Customer Reviews for

Swipe (Swipe Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

From the Prologue I was turning pages. How intriguing was that



From the Prologue I was turning pages. How intriguing was that prologue? Like you weren’t going to keep reading to see what that was all about.

A playground, midnight, some kids and Meg....then the Dust was all over her......

This is a dystopian, fast paced ...


From the Prologue I was turning pages. How intriguing was that prologue? Like you weren’t going to keep reading to see what that was all about.

A playground, midnight, some kids and Meg....then the Dust was all over her......

This is a dystopian, fast paced middle grade read. I honestly forgot these kids were twelve years old. I had to keep reminding myself. It felt like an older middle grade book if that makes sense? Spy kids, meets dystopian, the Marked vs the Markless.

Logan Langly ..lol!! Sometimes reminded me of his age, at the start of the book he is a paranoid, scared boy who had a night light ( afraid of the dark) and his father tucked him in at night. By the end of the book......another matter! Logan has his reasons for his behaviour, his sister Lily died from receiving the Mark. He has felt like he has been watched for a long time. He can’t tell anybody how he feels.

At the age of thirteen you Pledge yourself and get Marked on your wrist. Now as far as I understand, the Mark is like you are barcoded and you scan your wrist to do things. I think it is a type of Big Brother in a way.

There was a war and this has been the end result to try to keep Peace ....but is it?

Evan’s world building I really enjoyed. He added some different things to his dystopian story. The middle grade school is underground...no..nobody is a vampire..hehe!! Residences, average height is twenty stories, one room per floor with an elevator and the yard is on the roof. Logan’s home is eleven stories. Musical instrument, Wailing Mitts, like turtle shells with ten finger rings , move them around and pull on the rings to make like a guitar sound or keyboard sound. I want me a pair of those, they sounded cool. We have rock, paper and scissors. Evan’s world has, rock, tablet, laser..ha!

I did laugh, for all the future type things like rollersticks and the spy gadgets, the good ol fashioned, can on the string was used to eavesdrop.

The DOME = Department of Marked Emergencies ( sounds like something out of Harry Potter) they are after a chappy called Peck. Now Peck is a BIG mystery, even down to what he looks like for most of this book. It is the rather good twist in this story. Even when we meet Peck for the first time, Evan tells us nothing, no description.

Enter Erin and her father, Mr Arbitor. He used to work for the Beacon Police, but now...........!

Erin and her father move to Spokie which is where our story takes place. Things are happening in Spokie and DOME wants to sort it out.

Erin is not too happy about moving to Spokie , but she makes friends with Logan and the story turns into these two pulling a Nancy Drew and uncover all sorts of things. They are actually doing a better job than DOME who are rather none the wiser to room 113B getting supplies nicked. Great security guys!

Dane , Hailey and Logan have been besties up until fifth grade, they did everything together. Dane decided he liked Hailey more than friends, Hailey decided she liked Logan, he was none the wiser , Dane got upset , jealousy flew in the air ( guys you are only twelve) . Logan still none the wiser as he is crushing on Erin, who is none the wiser..ha! But, Hailey is wiser and is upset with Logan. Dane is peeved at Logan and shows his affections to Hailey by calling her weirdo...hehe!

Then we have this bunch of misfits brought together by the infamous Peck. Eddie and Tyler are 13, Joanne 15, Meg has issues , I shouldn’t laugh but there was a fry pan Tangled ( movie) incident and Blake who appears in charge is 14. Blake appears so much wiser for his age. Eddie and Tyler belong in the movie Lord of the Flies. They were a little too eager!

You get the feeling Blake is more of a good guy, he cares for Rusty. You do wonder who are the bad guys, and who are the good guys...it’s not as clear cut as you think.

This was a great middle grade read it will keep you guessing and then throw in some twists along the way. The ending will have you wanting for more.

posted by Novelsontherun on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Swipe is about a 12 year old boy named Logan Langly. On every ci

Swipe is about a 12 year old boy named Logan Langly. On every citizens 13th Birthday boys and girls alike line up to get their marks. These aren't test grades but rather a tattoo that lets the wearer do everything from getting a job to simple pleasures such as buying an...
Swipe is about a 12 year old boy named Logan Langly. On every citizens 13th Birthday boys and girls alike line up to get their marks. These aren't test grades but rather a tattoo that lets the wearer do everything from getting a job to simple pleasures such as buying an ice cream cone. Unlike most kids his age Logan doesn't want the mark. His sister died several years before getting hers and ever since that day Logan has felt like he's been watched. The Mark that once held such joy now seems like a bad omen and it's up to Logan and his new friend Erin to find out the reason why.

Sounds like such a great book doesn't it? Maybe it's because the Book is geared to Middle Graders making it harder to connect with but I just didn't find this book enjoyable at all. Not a single character was likeable. Even the background players annoyed me with their behavior. Logan in particular knew something was going on but instead of going with his gut and reporting it he took the advice of a girl named Erin he's known less then 5 seconds. Speaking of Erin I found her character to be a lot like Hermione Granger except if Hermione was self centered, manipulative and living in a Dystopian society. I certainly think Erin has a larger role to play than she is letting on but as to what that is I can only speculate.

The buildup of the entire story was for Logan to come to this big revelation that The Mark was bad. I kept waiting for some insight into why The Dust/unmarked felt this way but right at the end when it's finally revealed all they could come up with is we think so. I'm sorry, but would you take the word of someone trying to kidnap you for weeks on end? I know I wouldn't. Even when that person said my sister is alive, I still wouldn't believe them to the point Logan seems to. Now granted this is a child were talking about with an already fragile psyche but after all he's seen I didn't think he could be that stupid.

The entire concept of the Dust/Unmarked children really baffled me. Why kidnap these kids saving them from an unknown fate if nobody is going to parent them? Surely some of the unmarked adults could take them under their wings and create a stable-ish environment for them. The Dust/Unmarked children reminded me of the lost boys from Peter Pan just more savage. I guess my biggest gripe with them is I didn't feel bad for their situation. They all had families who loved them and this guy Peck comes along, kidnaps and brainwashes them then doesn't even take care of them properly. Even if marked rejects died it would be a better fate then that these kids are living in.

I really could go on and on nitpicking every little thing that bugged me but I will spare you. In the end the only thing I found quasi enjoyable about this book were the cool DOME gadgets that Erin steals. Sadly that isn't enough to give me back the days I wasted reading this book. I will be giving Swipe by Evan Angler ¿¿. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

posted by Hermyoni on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    From the Prologue I was turning pages. How intriguing was that



    From the Prologue I was turning pages. How intriguing was that prologue? Like you weren’t going to keep reading to see what that was all about.

    A playground, midnight, some kids and Meg....then the Dust was all over her......

    This is a dystopian, fast paced middle grade read. I honestly forgot these kids were twelve years old. I had to keep reminding myself. It felt like an older middle grade book if that makes sense? Spy kids, meets dystopian, the Marked vs the Markless.

    Logan Langly ..lol!! Sometimes reminded me of his age, at the start of the book he is a paranoid, scared boy who had a night light ( afraid of the dark) and his father tucked him in at night. By the end of the book......another matter! Logan has his reasons for his behaviour, his sister Lily died from receiving the Mark. He has felt like he has been watched for a long time. He can’t tell anybody how he feels.

    At the age of thirteen you Pledge yourself and get Marked on your wrist. Now as far as I understand, the Mark is like you are barcoded and you scan your wrist to do things. I think it is a type of Big Brother in a way.

    There was a war and this has been the end result to try to keep Peace ....but is it?

    Evan’s world building I really enjoyed. He added some different things to his dystopian story. The middle grade school is underground...no..nobody is a vampire..hehe!! Residences, average height is twenty stories, one room per floor with an elevator and the yard is on the roof. Logan’s home is eleven stories. Musical instrument, Wailing Mitts, like turtle shells with ten finger rings , move them around and pull on the rings to make like a guitar sound or keyboard sound. I want me a pair of those, they sounded cool. We have rock, paper and scissors. Evan’s world has, rock, tablet, laser..ha!

    I did laugh, for all the future type things like rollersticks and the spy gadgets, the good ol fashioned, can on the string was used to eavesdrop.

    The DOME = Department of Marked Emergencies ( sounds like something out of Harry Potter) they are after a chappy called Peck. Now Peck is a BIG mystery, even down to what he looks like for most of this book. It is the rather good twist in this story. Even when we meet Peck for the first time, Evan tells us nothing, no description.

    Enter Erin and her father, Mr Arbitor. He used to work for the Beacon Police, but now...........!

    Erin and her father move to Spokie which is where our story takes place. Things are happening in Spokie and DOME wants to sort it out.

    Erin is not too happy about moving to Spokie , but she makes friends with Logan and the story turns into these two pulling a Nancy Drew and uncover all sorts of things. They are actually doing a better job than DOME who are rather none the wiser to room 113B getting supplies nicked. Great security guys!

    Dane , Hailey and Logan have been besties up until fifth grade, they did everything together. Dane decided he liked Hailey more than friends, Hailey decided she liked Logan, he was none the wiser , Dane got upset , jealousy flew in the air ( guys you are only twelve) . Logan still none the wiser as he is crushing on Erin, who is none the wiser..ha! But, Hailey is wiser and is upset with Logan. Dane is peeved at Logan and shows his affections to Hailey by calling her weirdo...hehe!

    Then we have this bunch of misfits brought together by the infamous Peck. Eddie and Tyler are 13, Joanne 15, Meg has issues , I shouldn’t laugh but there was a fry pan Tangled ( movie) incident and Blake who appears in charge is 14. Blake appears so much wiser for his age. Eddie and Tyler belong in the movie Lord of the Flies. They were a little too eager!

    You get the feeling Blake is more of a good guy, he cares for Rusty. You do wonder who are the bad guys, and who are the good guys...it’s not as clear cut as you think.

    This was a great middle grade read it will keep you guessing and then throw in some twists along the way. The ending will have you wanting for more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A review copy was provided for an honest review. Swipe is the fi

    A review copy was provided for an honest review. Swipe is the first book in a unexpectedly thrilling Dystopian series. Though the demographic aims for middle-graders I certainly didn't have a problem enjoying it. It's written expertly and maybe perhaps a little above the intended reading level as I myself had to look up some of the vocabulary. Regardless, it weaves together action-adventure, espionage, suspense, and futuristic elements wonderfully. I will admit I was extremely skeptical when I first started reading because it didn't hold my interest right away as it's a bit slow in the beginning but I pushed on and soon enough I forgot the slow pace it set because it picked up nicely toward the middle. The characters are interesting, their is a lot of POV swapping which can add some confusion but that eventually clears up enough to not be a reading obstacle. I didn't know how I felt about so many perspectives being thrown at you but once you get near the end of the story it all comes together and its understood as to why you needed to see other viewpoints. Logan, the leading protagonist of the story is paranoid, and scared for his life but when he meets Erin he finally comes out of his shell and starts being a person again. I liked seeing the character development and how Logan starts to act more mature and really grows from a kid into a teenager over the course of a few months. Erin is one of my favorite characters in the book. She's super smart - can hack almost any computer, tough, and resourceful. I thought all the high-tech equipment & technology was really neat, the world is very fascinating on so many levels - I'm excited to see more of it! Fantastic world-building - Evan Angler had a clear vision of the story and it really came through.

    Ever since the worldwide unification people have no other choice but to receive the Mark. When you reach the age of thirteen that's when you are given it; it provides you citizenship benefits—everything you need to live in the world. Those who refuse it are left in the cold—to starve with no way to get food other than thievery, no currency to buy anything with, and no access to society. The Markless are shunned into a horrific existence but twelve-year-old Logan Langly is wary to receive his. After his sister turned 13 and never returned from getting the Mark he's had a difference of opinion as to the safety that it offers. He becomes withdrawn and afraid since his sister's disappearance he's felt like he's being watched every day 24/7. His parents think it's all in his head until he catches a Markless following him—then his worst fears are confirmed. Erin is thirteen and newly moved from Beacon—a wealthy division and more sophisticated city in comparison to Spokie—but she detests her new life. Things start to look up when she meets a boy named Logan who can possibly help her make her way back to her old home. After sharing stories Logan and Erin decide that they can work together to achieve their goals by unraveling the mystery of the Markless but they get in too deep and things don't go as planned...

    Swipe is a lot better once you start to understand what is going on. It will take you by surprise multiple times, although some are easy to see coming other twists will shock you. The ending will leave you sitting with your mouth agape! I was really glad to have the next novel at hand so I could dive into what left me hanging in Swipe's conclusion. Swipe is not only well written but has an unusual fresh story that's engaging and impressively engrossing. I was glad to have read it and I'm even more psyched for the second book titled Sneak. A great mature middle-grade adventure that has a little of everything—it'll have you very intrigued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    A good thought provoking book.

    Interesting characters and story line. An interesting perspective and demonstration of what prejudice looks like. Shawnee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    To Be Marked or Markless? In a future US, where there has been

    To Be Marked or Markless?


    In a future US, where there has been a fracture with the states and the whole country has gone through a governmental change there is now a Mark system. Those that are Markless are either under the age of 13 or are what society feels are the unwanted. These unwanted have, for whatever reason, chosen not to go Marked. What is the Mark? It's a digitized system, placed into your arm that allows you the freedoms to vote, work, etc. Okay, so it's big brother watching you. But being Marked is considered what upstanding citizens have done and that it allows the country to be in balance.


    The story starts off with Logan, who's 2 months shy of turning 13, therefore 2 months shy of being Marked. He feels he's being watched. Enter Erin, she is Marked and she has moved to the town where Logan lives because of her fathers government work. Erin discovers what her fathers job basically is, without him telling her, she is turns realizes that the person the government, in this case DOME, is after is the person who has been following Logan. Why? They aren't sure yet. To complicate matters worse, when they do get some good info, Erin decides that they sleuth it out themselves instead of notifying the higher ups. When they do get involved, there is a distinct shift in the story. There is also a revelation that not only makes Logan shocked, but will also throw you into going wha-wha-wha?


    There is action, jealousy, conspiracies, kidnappings, etc all wrapped into this book. There are times the story lags, but keep on going, the pace will pick up again. For the majority of the book, you're biggest questions is why Logan? Near the end you get the answer, and after thinking about it you totally get it.


    There are many books out there that you think, this could/would never happen, but this is a book that has a story that you could see happen so it really hits home.


    The second book is available, it's titled Sneak with the 3rd book, Storm, expected in May of this year. I've got to see where this story goes, especially with the majority if the backstory done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Logan Langly is twelve years old living in the small town of Spo

    Logan Langly is twelve years old living in the small town of Spokie, a part of New Chicago. Soon he will receive his Mark allowing him to get a job, ride public transport and purchase things. It’s a right of passage, the right of pledging to become a full citizen of American Union. Everyone is excited to get his or her Mark this year, everyone that is except for Logan. 
    Five years previously, Logan’s sister Lily went for her Mark but never returned. Ever since that tragic day Logan has been convinced he’s being watched, hunted with no idea why. When he goes for his Mark, he’s sure to come back isn’t he? The bumps in the night sing a different tune and Logan will have to make up his mind what to believe in before his 13th birthday and time is running out. 
    I was surprised and unaware that this book was written for the middle school range. It took me a while to remember my books of my youth such as Animorphs and Goosebumps to get my head around this kind of story. It’s a bit younger than what I like but once I was able to get into the right age frame I grew to enjoy the book and was impressed with the effective story telling. 
    Swipe is more than just a story of a missing sister, there is so much more to this new North American world. The aspect of politics is slowly introduced and the struggles of family life because of survival make this a darker read than I expected. The characters are full of life and each has a clear and consistent voice. Most of the characters are male as well and although ‘romance’ is slightly present it doesn’t distract from the real heart of the story: reuniting a family. An excellent book for boys who don’t like to read, I’d suggest Angler’s series to anyone who has a tween-aged reader. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Christian Fiction Dystopian for Teens AND Adults

    Loved how the author incorporated the one world government, currency , and the "mark". How the hold-outs became "markless" in a society where Christianity is all but forgotten..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    After reading the synopsis of this book, I was so excited to get

    After reading the synopsis of this book, I was so excited to get into. Finally a book that I know will give me goosebumps as well as the truth of the Lord.

    First off, the plot is really good. I really loved the setting of the world that Logan is in. he is faced with lots of questions that he gets no answers too. He is searching for answer but his time is running out. The plot build up is sort of slow but quickly picks up the pace with much action by the markless. The world building of the fallen world with the ruin that are left to stand are great! I loved how easily the reader is able to let their imagination run away with them.

    Logan meets other characters that help him along way. Though I am glad they help him I am disappointed in one thing. The truth. God's Word. I was hoping that by the end of the book Logan would learn the real reason by the mark and not just because he is questioning if it is wrong or right. Know what I mean? I
    wanted Logan to stand and be courageous!! Instead in the end, the reader is left with many questions and Logan on the run.

    Swipe is a great start of an awesome series. It has so much that can be build on, that the possibilities are endless. Never a dull moment, Swipe is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Quick read

    Interesting plot, but I would have liked to see the characters developed more and the relationships between the various characters given more depth. I will be looking forward to the next book to see where this unique plot leads. Maybe it will be a little longer then 200 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Pretty good!!

    Futuristic dystopian tome geared towards young adult. Yet, as an adult I enjoyed it. If you liked 1984 or similar works then read Swipe!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    "In the ten years since it had been implemented, the Mark h

    "In the ten years since it had been implemented, the Mark had quickly become the capstone of a childhood well spent, the crowning achievement in a young man's or woman's life, the opened door to adulthood and independence. Logan couldn't wait to see how it looked on Lily's wrist when she got back.
    'Wish me luck,' Lily said as she walked out the door...
    That was the last anyone saw of Logan's big sister, Lily."


    Five years later, Logan Paul Langly is only a few months away from his thirteenth birthday and getting the Mark himself--and he's terrified. He's not just afraid because his sister, Lily, was what the government referred to as a "flunkee," and the Mark didn't "agree" with her. No, Logan is afraid because he knows...he's being watched.

    Erin Arbitor is not happy. She and her father had to move away from her mother and the happening, capitol city of Beacon to the podunk town of Spokie all because of her dad's "government work." Erin is willing do anything to move back home and see her family reunited and happy again, so she decides to investigate the project her dad is working on in the hopes that, if she can help, they can return home faster. With her new, sort-of friend, Logan, Erin uncovers more than she bargained for, and in the process, Logan and Erin realize their lives will never be the same again.

    Swipe by Evan Angler unfolds like a movie, following several point of views, though Logan and Erin are the primary characters. The two main groups of focus, DOME, a government agency, and the Dust, a Markless rebel group, each have secrets and motives that make perfect sense to them and they each think they are perfectly right about what they believe in, though their way of handling certain situations may be a bit off. I thought these groups and the characters were handled pretty realistically, though the middle-schoolers sometimes seemed older than they were. However, I think it might be understandable, considering the world they live in, where they have to mature much more quickly. And I have to give Angler props for his world building. It was very clear and interesting to read about his futuristic world and society.

    Dystopian fiction for middle-schoolers is a first for me, and I enjoyed it. All of the characters, especially Logan, grow because of their experiences in this book, and Angler has left plenty of room for more development as well. The ending took a sudden twist that I kind of saw coming but also made me realize that Swipe was only the very beginning of an even bigger story that I look forward to diving into.

    * I would like to thank the publisher and author for sending me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Ummm, are we sure they're 13 years old? Logan 12 for some of the

    Ummm, are we sure they're 13 years old? Logan 12 for some of the book as well? They don't sound like 12/13 year old kids. I didn't get that impression one bit. Why not change the age limit because the vocabulary used as well as most actions and thoughts made by the characters were those of adults. I know once they turn 13 they're deemed an adult in their society, but that doesn't mean that they are exactly like adults. Was just a bit unrealistic, yes the novel is unrealistic but we still need some sort of normalcy to this world for us to fully relate and connect to the characters and their world.

    Although Logan did show a little bit of a young kid when he first met Erin while walking her home and the way he was talking and acting towards her. Which was kinda funny. I love how in this novel, we aren't just the ones questioning everything. The kids are the exact same way from their questioning tones and minds. Always wanting to find out something just like us as the reader. We are very curious as to what exactly happens that we don't hear much of a well as their government. Basically the general kind of things we would be questioning. The book is so generally eerie and we can't help but read continuously though the novel. It's dark and brooding and we instantly love it. We start to become paranoid just as Logan is all the time, hearing things. Are we even sane?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of SWIPE

    If you are looking for an intriguing Middle Grade Dystopian read, look no further. Swipe by Evan Angler is a book that left me thinking and craving the next installment. It was a book full of paranoia, suspense, and courage.

    Main character, Logan Langly has had to live with the knowledge that his sister, Lily, had disappeared on the day she was Marked. From that day on, Logan has been living a life of paranoia…believing that he is constantly being watched and followed by an unknown person and for reasons unknown. The day that he confirms that the reason for his paranoia is real, Logan and his new friend, Erin Arbitor, make it their mission to find out who these kidnappers/murderers are and why they are targeting teens that are on the verge of Pledging and receiving their Mark.

    The world is not as it used to be. In order to survive and live in this new world, one must be Marked. What does it mean to be Marked? Once a teen turns the age of thirteen, they Pledge themselves and received a Mark on their wrist … which is like getting a matrix of intertwined numbers tattooed to your wrist. This would then allow you to get a job, make purchases, ride a bus…pretty much becoming an adult who can now take care of themselves. For those that choose not to Pledge and become Marked, they are basically banished from society, and forced to live in the slums, scavenging for food and shelter.

    The world that author, Evan Angler, has created in Swipe is one of despair and false hope. I found myself totally engrossed in this new world, and was easily able to picture everything through the eyes of main protagonist, Logan Langly. I loved that the storyline had me feeling paranoid alongside Logan. As his heartbeat faster after discovering signs of an unknown threat, I felt my heart pick up as well. I really enjoyed how the story jumped back and forth between sides…from Logan/Erin to the enemy’s in question, Blake/Peck and his crew. It really helped build up the suspense in the novel, which was what really captured my attention, and kept it. I was constantly guessing why Logan was being targeted, and wondering when his number would be up.

    The different plot twists and turns that are found in Swipe had me glued to the pages, right to the very end. What I found very interesting was that long after the end of the story, the “About The Author” section found at the end of the book still keep up the feeling of paranoia…directed to the reader! Well played Mr. Angler…well played. I cannot wait for the next book in this series entitled Sneak, due out in the Fall of 2012. Pick up a copy today, and join in on the paranoia that is Swipe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Did I enjoy this book: I really did. I read this book every free

    Did I enjoy this book: I really did. I read this book every free chance I had and finished it in short order. And I cannot wait until the sequel comes out in the fall!!! What a cliffhanger!!!

    Swipe kept me interested from the very first page to the very last. It was a fast read with a lot of suspense and second guessing. Some parts I thought I had figured out, only to find out that I didn't have a clue. It didn't end the way I thought it would and now I have to wait until the fall to see what happens next!

    The author, Evan Angler, crafted a world that was very clear. A world that - scarily enough - one can see appearing in the future. That in and of itself is rather frightening and made this book that much more engrossing.

    Logan was a great lead character. I felt for him. I felt his paranoia, his grief over losing his sister, his loneliness in trying to be "normal" despite his constant paranoia, his hope and his despair. He was only 12 years old...almost 13...but he didn't feel like a child yet not like an adult either. He was written so well. Erin was a good counter character to Logan. She seemed a bit more "worldly" and mature than Logan but was she really? Or was she just another Marked being that pledged herself to the American Union? I know the answer...or at least part of it. You need to read the book to find out for yourself!

    Would I recommend it: I would recommend this book, especially if you enjoy dystopian society reads.

    Will I read it again: I will not read it again but I will read book two in this series, Sneak, due out this fall. (I can't wait!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Swipe is a story about a future world, in where everyone has to

    Swipe is a story about a future world, in where everyone has to be Marked to survive. To have jobs, to eat, to go to school - you have to be Marked.

    Logan Langley is paranoid. He thinks he is being watched. His parents and all the doctors he's seen don't believe him. Along comes new girl Erin. She's pretty and doesn't pay much attention to Logan, until he tells her his story about how his sister's Marking procedure went wrong and she never came back. From this moment, Logan and Erin are swept into adventure and espionage.

    Evan Angler has done an amazing job setting out this world and his characters for us. Logan is might be paranoid and possibly crazy, but he is sweet and sensitive too. Erin is a wild card, constantly pushing the boundaries and showing her courage. All the other characters have their own little quirks which makes them all lovable.

    As I followed Logan and Erin on their journey, I constantly speculated how the story would end. Would they find the bad guy? Will Logan be saved? But what I did not expect was the massive twist at the end of the story. Actually, make that plural, twists. So many things you thought you had figured out, well, you haven't!

    Swipe is a bold new story, taking Dystopian to a whole new level. I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait for the sequel to be released

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    The mysteries in this book keep you reading until the very end.

    The mysteries in this book keep you reading until the very end. While this book is more for a middle school audience but the different situations that Logan gets into made me want to finish the book in one night. If you like post-apocalyptic dystopian books then you should really read Swipe. The characters really make this book come to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Mark, The Pledge, The Dust - three parts of this new post-ap

    The Mark, The Pledge, The Dust - three parts of this new post-apocalyptic novel by Evan Angler. Thirteen is the new age of "adulthood" in the world destroyed by war, famine, and fear. This is the age when children are marked as citizens of the global union and pledge their allegiance. Now they will be able to get a job and buy things without needing a parent around. So, with the benefits, why is Logan nervous? His nervousness comes from the fact that his sister, Lily, "disappeared" after going to the marking station. His family changed and now Logan is approaching his 13th birthday.

    Not only is Logan nervous getting the Mark, but he has been feeling like he is being watched and followed. He doesn't even feel safe at home. Is he truly being followed, and if so, why? The new school year is also beginning, and a new girl has joined his class. Erin's family is in turmoil and she wants to fix it. But will her "fixing" lead to problems for Logan? Then, there is Peck, the leader of "The Dust." Why is he being hunted? Who is the spy at school? Will Logan discover the truth before it's too late? The action, intrigue, and interesting technology will keep readers glued to the page.

    This book totally held my attention from beginning to end. I wanted to know what was going to happen to each of the characters. The author made me feel for them, especially the Unmarked. This book is aimed at ages 8 and up, and will encourage some interesting conversations between peers and at home. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1