Customer Reviews for

Swimming to Catalina (Stone Barrington Series #4)

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Autum

    Swims in the pool... any one here

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Mama

    Stone Barrington is smarter than everybody in the whole wide world... movie stars, cops, his partner, studio heads, the FBI. In Stuart Woods mind anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Stonepelt

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Skyleaf

    Sighed. "Let's go back to the regular den.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Warrior den

    Warrior den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Ninja

    Drowns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    highly recommended

    This is one of a series of great Barrington books. I could not put it down. It has everything to keep your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Mediocre

    kinda boring at times. i expected stone barrington to be a more interesting character. but overall it was alright.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Another Good Woods' Book

    So the hero almost drowns but he doesn't. Okay, it sounds like Woods' stuff. Actually it is pretty good. I really enjoy Woods' work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    Stuart Woods another hit!!!

    Stuart Woods was a new author to me and again I am hooked. The character of Stone Barrington is terrific. Stone begins his career as a policeman but becomes a New York State lawyer. Clients draw him into one breathless mystery after another. The twists and turns keeps the reader turning page after page. His partner on the force, Dino, appears as his constant sidekick and reminder to stay inside the law when solving cases. Some clients appear in a second book but don't let that stop you from reading. Each book is a completed case filled with murder, intrigue, sex and excitement. The following is the list of how the Stone Barrington books were released: New York Dead: Dirt, Dead In The Water, Swimming On Catalina, Worst Fears Realized, LA Dead, Cold Paradise, The Short Forever and Dirty Work. Be sure and search out the other books written by Stuart Wood and his other stars of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    A real page-turner

    I can't say that Stuart Woods is the best writer ever (I'm a big Steven King fan), but I hate buying his books. I simply cannot put them down. I read this book cover to cover in less than 24 hours, and that's with a full-time job. The stories are captivating, and the books very easy reads. He is a big 'formulaic' writer - if you get 'Writer's Digest,' you will see that he uses all the right hooks to keep you reading. The thing is, they work and he uses them very well. I am going to have to get the next one from the library. I just read them too quickly to buy them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2001

    Another Quick Read!

    Stuart Woods is an excellent story teller. His character Stone Barrington is someone I wish to follow again, but come on ... can't he find someone besides Arrington. She is clueless and a little dipsy. Stone must have liked her for the sex, for she certainly is blonde! If you like quick reading and heroic escapes from death, this is the novel. Stone keeps his sex appeal in the novel, but it does become a little unbelievable at times. The ending tries to wrap things up quickly and there are a lot of answers to questions without the details. A little more time on detail needs to be afforded to the Stone Barrington novels to make them great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2001

    ABSOLUTELY CAPTIVATING!!!

    Woods has done it again. Barrington and his womanizing ways are back again in this mysterious tale of a missing x-girlfriend. Absolutley could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3