BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Swept Off Her Feet

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Utterly Enchanting!

There is nothing more refreshing than finding a Chick Lit novel that just sweeps you away with the engaging characters, breathtaking scenery, and a castle! What more could a girl want, right? Swept Off Her Feet is one of those rare Chick Lit novels that you just don't w...
There is nothing more refreshing than finding a Chick Lit novel that just sweeps you away with the engaging characters, breathtaking scenery, and a castle! What more could a girl want, right? Swept Off Her Feet is one of those rare Chick Lit novels that you just don't want to see end.

Hester Browne has masterfully crafted a fairy tale story worthy of a Disney movie. I have always been a fan of the Chick Lit genre, but it has been a while since I have found one that I have enjoyed as much as Swept Off Her Feet. It was funny and enchanting all at the same time. If you love fairy tales, and what girl doesn't, don't let this one pass you by.

posted by charlottesweb93 on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I adore Hester Browne's writing and tear through her books like

I adore Hester Browne's writing and tear through her books like a tube of Pringles. That said, I feel like this book was missing something of her usual spirit: it seemed to lack the depth to the characters and the storyline that she usually has. Kind of leaves me won...
I adore Hester Browne's writing and tear through her books like a tube of Pringles. That said, I feel like this book was missing something of her usual spirit: it seemed to lack the depth to the characters and the storyline that she usually has. Kind of leaves me wondering if her agent pushed her to try something new or rushed her through the process with this one.

I'd recommend her other books instead.

posted by PennedQuinn on November 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I was swept off my feet while reading Swept off Her Feet. The author did a fantastic job of keeping the reader engrossed in this book and an even better job of portraying true love. I found Evie to be a sensational character and couldn't help but hope with everything I have that she would get her happily-ever-after. This book is every romance lovers dream.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Utterly Enchanting!

    There is nothing more refreshing than finding a Chick Lit novel that just sweeps you away with the engaging characters, breathtaking scenery, and a castle! What more could a girl want, right? Swept Off Her Feet is one of those rare Chick Lit novels that you just don't want to see end.

    Hester Browne has masterfully crafted a fairy tale story worthy of a Disney movie. I have always been a fan of the Chick Lit genre, but it has been a while since I have found one that I have enjoyed as much as Swept Off Her Feet. It was funny and enchanting all at the same time. If you love fairy tales, and what girl doesn't, don't let this one pass you by.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I adore Hester Browne's writing and tear through her books like

    I adore Hester Browne's writing and tear through her books like a tube of Pringles. That said, I feel like this book was missing something of her usual spirit: it seemed to lack the depth to the characters and the storyline that she usually has. Kind of leaves me wondering if her agent pushed her to try something new or rushed her through the process with this one.

    I'd recommend her other books instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    As fun as a Scottish reel

    I enjoyed this author's little lady series and was happy to see her continue in the same light-hearted vein. Fine literature, this is not. Complex characters, look elsewhere. But with the story of two sisters scarred by past dance experiences who find redemption in a genuine Scottish ball, this book will suck you in and leave you happier when you put it down than when you picked it up. I particularly enjoyed the last-minute partner switch at the end, very reminiscent of the reel itself. Perfect light reading for the plane, the beach, or the pool.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Interesting read but...

    All of the action happened in the last 10 pages. Still kept my attention! A must-read for those who enjoy vintage things...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Here is a way to become off-kilter.

    Swept Off Her Feet takes us into the world of unKilted men and antiques.

    Hester Browne weaves of an amazing story about a woman who wants to keep her job and is sent off to a castle to hit the antique pay dirt but finds herself tossed in a reel of desire.

    What Evie needs is to stop feeling the life through the antiques she buys, and find something more than the clutter of her home, but into the arms of someone special. Left to her own devices Evie just may get lost in the merchandise she buys for her employer in the antique trade, but she soon is set into a wild adventure inside of a historic castle in Scotland.
    What Evie doesn't realize is love is closer than she thinks, and that learning Scottish Reels to replace her sister in a dance, can bring her closer to what she has been wanting for so long.

    Browne uses fantastic description to make us fall in love with her characters. You can almost feel the old wood through the pages, along with the pounding of feet in the dances.
    The main, and supporting characters were fabulous. Their stories and interactions were breathtaking as well as inspiring. While I may not get to run off to Scotland, I can feel a bit of the experience through this book.

    If you would like an adventure, and a lesson in Scottish Reeling dance along the way, get ready to be swept away by Swept Off Her Feet. It was one of the most pleasurable reads I have had this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Charming and delightful modern day fairy tale!

    Evie Nicholson is a down-on-her-luck shopgirl working in an antiques store. The problem is that she has such a connection to old stuff, she just can't pass up all the ragged teddy bears and old wedding pictures. Her boss is fed up with her stocking the store with useless junk. So when her sister's handsome Scottish boyfriend lands her the job of a life time, appraising the furniture in an honest to God Scottish castle, she jumps at the chance. Throw in a devastatingly handsome heir, a traditional Scottish ball, and a castle in distress and Evie will have to reinvent herself to save the day!


    Hester Browne delivers another charming and delightful modern day fairy tale. Her characters are just quirky enough to be fun, the plot flows along well, and the details fill everything out and keep you interested. Her descriptions of Evie learning to do the Scottish reel were especially funny and heartwarming. If you are looking for a feel-good story to let you escape for a few hours, this is it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My heart spins right round, baby

    True to its title, Swept Off Her Feet will sweep readers off their feet and transport them back to a time where Scottish reels had been used as a form of flirtation and courtship! Hester Browne has outdone herself with this latest release - and she has definitely left me breathless as if I myself danced the entire night away (instead of staying up to finish this book!). Evie is a girl after my own heart, wrapped up in the beauty of years past, ballgowns and porcelain cups and dancing cards, although she lives in the here and now. With nightmares of childhood dance classes ending with broken legs and bruises, she is hardly the person to jump at the chance of dancing in a Scottish reel where the men spin the women around as fast as they are able. She was a romantic who had been tossed into a historical castle crumbling with history, and in her eyes it was bubbling with hidden romance and mystery! Hester Browne had me laughing at the very start of Swept Off Her Feet with the opening page (see above), and I was literally reeled into the life of Evie with no hope of escaping. Her writing is charming and delightful, and the romance that unfolds is simply too fun for words! I couldn't help but sympathize with Evie about being born in the wrong time period and fall hopelessly in love with both Robert and Fraser. If you are looking for a modern-day fairy tale where a magical night of dancing may lead to unexpected romance, then pick up a copy of Swept Off Her Feet, admire the plaid peeptoe heels that the cover model is wearing, and prepare yourself for all-nighter with some rather lovable characters who may or may not be wearing kilts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Absolutely loved it!

    Aaaahhhh! Prepare yourselves for a squee-fest! I could not put Swept Off Her Feet down...

    Evie Nicholson is an antiques "finder", she actually works for the dealer. Her problem is that she when she sees an item, she sees not the potential buyer, but the past, imagining who used the item or places it's been. She's in trouble with her boss, Max, for buying a bunch of stuff that he doesn't think will sell. Evie's sister, Alice, and her mother are both minimalistic - they actually make a living doing a "clean sweep" type of thing where they de-clutter people's homes. They're always calling Evie out for getting lost in the past.

    Evie's sister has a favor to ask - her boyfriend's family friend has inherited Castle Kettlesheer in Scotland and they are having financial trouble keeping it up. They'd like to sell off a few key pieces, quietly, and Alice told them Evie would be happy to do it. Max is thrilled, he's always wanted to get inside Castle Kettlesheer, but he's not invited. Evie must do it alone, and be discreet about it. She's in for a few days, then is supposed to leave before the annual ball, held in the castle on Valentine's Day. Traditionally, if the first dance (a Scottish Reel) is perfect, it's considered a lucky omen and many marriage proposals are made.

    Evie meets Robert, son of the current owner, on her first night there. He wants to sell the castle but his father is completely against it. Robert is more realistic and doesn't want to be burdened with inheriting the castle (it must go to the next family member who is married, Robert is not married but is getting pressured to propose to his girlfriend at the ball).

    As Evie goes through the home, looking for pieces to sell, she learns a lot about the ancestors of the current owners. Every piece of furniture has a story, and Evie wants to know them all. At Kettlesheer Castle, however, the furniture may have more of a story than she realized...

    As Evie works, she also spends time with the owners' son, Robert. As the days go by and they get to know each other, Evie realizes she might be attracted to Robert - who she assumes is going to propose to his girlfriend at the ball. But he's not acting like he's interested in marrying his girlfriend, and Evie has mixed thoughts about that. When Evie's sister Alice calls and says she can't come to the ball, leaving Evie to fill in, Evie wonders if this is Robert's way to get out of proposing - if the first dance isn't perfect, he doesn't have to propose. But maybe, just maybe, that's not the reason he wants her to stay...

    My thoughts: Oh wow - I loved this book. Swept Off Her Feet is going on the "keeper" shelf. I love Evie - I easily identified with her character, kind of quiet, unassuming, tender-hearted. She loves looking at old things and imagining the past - a beloved teddy bear, an antique china set, a stately old home. I must confess, that's one of the things I love about living in New Orleans, is the old homes and antiques - I too like to daydream about the people who lived/loved/used them. The relationship between Evie and Robert meanders along, friendly and then maybe more. I really, really liked Robert. His attentions to Evie were swoon-worthy, and that he was conflicted made for some seriously sexy tension.

    The Scottish Reel dancing - Evie's lessons were hysterical. The way Ms. Browne wrote the story, the dancing, and the customs surrounding the dance, was riveting. I was so enamo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fans will enjoy Hester Browne's wonderful contemporary romance

    Evie Nicholson works for Max Shacks at his antique shop in Chelsea. He is upset because Evie the dreamer overspent on a lot of junk. Her organized sister Alice arrives and agrees to issue a check to cover the purchases, but asks her sister for a favor. She arranged for Evie to catalogue Kettlesheer castle whose owners Duncan and Ingrid must sell antiques to keep the place. Alice asks Evie to cover for her for now with her boyfriend Fraser Graham who Evie has a crush on. Evie reluctantly agrees though is confused by her sister.

    Evie drops Fraser off at the home of his parents. When she arrives at night, a man hugs her. The Kettlesheer heir Robert thought she was Alice. She also meets neighbor Catriona Learmont and her hosts. Guests show their valuables to Evie to appraise in a drive-by valuation party. Robert is cynical and thinks Evie is naive as he sees Kettlersheer as a white elephant while she sees it as a historical treasure trove. He shows her the complicated Reel of Luck dance that Alice dumped on her to partake in with seven other experienced dancers; both sisters hated dancing as they towered over the boys as youngsters. Evie will soon learn why her sister failed to accompany Fraser; knowing that her beloved Robert has a better match with Catriona.

    The ensemble cast is strong and diverse with the lead character a refreshing dreamer. A late twist involving the furniture enhances the strong look at how the British aristocracy survives in the Internet era. Although the story line is linear with the climax expected occurs, fans will enjoy Hester Browne's wonderful contemporary romance.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Runaway Princess was my first Hester Browne read...I loved it!!

    Runaway Princess was my first Hester Browne read...I loved it!! But Swept Off Her Feet had me dieing laughing!! Super fun read!! How brilliant that her characters are so intelligent that they don't have to resort to every kind of profanity to express themselves and their sex lives are PRIVATE!! Go, Hester...you have a new fan!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3