Customer Reviews for

Sweetwater Creek

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    I was transported!

    When Ms. Siddons writes about her beloved low country, I expect to be transported, and I was. By the time I emerged, I was swaddled in Spanish moss, spitting pluff mud and speaking with a southern accent. I think Anne reached a new high in her poetic descriptions - her ability to makes us feel, smell, taste and see Emily's world. I'm usually a James Patterson, full of action, move it along, kind of reader - but when I pick up Sweetwater Ranch - or any of the 'low country' books, I have to agree with the Chicago Tribune. I don't just read her books. I dwell in them. In this day and age, to be able to dwell somewhere else for a while, is a gift. A true gift!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Loved it!

    Could not wait to read this every night and hated finishing it. As a Boykin owner, I loved reading the connections between girl, dog, and family. Hope there is a follow-up to continue the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Fun trip!

    Vintage Siddens with the lush landscapes so real you can feel the winds and feel prickles on your spine as she takes us thru a rollercoaster of obssession and love. Juxtaposes mystical with harsh reality...big bad corporation polluting the pristine up creek. Loved it! Each of her books takes you somewhere enchanting..usually in the South. Highly recommend taking this journey!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Haunting Story

    I've always loved Anne Rivers Siddon's books and thought that I had read them all. What a wonderful gift to find one that I had not yet read! I just finished this book and the story is one that is both haunting and beautiful. ARS develops her characters so well that you feel as if you know them. She is descriptive without being overly-wordy so that you get a real sense and feel of the place where the story takes place. If you like Anne Rivers Siddons, please read this book. You won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    Pretty good story, overwrought writing

    The author can tell a compelling story, despite overwrought language that has me rolling my eyes and saying, 'Oh, please,' about every three pages. But somehow, I keep going to find out what happens to these people. I did notice a few commonsensical lapses in this one--for one, we're supposed to believe that the father of a 13-year-old knows nothing of the high schools in his hometown, even their locations, even though he also has 16-year-old twins? Mrs. Siddons is a gifted storyteller, but she really needs a better editor--one, to catch commonsensical slips like the above example, and two, to pull her back from the breathless descriptions of Southern life that make even this lifelong Southerner--familiar, and even sympathetic to, our tendency to cheerlead for our eccentricities--wince.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    Great Book, Loved the SC Setting

    Siddons describes the SC setting so descripitively you feel like you have been there in Sweetwater. The characters are so loveable and very memorable that you miss them when you put the book down. For any one who loves fiction sorrounded by the Carolinas, you will love this book. Along the same lines as The Secret Life of Bees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    Great Read

    I have never read a book by this author but picked it up on a whim. It was well written and had me completely absorbed immediately. I will definitely look for others by this author. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    Recommended Reading-Take a Chance!

    This was my first Anne Rivers Siddons book and while the descriptions of the south get to be a little much I still found this story to be a great read. If you¿re looking for a book that stays with you long after you read it then this is a book for you. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Emily¿s story and while I do have to agree with other people¿s reviews about the other characters not being as developed as Emily. However, I think that it is for a reason. Since the main character of the book is Emily maybe we are supposed to see the characters through her eyes and as you read you will find out that she really doesn¿t truly know her family. They live in the same house but interactions are kept to a minimum that is until Lulu comes along¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    Pleasurable

    Because I generally enjoy Ms. Siddons writing, I purchased this book as soon as it was hot off the press. I had not had time to read it when I discovered it on CD at our local library. I enjoyed listening to it, but think that it would have been a dry read. Siddons is usually such an excellent writer, however, that I was disappointed with the lack of character development and depth in this book. The best thing about this book, is that I now have a beautiful Boykin spaniel that someone had dropped in a well. The dog swam to save her own life until she could be rescued. Siddons did show an uncanny understanding of the temperment of this breed - they are fabulous dogs. However, the fact that Elvis knew when to get help, etc. was a little far-fetched. Siddons does keep you wondering what Lulu's secret is and wondering when the shoe is going to drop. Perhaps this book is best enjoyed in the car on a long drive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    Not her best work

    I got as far as 85 pages in this most recent novel from one of my favorite writers and just didn't feel compelled to go on. The characters were poorly developed, the story sluggish and somewhat boring and the dialogue trite and predictable. Ms. Siddons' previous novels have had rich characters, interesting stories and great endings -- this had none of that and I wouldn't recommend it to her fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    A Memorable Story That Should Be Read

    Emily, the central character, was expertly created and she pulls on your emotion enough to make you care about her tale. There is much sadness in her life but she strives to live despite it. In fact, one might say she lives because of it (?) The eloquent descriptions of South Carolina immediately places you in the story. Sweetwater Creek enchanted me due to the author's well-written prose and nicely crafted scenes. It has an approachable pace that was quite enjoyable to read through. Emily's separation from the world in this 'enclave' with her cherished dogs made the story appear dreamy and dreary simultaneously. It is this ambivalence of feeling that made the story especially memorable and poignant. It's definitely worth your time to read it. I also highly recommend the beautifully timeless novel, Anna's Trinity by Howard Cobiskey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    The World of Emily As We Know It

    Siddons hits home book after book. This could be her best to date. My style of writing. I think everyone has an Emily. Excerpt was a good lead-in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    Enjoyable, awesome read..not to be missed

    Anne Rivers Siddons has done it again...another beautifully written coming of age novel set in the South...this may be her best novel since Peachtree Road, her love-letter to Atlanta...don't miss this summer read...you will not forget sweet Emily and her plight...beautiful descriptions of the land and homes of the South..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    Once Again a little disappointed

    While I never miss reading an Anne Rivers Siddon book, this one as well as her previous book have left me a little cold. Her descriptions of the south always make you feel as if you are right there, breathing and seeing the low country. But only Emily is a developed character in this book. I never got a true feel for any of the other people that were in and out of her life (with the exception of Elvis, the dog, who I wanted to take home). The essence of Lulu is never truly explained. Like her last novel, I felt as though Ms. Siddons didn't know how to end the book. My recommendation is to read Peachtree Road, Siddons at her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2005

    Great Storyteller

    This was the first book I have read by Siddons..I have to say it will NOT be my last. She tells a great story. I loved all the characters in the book and she made you feel like you were part of them. It was a wonderful read and cant wait to buy more book by Anne River Siddons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    I loved this book!

    Anne Rivers Siddons is a master at describing the lush landscape of the south and in Sweetwater Creek we are swept away in the strong undercurrents of the story. This powerful, beautifully written coming-of-age novel is sure to touch your heart--and you'll want a Boykin spaniel after meeting dear Elvis!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2005

    Not one of her best books

    While I enjoyed this book and finished it in just one day, it is definitely not one of Anne Rivers Siddons' best books. Emily is the only character who is fully fleshed out in this book as compared to Rivers Siddons' usually finely done cast of characters. I also found the descriptive parts of the story (about the low country of South Carolina) to be repetitive although lovely. I wish I'd waited and bought this book in paperback instead of paying full price for the hardback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    Non-Stop Read

    I am always lured into reading modern southern novels and especially enjoy reading their unique storylines. It must be the words about old southern cooking, silver, architecture, and manners that I am so completely drawn to read. I especially appreciated that the storyline maintained itself through the end of this book. I have to say that I had earlier read Siddons' The House Next Door, and it was a tad spooky to me. I found myself with the same spooky raised hair on the back of my neck feeling in this current novel. It's a non-stop read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2005

    THIS BOOK WAS SLOW AND BORING

    I read this book in 2 days and all the time I was hoping to get answers for unanswered questions.In the end the book leaves me hanging.I was dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2