Customer Reviews for

Sweethearts

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

What I Think About "Sweethearts"

Sweethearts is about a boy adn girl who grow up together. Just like anyother love story you would think that they would end up together. But in this book, Sara Zarr takes a turn on the love story. Jenna used to be the un-popular kid in her old school. But once her Mom g...
Sweethearts is about a boy adn girl who grow up together. Just like anyother love story you would think that they would end up together. But in this book, Sara Zarr takes a turn on the love story. Jenna used to be the un-popular kid in her old school. But once her Mom got married and she moved, she was one of the popular kids in her school. She was no longer fat, and there was nobody to make fun of her. She had the boyfriend that anyone could have wanted. She also had a boyfriend. Her old time friend, Cameron, left her 8 years ago. So when he finally decideds to show up in her life again, that's when her world comes crashing down. Her boyfriend, Ethan, get jelous, and Cameron won't even hang out with her friends or even talk to her that much. Sooner or later he finally decideds that he will hang out with her and her friends. After about half a year or so, he then starts to question why he came back to see Jenna. In the meantime Jenna is falling in love with him. Later Ethan and Jenna brake up and Jenna tells Cameron, while he is sleeping, that she loves him. Then when she wakes up Cameron is gone. And Ethan and Jenna already broke up. So Cameron went back to California to help out his family. There is a lot of baggage in the book that you will have to find out for yourself about Cameron adn his dad, brothers and sisters. That is the reason why he left Jenna. This book is full of love, secrets, lust, friendship, partying, and just typical teenage stuff. I saw this book just sitting on the shelf, picked it up, read the back, and decided to read it. I recommended this book to my friends, and will recommend it to you, too. This is a must read book. Short, ease chapters.

posted by KelliNicole on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth Your Time or Money.

I read the back of 'Sweethearts' and felt that I just HAD to read it. I wish someone had been there to talk me out of it. The whole book's just a bunch of the main character, Jennifer, trying to avoid making choices. "Should I stay with my boyfriend or not?". Then there...
I read the back of 'Sweethearts' and felt that I just HAD to read it. I wish someone had been there to talk me out of it. The whole book's just a bunch of the main character, Jennifer, trying to avoid making choices. "Should I stay with my boyfriend or not?". Then there's her childhood friend who returns out of the blue and she struggles with deciding if she likes him enough to dump her jealous boyfriend. Not to mention that periodically throughout the book there are segments that describe an "incident" that Jennifer and her old friend had with her friend's father. Those segments make it sound like a big, gross, unfortunate, heart-breaking incident, when it just turns out to be a bunch of running, yelling, and threatening. Plus there's Jennifer's never ending self-consciousness that just gets old after about 70 pages. This book did have me going for the majority of it because I wanted to see what Jennifer did with her life, does she start a relationship with an old friend or does she stay with the guy she knows is crazy about her? So when I was reading I didn't mind her quirky personality, the slow pace of the story, the strange rambling monologues she had, or the even stranger habit she had of stealing small items- mainly food- from convenient stores. Really, what killed this book for me was the pathetic ending. It was pointless and it seemed like the author just gave up or rushed to meet a deadline. It definitely wasn't worth the pages it took to get to the ending. While the book isn't a complete waste- since there is some delightful humor swirled in- it wasn't worth the money and time I devoted to reading it.

posted by moviebuff95 on April 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What I Think About "Sweethearts"

    Sweethearts is about a boy adn girl who grow up together. Just like anyother love story you would think that they would end up together. But in this book, Sara Zarr takes a turn on the love story. Jenna used to be the un-popular kid in her old school. But once her Mom got married and she moved, she was one of the popular kids in her school. She was no longer fat, and there was nobody to make fun of her. She had the boyfriend that anyone could have wanted. She also had a boyfriend. Her old time friend, Cameron, left her 8 years ago. So when he finally decideds to show up in her life again, that's when her world comes crashing down. Her boyfriend, Ethan, get jelous, and Cameron won't even hang out with her friends or even talk to her that much. Sooner or later he finally decideds that he will hang out with her and her friends. After about half a year or so, he then starts to question why he came back to see Jenna. In the meantime Jenna is falling in love with him. Later Ethan and Jenna brake up and Jenna tells Cameron, while he is sleeping, that she loves him. Then when she wakes up Cameron is gone. And Ethan and Jenna already broke up. So Cameron went back to California to help out his family. There is a lot of baggage in the book that you will have to find out for yourself about Cameron adn his dad, brothers and sisters. That is the reason why he left Jenna. This book is full of love, secrets, lust, friendship, partying, and just typical teenage stuff. I saw this book just sitting on the shelf, picked it up, read the back, and decided to read it. I recommended this book to my friends, and will recommend it to you, too. This is a must read book. Short, ease chapters.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Its a thin/medium book

    My heart brokee at the end. If i where her, i would go wherever he went. I really cryied at the end. I couldnt help it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow...

    This was one of the most beautiful books I have ever read. Its really deep and compelling and emotional. Its so amazing how these two characters find their deep friendship, that helped them get through so much once again. I recommaned this to everyone because it is amazingly great.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    perfect realistic book

    this book was amazing but i cant help wondering is there going to be another book to follow?????????? i hope so!!! this book was soooo good that it made me cry yes cry! this is a must read book go out there and buy it then read it and cry all you want! :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    cuuteeee

    this is such a cute story. it made me cry, and its so sad how the boy has to leave again!! i wanted them to be to gether forever, like it should have been. Not exactly the happy ending i was looking for. :/ still really good though (:

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Anticlimatical to the extreme, and thoroughly enjoyable with no doubt!!

    Amazingly written and and agonizingly heart-wrenching in a way that leaves you teary eyed and smiling for a reason you can't seem to relate with anything that concluded the book... except maybe hope. <BR/> This book is not at all hard to get into, extremely hard tpo put down, and most difficult to remember that it is simply a story. It drags you in- no wait, you come willingly- and you follow to the end. There are parts where you gasp or drop the book or want to scream and throw the thing across the room... It also makes you smile so brightly and sincerely at the events that only an alternate reality could produce. <BR/> The characters are created wonderfully and possess details that make them so real and individual that you feel you know them completely and even find yourself predicting the next line and enjoying the naturality of their personalities.<BR/> Anyhow... Lastly, I say that as for happy endings, it depends how far your understanding of happiness goes; be prepared for an extreme anticlimax.<BR/><BR/> even now, so long after having read the story, thinking about it almost puts me in a calm, thoughtful state. Fragile and filled with consideration... This book REALLY NEVER leaves you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marta Morrison for TeensReadToo.com

    I enjoyed this book. SWEETHEARTS is a character-driven novel where there isn't much action but a big emotional journey with quite a kick. <BR/><BR/>Jennifer Harris is a social outcast. She is fat and the other girls in third grade are very mean. She eats lunch alone until the day that she decides to make Cameron Quick her friend. After that, she and Cameron are always together, both of them outcasts. <BR/><BR/>Then, one day Cameron disappears, and the other kids tell her that he is dead. <BR/><BR/>The book then forwards on to present day and Jennifer has recreated herself. She is pretty, popular, has a cute boyfriend, and has changed her name to Jenna. She is a senior but she feels like she is just acting a part. It takes a lot of energy to be the girl that she is. <BR/><BR/>Enter Cameron Quick -- who she thought was dead. He reenters her life and the past comes flooding back in big waves. They reconnect and discover what real love is all about. I liked the fact that this relationship between Cameron and Jennifer was real but not sexual. In fact, when she does have sex with her boyfriend she feels unconnected to him. This <BR/>love is not about sex but about experiences that will live within you for a lifetime. It rushes in and takes over. <BR/><BR/>The characters of the story were real and you truly wanted to be their friends. I especially liked Jennifer's dad. He was someone that I wish I could talk with for hours. The book is also one that doesn't have a definitive ending. I kept thinking up fun endings for days afterwards.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    loved it

    This book was awesome. The story was very realistic and touching. I was surprised at the end that Cameron and Jenna never went back to his house. But I would defiantly recommend this to anyone who loves to read unforgettable,emotional, and beautifully written books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is a very unforgettable book

    Sara Zarr's Sweethearts is a heartwarming book the story of the two teens that have romantically reunited, uncover the teens past of bully's tragic memories and realizing who they are. This is a good book for people that like an adventure and some romance along the way!

    When young Cameron mysteriously dies in a car crash, that's when Jennifer Harris learns that she will never be able to live with herself, so she changes her name to Jenna Vaughn, starts a new school and makes new friends! But when she realizes that Cameron was never dead, her last year in high school becomes her worst nightmare. She starts to become more like Jennifer Harris her old self. In this book young Jennifer will never be the same she will have to change her name and even move to a different school if she ever wants to fit in.


    Between her boyfriend, friends, her overloading schoolwork and Cameron, Jenna finds herself realizing who she is and never was!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    AMAZINGLY GOOD!!!

    This is definitely a great book! One of my favorites. The authors ability to connect to the reader is amazing. It can get a little slow, but still keeps your interest. It was one of the most heart-touching books ever. A must read for everyone!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    One of the Most Beautiful Stories Ever Written

    As a child, Jennifer Harris was a social outcast. She was nicknamed the Fattifier, because she was chubby, and made fun of for her lisp. Her only friend was another outcast named Cameron Quirk. They were always there for each other, and Cameron made everything bearable for Jennifer. And when he suddenly leaves without even saying goodbye, Jennifer is devastated. She thinks that he is dead, and no one tells her otherwise. Now Jennifer Harris is Jenna Vaughn. Her mom got married and Jennifer changed her name and her personality. She's got friends, a first boyfriend, and a loving family, all that she could ever want. But she can never forget Cameron, and memories of him haunt her constantly. So when Cameron just shows up one day at school, everything is changed for her. Throughout the story, Jenna has flashbacks to when she was Jennifer. And Jenna is not quite sure if she likes who she is now, and not sure if she wants to become Jennifer again. When Cameron was her best friend, she could be anyone she wanted to be, but as Jenna, her whole life seems to be a lie. Sweethearts was a beautiful story about how the strongest bonds of friendship can span any distance or amount of time. It was one of the saddest and most romantic books I have read in a long time, and it made me cry. It was filled with such raw emotion that I felt I was inside Jenna's head, living her life with her. And while the ending isn't perfect, it is filled with contentment and hope. I highly recommend Sweethearts to everyone, especially girls who can't let go of their childhood sweethearts. It was a beautiful story, and I am glad I took the time to read this incredible story. I hope all of you get to read it too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    OMG I LOVED IT!!!!!!!

    Ok i dont know what to say.....this book was the best thing that i ever read!! like some other people said before it just sticks with you...i hope this book will be with me forever! And i recommed it to my friend Rachel. I hope it speaks to you about letting go of the past and moving on with the future!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    T

    Walks in*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Loved!

    I wish that the ending was different, but this book was just so sweet and adorable and something I would recommend for younger teens. I read it so msny times, it just seems to get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Wow

    I loved it.
    It was awesone until it ended!!!:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Falcon

    Welcome. As a kit I will train you to become evil... I am not your mother. I will notifie you when lessons begin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    I want to read

    All the reveiws r awesome and i think this will bre a great book! I wasnt sure at first but it sounds great for my ageso lets see wut hapens in this book!!!!!!!!!!! = )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Love it!

    Oh my goodness. I absolutely love this book. At the end of the book I was so frustrated but I still cried because it was really sad in my point of view. The only reason it was frustrating was because it didnt end the way I wanted it to. This book is what got me into sappy romance books. I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Heartwarming

    I read this book in two days cause it was so interesting. I love tjese kind of books and hope to see more by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Great book!!

    The ending almost made me cry though. Very dissapointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7