BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sweetness: The Enigmatic Life of Walter Payton

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Don't boycott

I didn't read the book. This is a response to Anonymous, who asked people to boycott a book that has not been released yet.
The book is a complete look at Walter Payton's life, the good and the bad. Mostly good, but some bad. When a professional writer inks a biography...
I didn't read the book. This is a response to Anonymous, who asked people to boycott a book that has not been released yet.
The book is a complete look at Walter Payton's life, the good and the bad. Mostly good, but some bad. When a professional writer inks a biography on a person, he or she has to write about everything, not just the good stuff. Continue to stick your head in the sand Anonymous. I actually want to know what happens in life, not ignore it or boycott it.

posted by Craig98789 on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bitter/Sweet

Unlike most of us, Walter Payton was a world class athlete and Hall of Fame football player. Like most of us, Walter had a lot of good in him, some bad and some ugly. Walter Payton was very similar to many of us, he was not a perfect person. I feel this book reflects Wa...
Unlike most of us, Walter Payton was a world class athlete and Hall of Fame football player. Like most of us, Walter had a lot of good in him, some bad and some ugly. Walter Payton was very similar to many of us, he was not a perfect person. I feel this book reflects Walter's life as having a lot more good in it than bad and ugly. Already a fan of Walter Payton the football player before reading the book, I feel I am even more of a fan knowing that Walter touched many lives and many were for the good.

posted by RAZRZ on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Don't boycott

    I didn't read the book. This is a response to Anonymous, who asked people to boycott a book that has not been released yet.
    The book is a complete look at Walter Payton's life, the good and the bad. Mostly good, but some bad. When a professional writer inks a biography on a person, he or she has to write about everything, not just the good stuff. Continue to stick your head in the sand Anonymous. I actually want to know what happens in life, not ignore it or boycott it.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Excellent book: This shows the good, bad and ugly side of Walter

    Excellent book: This shows the good, bad and ugly side of Walter. Overall, it takes you through his whole journey, but shows the man's many flaws along the way. Great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Sweet

    Great & interesting book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    Must-Read For Payton Fans

    Nobody was/is a bigger Payton fan than I, and I promise you that Payton fans will have a very tough time digesting these relevations. But the read is well worth it. Why? Aside from showing the dark complexities of the real person, it celebrates the thousands of little interpersonal miracles that he was responsible for while alive that had nothing to do with football. We're all broken on some level, and Payton was no different. The candor this book required was only possible with his passing, because those closest to him (ironically, those he hurt the most) were so fiercely loyal to his memory that they never would have revealed what they did during his lifetime. Read it, and celebrate the whole person. I still love the guy.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Bitter/Sweet

    Unlike most of us, Walter Payton was a world class athlete and Hall of Fame football player. Like most of us, Walter had a lot of good in him, some bad and some ugly. Walter Payton was very similar to many of us, he was not a perfect person. I feel this book reflects Walter's life as having a lot more good in it than bad and ugly. Already a fan of Walter Payton the football player before reading the book, I feel I am even more of a fan knowing that Walter touched many lives and many were for the good.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    great read

    showed the good bad and ugly but most good. made me a lot closer with one of the greatest athletes of all time and made me a fan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

        This is the most outstanding biography  I have ever read I


        This is the most outstanding biography  I have ever read I am such a huge fan of Walter Payton before I read this book I thought I knew  everything about Walter Payton since he is one of my favorite NFL player that I look up to.
    When I read this book I was hooked on instantly  I could not stop reading the book page after page it keep getting interesting even when it had some bad parts of the story it still keep me interested to keep on reading the book. Jeff Pearlman  did a really nice job creating this biography about the one and only Walter payton. After reading  this  book I finally understand who the real Walter Payton was  on and off the field and some of his flaws. But thats apart of life we all have  good and bad sides.
    I would recommend this book to anybody who is a fan of Walter Payton or some is trying to read a sports biography about somebody this would be the book for you. This book really takes you inside of Walter Payton life and after you're done reading the book you would have thought you were really close to Walter Payton.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Ehhhh

    It doesnt show evreything about his life because this guy barely knew him

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    This book is "sweet" hahahah see what i did there

    Yes

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Chey to ryder

    Go to the book hapy third result if u cnt post

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Best book ever

    The book does all the talking

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    250 eyh characters remaining

    3,49620467895675637474689 ffgfggxgdtsfhdigurgg%56%&%$"%55&tcctffctf g g4'% cg g'g%g&fxfxrxrxg"xt&t&g2 f%f&"ejrjurjrrejrjrwerrjrrehh;;8*6ftnrhdddjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjhgvfftijhrurujdjhhnjhbbhhjffjrjjfjrjrjfjdbf gjcbfgfgshfhfrdjedhdjfhe s jff cb c fhkwhgeehrhryrfhhbegdhehetgrheweeytruyrjfjhhfhiijgfgxggsgssgdgdgdgdgdgggscscdgdhfgcgdrhxgddkxjcjghfhfhfhjjghhhhyhyhyhyyhfhhrhtgryrgfydfydwddydgdgegdgdgdfhdhfggjdghehdfhggffggehryryerfrhffhhhfhdhjhsshhffgfhHahsgGgaajjThggFFFFfgGGGGtGGGGGGgYYIgKgKGGGGFa.HGgehgdtqtyyrdfsvxhfbvhfvg ggtrfdtjklnhbgvfgfdsaswfffgerddfdfsfgetdfdddxbdxxdwhjkkjgteteggguhyhhtgeghyyrefghfgchvbhfcxxxxccuuhvgffbgWWrjdyyuusfyryyg yv h duqfryeyuryrru

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    "Sad"ness

    As a Bears fan and Payton fan I enjoyed this book and hated it as well. Still a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Walter peyton 34

    Walter peyton 34 best running back ever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 4 1/2 of 5 stars (excellent) Review: Having seen Walt

    Rating:
    4 1/2 of 5 stars (excellent)

    Review:
    Having seen Walter Payton play football in his prime and admiring what he did on the field, I was interested in reading this biography written by a well-known and respected writer for Sports Illustrated. It turns out there was a lot more to the man than the image that was portrayed as the hard-working football player and dedicated Christian and family man.

    The research and detail in this book was very good. Pearlman talked to many of Payton’s teammates in high school and college. The section on Payton’s time at Jackson State was quite impressive in its detail – such as the details of some of the practices endured by the players. When he turns pro with the Chicago Bears, the ups and downs of not only Payton but the entire team is well researched as well. The reader learns why Payton struggled at times because the Bears team was not very good.

    What makes the book even better, however, is Pearlman’s account of Payton’s life off the field, both during his youth and his adulthood. Very often biographies of professional athletes will reveal unknown characteristics about the athlete that most fans did not know existed. This is no exception. The best way to describe this aspect of the book is conflicting. Payton is trying to live the proper Christian life, but has many sessions of infidelity, including fathering a child with someone other than his wife. He is at times portrayed as an egomaniac, but yet will always visit sick children in hospitals when called upon. He is often portrayed as a great team player, yet is shown to be sulking about individual slights, whether real or perceived. The best story of that was during Super Bowl XX, when he was livid that William “Refrigerator” Perry, a defensive lineman, was given the ball to score the last touchdown of that game instead of him.

    This is a well researched, well written biography of the running back who many believe to be the greatest to ever play in the NFL.

    Did I skim?
    No.

    Did I learn something new?
    Yes. The most interesting (or shocking, depending on your viewpoint) was the revelation of Payton’s infidelity and hard-partying lifestyle well after his playing days were over. It is not all that shocking when any athlete lives like that while playing and especially when on the road, but that Payton did this while being portrayed as an ideal family man was quite eye-opening.

    Pace of the book:
    Excellent. The transitions between football and off-the-field portions were smooth and the book was told in chronological order.

    Positives:
    The research and detail are the outstanding aspects of this book, but in addition, I believed the manner in which Pearlman presented topics that could be controversial or troubling, such as Payton’s cheating, the way in which he treated his assistants, or his drug and alcohol use, was done with sensitivity and in a non-judgmental manner.

    Negatives:
    There weren’t any glaring negatives about the book. The closest I could come to one was that at times, the reader could believe that the author is bashing Payton too much on his lifestyle choices, especially concerning the lack of time he spent with his son born out of wedlock. However, once the reader finishes the book and everything is covered, this turns out to be simply another chapter in a complicated life of a complicated man.

    Do I recommend?
    Yes, for any football fan or reader who enjoys biographies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2