Customer Reviews for

The Sweethearts' Knitting Club (Twilight, Texas Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

About the knitting...

As a romance it was a nice read, although Jessie had more patience with Flynn than I would have. I just want my fellow knitters to know that it really isn't about the knitting. Knitting is more used as the prime example of Flynn living her life for others instead of her...
As a romance it was a nice read, although Jessie had more patience with Flynn than I would have. I just want my fellow knitters to know that it really isn't about the knitting. Knitting is more used as the prime example of Flynn living her life for others instead of herself.

posted by GalvanicGirl on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

62 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Greatly disappointing

Interesting characters, but I was surprised at the explicit sex which none of the reviews mentioned. Some indication of the sexual descriptions would have kept me from buying this book that gained nothing from all the sexual descriptions.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Greatly disappointing

    Interesting characters, but I was surprised at the explicit sex which none of the reviews mentioned. Some indication of the sexual descriptions would have kept me from buying this book that gained nothing from all the sexual descriptions.

    62 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Don't prefer the graphic writing style

    The story line was interesting and had a good flow. I was so disappointed by the graphic descriptions of sexual scenes as I would never buy or read a book knowing those were included. Not expected when you select a book about a knitting club. Wish there was a way to identify that sort of content. Felt like I was misled by the title/grouping. Disgusting.

    37 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Trite sex novel

    I've never had the urge to write a review, but with this book I felt the need. The plot is trivial and the sex is similar to a cheap sex novel. It's full of cliches and sexual innuendoes Save your time and money.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    I Give Up

    After reading 40 pages in this book I finally admit defeat. The author has introduced nearly a dozen characters and everyone of them has a cloud hanging over their head. And point of fact none of the characters are particularly likable. The lead character Flynn is just a bit more likable than the rest, poor tortured soul that she is. There doesn't seem to be one person in this whole make believe town that is happy. Seriously, I read to be entertained and this book is far from that. Also a bit of language here and there which I ignored until the F bomb was dropped. Believe it or not some of us do not use this word and find it objectionable in our entertainment. Not a light hearted story. I'm deleting this one.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    About the knitting...

    As a romance it was a nice read, although Jessie had more patience with Flynn than I would have. I just want my fellow knitters to know that it really isn't about the knitting. Knitting is more used as the prime example of Flynn living her life for others instead of herself.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    A bit disappointed!

    I too was disappointed by the explicit sex!! Totally unnecessary. The story line was cute but some of the writing seemed quite childish. Not sure if I want to read any more of Lori's books now.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a sweet heart of a contemporary romance

    The members of the Sweethearts' Knitting Club reside in Twilight, Texas. All of the knitters married their high school sweetheart except for Flynn MacGregor who has been engaged to the town sheriff Beau Trainer but is not ready to marry him. Her high school sweetheart Jesse Calloway spent a decade behind bars so she has no interest in following the knitting club crowd although she still loves him.

    Just released from prison Jesse has come home to Twilight. He wants his beloved Flynn at his side, but besides seeing the sheriff and the encouragement of everyone to stay with Beau, she is too busy taking care of everyone else. She is more a prisoner than he was, but can he liberate his Flynn to marry him.

    This is a sweet heart contemporary romance that fans will enjoy as Flynn must decide between the bad boy who heats her blood and the prime sheriff who leaves her temperature at 98.6. The story line is character driven with strong leads and super support. Fans will enjoy a stop in Twilight, Texas home of second chance in love for former high school sweethearts.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoyed this book too much!

    I have been in a reading frenzy the past week and I must say that this book is the best yet! If you loved the show, "Gilmore Girls" then this book is a must. :)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing love story about first loves....

    Wow- I just read this book in one day! This book really tugs at your heart! Its a love story you will enjoy and never forget and it makes you remember your first love...... :)... I hope theres a sequel!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    This story was a real page turner. Jesse was delicious, Flynn so understanable. I can't wait for the second book in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Sweethearts Knitting Club **a must read**

    This was a wonderful book that I read in one day.
    For ten years a girl named Flynn has pined away for a boy she feel in love with in High School. The boy she was dating and was her "high school sweetheart" was jealous. To get Jesse out of the picture, he goes to jail for a crime he did not commit set up by Beau.
    Ten years later, Jesse comes back to town to set things right and to win back the girl of his dreams.
    Their story takes a lot of twist and turns and keeps you interested. It is a must read. The ending is great!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Gag. Stop. Find another book.

    Utterly predictable. Far-fetched and saccharine.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    Loved reading this and will continue with the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Not bad

    Not a bad read but not good enough to make me want to purchase the others in the series.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    recommended

    was a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Okay as a beach read

    Felt predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Loved this one. A feel good story

    I really enjoy books that show women supporting others thru thick and thin. This is one of the storys you can sit and read and just feel good knowing that people still support each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Beau is a rat!

    I was so disappointed at the end! What happened to Beau at the end? The author should have told us what punishment he and his father should have gotten for planting false evidence on jesse. The ending left me hanging!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2015

    I didn't appreciate the explicit sex portions.  The story was ni

    I didn't appreciate the explicit sex portions.  The story was nice without it.  The  picture was misleading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Fun, easy beach read

    Predictable plot but a quick beach read or easy read for those sleepless nights. Biggest complaint is the overuse of the word "splayed." Use a thesaurus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10