastic read. It is beautiful story about never forgetting your past and instead letting it help you grow as an individual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    B E A U T I F U L

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    'Quick' Read ;D SPOILERS

    I finished this book about two hours ago. It took me less than a day to finish it and was very entertaining to say the least. The only thing that bothered me was how distant Cameron felt when he spoke with Jenna; Like I was expecting throughout the whole book "Are they going to kiss?!" Buuut it seems they didn't really feel that type of love for each other. The way Jenna speaks of Cameron and her signs of protectiveness and jealousy when her friend, Katy, spoke of him made you believe they had a little something-something going on. Cameron apparently came all the way from California to see her, right? And yet he constantly disappears, spends two months in her area without talking to her, and doesn't even explain his feelings toward her clear enough. The closest thing you get to his emotions is when he cries silently in her arms and they fall asleep. Jenna's boyfriend and friends annoyed me, to be honest, discluding Steph. One more thing I hate is that after barely spending time with Jenna, after not have seeing her for eight years, he just leaves without a goodbye, just like he did before.
    I believe that all of this together is almost irritating, lol, but also very smart of Sarah Zarr. She makes you yearn more and more of Cameron and you don't seem to ever get enough of him. Hes a mysterious, heartbreaking, gorgeous boy with a good heart and courageous mind. You can tell, though hes cowardly when it comes to showing his emotions fully, that he truly cares for Jenna.
    I'd recommend this to anyone who's looking for a good life-lesson teaching story. The ending brought some tears in my eyes. Its worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet & sad

    This is a quick read I finished it in one night. It left me feeling sad & a little empty which is weird because it ended on a good note I guess. The story is very realistic. It's sad & sweet. The story of a first love coming back & turning your world around. I wish so much for the two main characters. They lost so many years together & the time they had together when Cameron came back was so short. I don't know if I'd actually recommend this book but if you want a qucik read that has a lot of emotion & unfinished business than this is your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Your Typical Love Story

    I thought I would absolutely love Sweethearts, but proved myself wrong. I can give it kudus to the story line and the characters, but the wording didn't thrill me any. At intense parts, the wording was a little poor and made me lose some interest. I would recommend this book to my friends only because we have different tastes in literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Leaving A Mark....

    Wow, when i first got this book i was skeptical to read it cuz' I was afraid it was gonna be boring. Well, this book proved me wrong, it was excellent and beautifully written. I loved every part of it. Its very deep and people can relate and believe its you thats going thru this. I was just a little dissapointded at the end because it wasent really a happy ending type of book. But, overall GREAT! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    GREAT BOOK!

    this was a great book. in the first couple of chapters i was already hooked! deffinetly a must read !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Sweethearts

    Cameron is so sweet. I really adored him as well as the book. I recommende it to anyone and everyone because it really makes you think of how your life is compared to others. The last page was by far my favorite part. I must say the ending was so sad and my heart went out to both Cameron and Jennifer. If only they told eachother how they truly felt in the end. If only... 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3