Customer Reviews for

Swing Your Sword: Leading the Charge in Football and Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highy recommended

This is the story of Leach's firing, but that occurs later in the book. It is an interesting travel thru the mind of an intelligent, though admittedly quirky football coach whose thinking is quite different from most coaches. His firing was a mark of shames on my alma...
This is the story of Leach's firing, but that occurs later in the book. It is an interesting travel thru the mind of an intelligent, though admittedly quirky football coach whose thinking is quite different from most coaches. His firing was a mark of shames on my alma mater and typical, I am afraid, of a lot of political intrigues that are happening now.

posted by 9048413 on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Vhchhxjjc

SEARCH SNEAKIER USES FOR EVERY DAY THINGS TO JOIN SUNCLAN! – GOLDENSTAR

posted by 11294737 on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Highy recommended

    This is the story of Leach's firing, but that occurs later in the book. It is an interesting travel thru the mind of an intelligent, though admittedly quirky football coach whose thinking is quite different from most coaches. His firing was a mark of shames on my alma mater and typical, I am afraid, of a lot of political intrigues that are happening now.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Great read

    Enjoyed every word! There is some really evil stuff going on with the higher ups in west texas.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good Insight Into Innovative Mind

    As a coach and Tech graduate I was very interested in Swing Your Sword. I wanted to know about the shady dealings that forced Leach's departure, but also wanted to get some insight into his coaching philosophy and thought process. I was very pleased with how much Leach opened up in this book about his life, experiences, and football. I really enjoyed all the quotes embedded throughout the book from other coaches, players and friends. Reading this book makes me, as a coach, want to sit with Leach or follow him for a week and get as much knowledge from him as possible. Great read! I look forward to following his career and watching the success he will soon have at Washington State.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    The best, and very true.

    This is a great book about the lies that were being told by texas tech and the james family about this great coach. I loved this book very much, it was filled with 100% more facts than texas tech and espn were telling the world. It is worth reading, all the facts come in print. Overall it is a great bok, and easy to read, you will love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Great book - a must read

    Everyone who enjoys football will enjoy this book. If you are involved with coaching football, from the youngest little league to pro, there is a lot to learn from this book.
    A very enjoyable read. Like sitting across the breakfast table listening to Mike Leach as you discuss football and life with him.

    He is a very genuine, likable person with an amazing mind.

    The book is about working with and motivating people first of all. The book also documents the truth about a situation gone terrible wrong in Texas that has removed this amazing coach from his work and profession. Shame on you Texas Tech, ESPN and Spaeth Communication.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    A Sharp Sword

    This extremely insightful book not only discussing football but also discussing life and thought process makes Mike Leach not only a great coach, but a great role model and philosopher. Leach, through his quirkiness and charisma, takes you through his very entertaining life story and teaches you life lessons along the way. A must-read for any coach, leader, or just an everyday person. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Good book... Not great, but very good.

    Good ... not great. I really enjoyed it from a HS football coaches perspective. He is a very interesting man and has great innovative ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Swing Your Sword

    Awesome book! I love the way this man thinks; he is very even-tempered and always in control of his thouggts and actions. Great for all fans of tge game of football, but more for those that enjoy watching and learning from people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    The title of this autobiography is Swing Your Sword by Mike Leac

    The title of this autobiography is Swing Your Sword by Mike Leach. In this autobiography Leach talks about his life and how he got into his career. Leach is a football coach and he takes us through his journey in this autobiography.
    Leach wrote this autobiography to share his story. I also believe he wrote this autobiography in an attempt to inspire his readers. This is a first person point of view book in which Leach is writing about his life and his occupation. This is in informally written book that shares information on Leach’s past. I read this book because I am interested in following Leach’s footsteps and becoming a football coach. After reading this book my interest in the field has grown. I think Leach did a great job in writing this book and I really enjoyed it. I would recommend you read this book if you are interested in coaching or if you just want to be entertained and inspired.
    I thought this book was very interesting. Leach has had an up and down career and he shares that in his book. There are a lot of misconceptions about Leach and I think he wanted to write this autobiography to clear up a lot of them. His intended audience is all those who want to hear Leach’s side of the story and to see how he thinks.
    In this Autobiography Leach takes us through his life, his rise to stardom, and a controversial event in his past. Leach does a nice job taking us through his life one step at a time. I recommend this book to anyone out there that is interested. This is a great book and something I really enjoyed reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Good read

    Very interesting read....Mike Leach is an incredible person and coach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Captain Leach

    My respect for Leach has only grown after reading this book. A great coach at my former school, he writes about so much more of who he is than how he was portrayed by Tech's administration. It reads as if he's talking to you, and I'd recommend it to anyone who's ever loved the man or the game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Football Genius

    A football genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Entertaining

    A very enjoyable and entertaining read. Leach is eccentric but his journey through the coaching ranks and his philosophies, both in football and life make this book a must for true football fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    A good read even if you are not a Tech fan.

    I am both a Tech and Coach Leach fan. He has. a great perspective and I regret he was fired. If you are a football fan you can enjoy a read about his techniques which have produced explosive offensive stats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    Leach pretty much covers all the bases.From growing up in Wyoming,attending BYU then Pepperdine Law to all his coaching stops,leading up to his dismissal at Texas Tech.He doesn't come at you with "coach speak",in fact he's careful not to be cliche and doesn't apologize for it.What a relief.His methods aren't the norm,but they work and its easy to understand why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3