Customer Reviews for

Swim the Fly

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Margaret Waterman for TeensReadToo.com

    SWIM THE FLY is a funny, cute novel about three best friends on a mission - to see a girl "in the buff."

    Every summer, the boys get together on the morning of their first day of summer swim team and set a goal. They must complete this goal by the last day of summer. This year, it is to see a girl naked.

    The main character, Matt, sets his eyes on Kelly West, the newest addition to the Rockville swim team. Having gone from string bean to smokin' in just one year, Kelly is gorgeous - and Matt can't keep his mind off of her.

    Unfortunately, this goal turns out to be far easier said than done.

    In just a few chapters, the reader realizes that Matt's other summer goal, swimming the 100-meter butterfly (which is generally acknowledged to be the hardest stroke in the sport of swimming), is far more realistic.

    A fast and fun read, I would recommend SWIM THE FLY to boys and girls alike - boys will repeatedly relate to Matt and his friends, and girls will be interested to see a bit into the mind of a typical teenage male. This book constantly delivered laughs and was never too slow or too boring.

    I'm looking forward to seeing more from Don Calame in the future!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Ge

    I swam a 100m fly in 54sec and im in seventh grade

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    SWIM THE FLY- It¿s hilarious. It¿s crazy. It¿s dirty! Right up my alley.

    SWIM THE FLY… LOL…

    I’m glad Don Calame’s wife made him write this book, she seems to know her husband’s humour all too well and had the right believe that others would immediately fall for it. This girl fell for your husband’s writing and the three boys who want to see a real life naked girl. What a funny premise!

    Matt, Cooper and Sean’s attempts to see a real life naked girl are awesome. Throughout the entire novel I felt entertained and often had to laugh out loud. You won’t believe what these boys go through to get their girl!

    Matt’s voice is fantastic, you simply have to like him. He wants to succeed so badly, that the joke’s often on him.
    Several strings of action are interwoven, like Matt wanting to swim the fly, his attempts in love, the boys’ hunt for a naked girl and even Matt’s Grandpa Arlo has something going on.

    The plot of swimming and getting the girl is well balanced. I would want some more romance, but since it’s such a boyish read I totally accept the fun and action focus.

    Don Calame applies a youthful writing and the voices of his characters are realistic. SWIM THE FLY is a hilarious book and the jokes totally hit my humour nerve, though the parental advice is definitely justified.

    I can’t wait to read the sequel to SWIM THE FLY which will be told from Coop’s point of view! I love Matt, but Coop’s the real head of witty and dirty talk. The story being told from his POV, promises to be even more fun.

    THE VERDICT

    I give it 4,5/5 stars.

    This novel makes me want to be a boy! Sounds weird, but Matt, Sean and Coop are just too hilarious. SWIM THE FLY is all about friendship, fun and boyish dares! Boys will love it, but girls even more ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Loved

    This book is an awesome book!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Hilarious! Teenage boys will love it

    Perfect for all teenage guys

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Descibes my friends and I

    Highly recommended awesome book funny and page truning

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    I love the book and enjoy it, I think that it is funny and the d

    I love the book and enjoy it, I think that it is funny and the details is great in the book, just enough for boys to imagine the rest that it don't describe in the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    I just CAN'T because a 100 fly for a 15 year old swimmer is ridi

    I just CAN'T because a 100 fly for a 15 year old swimmer is ridiculously easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Wet yor pants funny

    I laughed so hard icried. But they need to lay off the nude teachers!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Fanastic

    I am a very avid reader and i have to say, it is one of the very best books i have ever read. Although it is really good, i have to recommend it for BOYS 13/14 and up. There is also a sequel called Beat the Band, also recommended for the same group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    VERY FUNNY

    What started out as a brief review of a book I thought was too mature for my 9 year old (avid reader), turned into a hilarious trip into the mind of a 15 year old boy. My son will be forced to wait to read, but we'll keep it on the shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    I highly recommend this book.

    The book was a swim the fly, this book is written by Don Calame. This book was published on 4/13/2010. This book is in the genre of young adult. This book is intended for teenagers and young adults I think it is mainly guys. The general story line of this book is about three young teenagers that set a goal to see a real live naked girl before the summer is over.

    This book was a very good book I really liked it. When I found it I did not know how it was going to be, once I started reading this book I could not put it down. I had to finish it once I had started it. I would definitely recommend it. I think that this book is more of a guys book and I think that any guy that reads this book they should read this book.

    The characters do grow throughout the story. All three of the boys become more social and more important in the story. The characters are also very likeable they act like young teenagers. The three teenagers are very funny. I think that the authors attitudes toward the characters are very good he does not try to put down the characters.

    I would recommend this book to anyone that is looking to laugh and laugh. This book is very funny. This book is not at all what I expected I was kind of expecting it to be bad but it was hilarious. This was a very good book I could not put it down and I wanted to read it and then when I finished I wanted to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    When i got this for Easter i COULD NOT STOP READING IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ITS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wish he made a seaqual or a movie.

    ALL I HAVE TO SAY IS READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Don Calame is one of the most humorous writers to walk this universe!

    Oh, my! Don Calame is one of the most humorous writers to walk this universe. Swim the Fly knocked me out. I was so immersed in Calame's witty prose, I just found myself turning the pages rapidly & it still didn't seem fast enough.


    Swim the Fly is a must read for both males & females. Matt & his lovable cohorts get themselves into so many priceless scenarios you will be rolling so much your sides will ache. You will shake your head @ their hijinks, nod as their shenanigans ebb & flow & you find yourself relating to their comical teenage adventures.


    Calame is an artisan when it comes to creating characters. Each individual had an unrivaled trait & a voice that was intrinsic to each personality. Don't let me get started on Matt's grandfather ~ he alone delivered uproarious scenes that made my sides throb.

    Swim the Fly is a phenomenal novel. I was so engaged w/ the adventures of the Calame's sidesplitting players, I was reluctant to reach the ending. It. Was. That. Hilarious.


    I can't wait to get my hands on the next whimsical treat Calame delivers!


    Run, don't walk , to grab a copy of Swim the Fly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    great fun for young adult boys

    This story should capture and hold the interest of an audience that has proved difficult to get to read. It is funny and realistic to the point where every young boy can relate to the characters and how they spend their summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2