Customer Reviews for

Sweetly

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is truly a new twist to a fairy tale

Reviewed by Rita G. for Readers Favorite


"Sweetly" by Jackson Pearce offers readers a new twist on an old fairy tale. Things are not always what they seem. The woman living in the sweet house turns out to be a dangerous character.

Ansel and Gretchen's home lif...
Reviewed by Rita G. for Readers Favorite


"Sweetly" by Jackson Pearce offers readers a new twist on an old fairy tale. Things are not always what they seem. The woman living in the sweet house turns out to be a dangerous character.

Ansel and Gretchen's home life was filled with a lot of unhappiness. They both wanted to start a new life and left home. Unfortunately, you cannot run away from all of your problems. When they were young they walked in the woods and something very bad got their sister. She was never found. They believe it was the witch. As they grew up they avoided her name, never to mention it again. When Gretchen turned eighteen their wicked step mother threw them out of the house. That was the start of their adventure.

They arrived in the small town of Live Oak, South Carolina, with their car trouble and out of money. Sophia, the candy maker takes them in and the pain of their past begins to fade. Ansel finds himself falling in love with the beautiful candy maker and Gretchen meets Samuel who wins her heart. Secrets surround Sophia, the forest and the missing girls. Will Gretchen be the next?

The cover of this book fits it perfectly. It made me want to pick up this book and open the cover. From the moment I picked up this book I was mesmerized. I could not lay it down and read through the night. I was so wrapped up in the story I felt as if I knew Gretchen and really cared about what would happen to her. This is truly a new twist to a fairy tale. I would love to read the whole series.

posted by ReadersFavorite-Reviews on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Delicious Story for all ages

I picked up Sweetly because my teenage niece was interested in reading it. I completely devoured the book myself! The different ways that an author can twist folklore into something new, something modern, has always been an interest of mine. And this book is definit...
I picked up Sweetly because my teenage niece was interested in reading it. I completely devoured the book myself! The different ways that an author can twist folklore into something new, something modern, has always been an interest of mine. And this book is definitely not another retold Cinderella! The lesser glamorized Hansel & Gretel story is updated and wonderfully intertwined with some more sinister folklore which makes for a great story. The author’s ability to tell a story that draws the reader into this new, yet familiar world makes for a wonderful read! Sprinkled with bits of philosophy, the mystery surrounding the disappearance of Ansel & Gretchen’s sister quickly consumed my mind as it consumed Gretchen’s heart. My own desire to love and fear the candy lady waxed and waned right along with Gretchen. Who is Sophia really? This lady who always has everyone’s favorite sweet on hand, whose laugh could grow a garden, who suddenly disappears to some dark part of her mind where no one can go and then returns with a smile and a lemon drop? Gretchen’s journey from a frightened little girl under her brother’s thumb to the brave young woman suddenly protecting them both creates an empathetic character to be trusted and admired. Flavored with twists and turns around every page and a dash of romance, this story is, in itself, a delightful treat!

posted by Princesse416 on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    This is truly a new twist to a fairy tale

    Reviewed by Rita G. for Readers Favorite


    "Sweetly" by Jackson Pearce offers readers a new twist on an old fairy tale. Things are not always what they seem. The woman living in the sweet house turns out to be a dangerous character.

    Ansel and Gretchen's home life was filled with a lot of unhappiness. They both wanted to start a new life and left home. Unfortunately, you cannot run away from all of your problems. When they were young they walked in the woods and something very bad got their sister. She was never found. They believe it was the witch. As they grew up they avoided her name, never to mention it again. When Gretchen turned eighteen their wicked step mother threw them out of the house. That was the start of their adventure.

    They arrived in the small town of Live Oak, South Carolina, with their car trouble and out of money. Sophia, the candy maker takes them in and the pain of their past begins to fade. Ansel finds himself falling in love with the beautiful candy maker and Gretchen meets Samuel who wins her heart. Secrets surround Sophia, the forest and the missing girls. Will Gretchen be the next?

    The cover of this book fits it perfectly. It made me want to pick up this book and open the cover. From the moment I picked up this book I was mesmerized. I could not lay it down and read through the night. I was so wrapped up in the story I felt as if I knew Gretchen and really cared about what would happen to her. This is truly a new twist to a fairy tale. I would love to read the whole series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo

    In SISTERS RED, Jackson Pearce put a new twist on the story of Little Red Riding Hood. This time, she is taking on Hansel and Gretel. I was extremely excited when I saw this ARC at a booth at the NCTE Conference and quickly grabbed it up when I got the chance. Now, I will start out by saying that SISTERS RED was my favorite book from 2010, so SWEETLY had a lot to live up to. Gretchen and Ansel are on their own. Being kicked out of their house by their stepmother after the death of their father has left them homeless, alone, and penniless. They travel as far as they can until their car breaks down in a small town called Live Oak in South Carolina. With no way to pay for the repairs to their car, they are left with little choice but to take what work they can find. Ansel finds work as a handyman for the local chocolatier, a girl named Sophia. They soon find out that people don't like Sophia and consider her to be a danger to the community. Every year, Sophia has a Chocolate Festival. Young girls in the community hope for an invitation, but only the "right" girls get one. The community suspects Sophia of evil doings, because every year after the festival a couple of girls disappear - never to be heard from again. As Gretchen gets to know Sophia while she helps her make candy, she learns some things that make her wonder what is really going on in Sophia's life and with the missing girls. When Gretchen meets Samuel, things start to fall into place. She begins to take action and gain control of her life. Will she be able to save herself and the girls of Live Oak from the monsters in the woods? Unfortunately, SWEETLY didn't grab me like SISTERS RED did. While set in the same world as the first book, this one didn't feel as intense. I didn't fall in love with any of the characters like I did with Scarlet, Rosie, and Silas. However, I'll still eagerly read the next one Pearce writes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I AM NOT ABLE TO DESCRIBE HOW MUCH I LOVE IT!

    i loved, loved LOVED Sweetly so much!! like Sisters Red, I was sad finishing it because i didn't want it to end. Jackson Pearce is a phenomenal writer and i cannot wait until Fathomless, the next companion book of Sisters Red to come out next August! (2012) this book was creepy, adventurous and romantic at the same time!! the reader could really feel how Gretchen was feeling. you could even feel how the other characters were feeling even though Gretchen was telling the story- that's how amazing Pearce's writing is! i am counting down the days until Fathomless... i'll be driving my family nuts!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    ONE OF MY TOP 5 FAVORITE BOOKS EVER - AND MY FAVORITE OF PEARCE'S!

    I was so lucky to get an ARC of "Sweetly" by Jackson Pearce. I have always loved Jackson Pearce, even before her first book, "As You Wish", was released. I read AYW in one day and read "Sisters Red" rather quickly, so I had high expectations for this book. I was not disappointed. "Sweetly" was one of the best books I have read. I like that there are similarities between SR and S, beyond the fact that they are fairy-tale spin offs. There is one sibling that is able to move on from tradgedy and live their own life, the other sibling is unable to do so and has to continue to do something. Personally, I would pick "Sweetly" over SR. It may just be because "Sweetly" had more romance in it, but I loved this story. I couldn't put it down. I found myself saying "I'll just read this next chapter, it's only x many pages, then I'll go do whatever" - and the next thing I knew, I had read four or more chapters.

    What I liked most about this book, I think, was that Gretchen, while dedicated to fighting the "witch" and protecting the people she loves, she was also still able to have a life of her own. In SR, Scarlet was completely focused on fighting the Fenris, so much so that she never allowed herself to fall in love or have a hobby. But Gretchen still lets herself do that stuff. Throughout this novel we see Gretchen go from being a scared little girl to a strong woman that can defend herself and do what needs to be done.

    However, I think this novel also illustrates another type of growth - a growth in the author. This novel really showed me a growth in Jackson Pearce's voice as an author. I think that Pearce has improved her writing skills since her first novel was released, and I wasn't sure if she could get any better because I already loved her work SO much. I'm not just saying this because she's one of my favorite authors or because I've met her. This novel made me so proud of her because of the sheer beauty of this novel. If this novel doesn't go to the New York Time's Best Seller List, I don't know what is wrong with America.

    Job well done, Jackson Pearce. I am eager to see you go even farther in your career. "Sweetly" is definitely one of my favorite books and I am pretty sure I will be re-reading it sooner or later (and I NEVER re-read books)!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of sweetly

    This novel was amazing. Yes that is how I’m choosing to begin this review. Sweetly was awesome, amazing and great. The companion to Sisters Red and the second re-told fairy tale in Jackson Pearce’s series, I have literally been dying to start reading it and when I did I never wanted to stop. I’m going to hope that you guys have noticed just which fairy tale is about to be retold right? Hansel and Grettle! The story about the boy and girl who get lost in the forest, find a candy house and get eaten by a witch—right? Not in this novel, this is far from the fairy tale you know.

    Sweetly is about main characters Ansel and Gretchen and begins with them at a young age, walking through the forest with Gretchen’s twin sister when something (that they choose to call a witch) attacks them. Dragging off Gretchen’s twin into the forest. That causes Gretchen’s family to fall apart, their mother dies and later their father does, leaving them with their step-mother who kicks out Gretchen and Ansel. That causes the two to drive from their home and for their care to break down in the small town of Live Oak, where they meet Sophia Kelly, a chocolatier with a dark secret.

    I personally, enjoyed the fact that in Sweetly you have no idea what’s going to happen next. Most novels that are re-makes of fairy tales are overly predictable, just because you usually know the tale already and there are no more surprises. Not the case in Sweetly. The story is completely new and I adored that. You get to see two characters who blame themselves for their sisters disappearance. A chocolatier who may or may not be the warning of the town’s end days.An a witch who was introduced in Sisters Red as a Fenris.

    Seriously who wouldn’t want to read Hansel and Grettle with werewolves ready to break down the door to steal away citizens? We have Grettle as our main character and after she gets attacked by a fenris she learns how to use a gun and prepares herself for the worst. Sweetly is a thrilling ride that never stops it’s pace once. You’ll want to stay awake all night just to finish it because just when you think you know everything…. BLAM! You don’t. You really don’t.

    With a terrifying ending and a twist I didn’t see coming, I would recommend Sweetly to fans of Jackson Pearce’s previous novels as well as readers who love re-telling’s of fairy tales.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Delicious Story for all ages

    I picked up Sweetly because my teenage niece was interested in reading it. I completely devoured the book myself! The different ways that an author can twist folklore into something new, something modern, has always been an interest of mine. And this book is definitely not another retold Cinderella! The lesser glamorized Hansel & Gretel story is updated and wonderfully intertwined with some more sinister folklore which makes for a great story. The author’s ability to tell a story that draws the reader into this new, yet familiar world makes for a wonderful read! Sprinkled with bits of philosophy, the mystery surrounding the disappearance of Ansel & Gretchen’s sister quickly consumed my mind as it consumed Gretchen’s heart. My own desire to love and fear the candy lady waxed and waned right along with Gretchen. Who is Sophia really? This lady who always has everyone’s favorite sweet on hand, whose laugh could grow a garden, who suddenly disappears to some dark part of her mind where no one can go and then returns with a smile and a lemon drop? Gretchen’s journey from a frightened little girl under her brother’s thumb to the brave young woman suddenly protecting them both creates an empathetic character to be trusted and admired. Flavored with twists and turns around every page and a dash of romance, this story is, in itself, a delightful treat!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    A really good book! i really enjoyed the modern version of Hanse

    A really good book! i really enjoyed the modern version of Hansel and Gretel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Meh...

    What I Liked: 1) I loved the descriptions of all of the candy. It made me hungry and was not good for my sweet tooth! They were very vivid and fun descriptions. 2) Gretchen and Ansel. I thought these characters were written well. Their relationship as brother and sister was sweet, and their emotions were real and raw. 3) Samuel. I love the name Samuel. I liked him as a character too, he was the typical, moody, bad boy. I like those. :)

    What I Didn't: 1) The story. That sounds too, all-encompassing. But I just didn't get into it. I try, when I read, to go in not having any expectations. It's a bit hard though, when the story is a re-telling of a classic like Hansel and Gretel. I felt like there was very little in Sweetly reminiscent of the old story by The Brothers' Grimm. It was disappointing. 2) There were many twists and turns in the story, which I normally like, but so many of them seemed out of left field. When I have to go back and re-read a few pages because something doesn't seem to make sense, it interrupts the flow of the story for me, and I find it hard to get back into it. This happened quite often during Sweetly. To the point of causing frustration. It's almost like, pausing a movie, and not coming back to it for a few days.

    Overall thoughts: I was surprised by my reaction when I sat down to write this review. I think Miz Pearce is a talented writer, and I look forward to reading more of her stories. But I just wasn't excited about Sweetly. I never felt a part of the story, which is key for me to really get into it. Missed the mark for me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Amazing

    I finished the book about a half hour ago and i am amazed!! I love jackson pearce, she is a amazing author! She makes everything so vivid! I was not supost to read this book out of school but i couldnt eait over theweekend to finish the last ten chapter!! I would recommend this book to all of my friends! I love both books and i am gonna read them both over and over again!!!!! ( =

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Must read

    Love this book! Very clever, romantic and fun! Jackson Pearce is a great writter!!!! Cant wait for more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Good book

    Although bad idea to read this protoluge at night its creppy protoluge is the first couple of pages u read before the first chapter but overall great book higly recommnded

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    The story was good at first. The mystery aspect of the story and the scary moments were well done and gave me the heebie jeebies. I was sort of hoping for a sequel to Sisters Red but knew this wasn’t the case as I read the summary before so I was mildly disappointed. Although it’s nice to see fairy tale retellings. What’s guaranteed is your sweet tooth will start to crave the various delicious sweets and desserts listed all throughout the book. You’ll want to raid a sweet shop after reading this book. They’re told in descriptive detail and it’s very well done. Although that aspect of the writing was good, I have to say I didn’t really enjoy reading the story that much. It was slow paced and I found it quite dry in some parts. Gretchen wasn’t much to be intrigued about. Also even the romance between her and Samuel just didn’t have enough to get my attention. So the ending went out with a bang but it just wasn’t enough to make up for such a dry book. Needless to say I was disappointed. This could have been better. Sure, I feel like grabbing a handful of candies and cupcakes and there were moments of scariness but there characters didn’t really engage me and I didn’t find this a page turner. Take it or leave it. Lovely cover though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    H

    Super amazin love it always

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Good Read

    A take of Hansel and Gretel. Well written. Easy to get to know the characters. A good book if your in the mood for some make believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Mintkit and Ashkit

    Run away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Hopekit

    Sighed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    To all here

    Adopt kits at okoni first result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Good

    Book is great. As a fairy tale with a twist, it's a little predictible but a joy to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Rainstorm

    May i join? Im a shecat that is in need a
    Of a mate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Icegaze

    Ill be medicine cat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2