BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Swindle (Swindle Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

And the Winner Is

I was first drawn to this book as a Read-Aloud for my students because of its cover. We love dogs! Once inside the pages of the story we found so much more. We found new vocabulary, discussion, and cliffhangers. We found good friends who always found a way to be there f...
I was first drawn to this book as a Read-Aloud for my students because of its cover. We love dogs! Once inside the pages of the story we found so much more. We found new vocabulary, discussion, and cliffhangers. We found good friends who always found a way to be there for each other. We found that justice prevails. They thought it was one of the best books that they had ever read. They are looking forward to reading Mr. Korman's new book, Zoobreak.

posted by cardinalSC on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Have you even read IT ???????????????????????????????

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    And the Winner Is

    I was first drawn to this book as a Read-Aloud for my students because of its cover. We love dogs! Once inside the pages of the story we found so much more. We found new vocabulary, discussion, and cliffhangers. We found good friends who always found a way to be there for each other. We found that justice prevails. They thought it was one of the best books that they had ever read. They are looking forward to reading Mr. Korman's new book, Zoobreak.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    The Book That Started It All For Me

    I read this in like the 4th grade and I read it in like three days (after that, I tried to read all of the books that I ever read in three days, successfully). I love it love it love it. I didn't know who the heck Gordon Korman was before this book, but now, he is like my writing idol. He is amazing at what he does, and even as I went into middle school, the third book came out. I realized that the text was kinda big, and the words were a little younger for me, but that didn't pull me away. I became older, but the books didn't make me feel like it. I love it. I love this series. I love Gordon Korman. Exciting, entertaining, fun. I can't stop reaching for Gordon Korman books now. I read this one like 6 times in like a month and a half. I love it all Gordon Korman... Keep 'em coming! =)

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Love love love love this book

    Omg I love this book it was so good, at the heist part my hand was shaking and I was sweating.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Its a great book

    Listen to ME!! This book is great. It has one flaw It takes a little to long to get to the point.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    swindle

    we had to read this in class. i usually dont like the books that teachers pick out because they are usually boring. but this one wasnt boring. i really liked. i recommend this to people who like mystery and secret operation spy stuff. lol. if you liked this book i also recommend id tell you i love you but then id have to kill you by ally carter, model spy by shannon greenland, the squad by jennifer lynn barnes, the 39 clues by various authors, and death by bikini by linda gerber.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    THE BEST BOOK EVER

    Swindle
    The book I have read is Swindle by Gordon Korman. He writes a very good realistic book. Swindle the book to read if you like adventure and mystery.
    The main character is Griffin Bing he and his family are having some tough times. They are having financial problems. His best friend is Ben Solvak. They do everything together. He calls Griffin the man with the plan. S. Wendell Palomino (aka. Swindle) is the owner of Palomino's Emporium where Griffin sells his baseball card.
    This story mostly takes place inside of and outside of Palomino's Emporium. It is a comic book and collectables store. It has a guard dog, a high-tech security system, and a big solid metal vault bolted to the floor that Griffin has to brake in to.
    I think the lesson in this story is not to let someone take advantage of you. You should always stand up for what you believe in. The story is mostly about courage and importance of friendship. Griffin and his friends solved the problem by not letting anyone take advantage of you.
    Griffin and Ben are sleeping over at this old abandoned building. They find a very old baseball card of the famous Babe Ruth. They go to sell it at Palomino's Emporium. When they got there Palomino told them it was a fake and it was worthless. He said he would give them $120 for the card. The next day Palomino was on the news with the card. He said he would hold an auction for the card the first bid would start at one million dollars. After Griffin hears that he has been swindled of the money that card was worth, he puts together a team of friends and students to steal it back. I'm not going to spoil the end so you can read the book and find out what happens.
    This book was one of my favorites. It is a great book. I liked everything about this book. The story is very strait forward. It's a little predictable. I give this book a four out of five.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Fyfhvhvh

    This is a grrrr8 book . It is about a boy named Griffin & he finds a baseball card . It gets swindled & his friends and he steal it back . My librarian actually read it to me & I loved it evrer since ! :). You should ABSOLUTLEY get it !

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    I'm Grace tap here

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



    10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000%

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Must Read

    This book is of course one of a kind and I would love to read the second book of the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Greate book funny also

    Loved the book

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Swindle is the book to read!!!!!!!!

    Swindle book Reveiw



    Swindle is a adventurous book full of action. After reading every page you just want to read on. Theres never ending excitment all through the book. I think the book could be a little bit longer and more exciting ending.

    The main character is Griffin, the man with the plan he decides to make a team of kids to get a million dollar baseball card back. Includes a rock climber, pet owner, nd tech geek. All of them will try to excute te complicated plan. Griffin is the smart one who comes up with all the plans. The pet owner is the girl who has alot of experience with animals. Tech geek is the girl who is great with technology.

    My opinion of this book is good. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes funny but exciting story plots, which makes it intense. Swindle is the book to read it is great!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Swindle

    Swindle by author Gordon Korman, is a book of fiction. This book is about two boys, Griffin, and Ben who was throwing a party at the abandoned house alone because they said the house was known to be haunted. There alone at the house. Griffin bet Ben $60.00 to stay all night at the abandoned house.

    The main character is Griffin Bing, he's the guy with a plan, and he has to be perfect all the time. He's friend is Ben Slovak was the chicken and scared to stay at the house, but he did because that was the bet. They Said the reason why the house is haunted was because the guy old man Rockford who use to leave there is in jail for cutting his wife up with a chain saw in that house.

    The story took place at 10:34 p.m. at the abandoned house where they was throwing a party which no one was coming to because of the house being haunted. In the story the morning they woke up they had to run out they door because they were about to knock down the house. Griffin was stuck to the desk where he found a hidden place where in the back of the drawer there was a baseball card with Babe Ruth's name and a loaf of bread. So he took the card to a store with lots of other baseball cards to see how much it was worth. So the guy said it was a fake, but he still gave him $120.00 for the card. So Griffin took the money. He was sad because his parents always argue about not having a lot of money and he thought he would be able to help them but he couldn't because he didn't get enough. He gave Ben $60.00 because he stuck with the plan. So now he only has $60.00 left. He was sad because he wanted to get a lot of money to help his parents because they always argue for not having so much money, but he cant because he cant tell his parents where he got the $60.00 with out tell them where he was instead of the sleepover he was suppose to be at.

    The author is trying to tell kids that you shouldn't go some where your not suppose to go and you shouldn't go in an abandoned house and stay the night because if its going to get torn down the next day and you don't get out in time then your going to get hurt or maybe even be killed.

    So Griffin went home, but he didn't give his parents the money because he couldn't give it to them without telling them where he got it. So he went on with his sad life because his parents fought all the time for not having money.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    AWSOME

    Self explanitory

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Have you even read IT ???????????????????????????????

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Swindle

    A very funny and good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    I love this book

    My favorite charictars are Griffin and savanna great story
    I loved it
    5 stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Swindle

    Awsome book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Click

    So entertaining and good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Wonderful

    This book is amazing! Griffin and his team aren't gonna back down! I would recomend this book is you like action and realistic fiction. I originaly would not read it cuz i don't like realilistic fiction but i read it for schoolwork and my whole group can agree with me for one thing, this is a GREAT BOOK!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Lebron James review ( actually me! )

    It is a very good book and my kids loved it! Very great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10