Customer Reviews for

The Switch

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Read !!!!

The twins Charlie(Charlotte) and Elizabeth, confuse Lord Radcliffe, and you will find yourself smiling while reading this one.. Lyndsay Sands has again produced a well-written story was just the right touch of humor thrown in.. A definite recommend..

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Confusing

Perhaps I am too lazy when reading for pleasure but I found I was constantly going back pages to see who and what was happening. I love aything else this author has done but this book was not her best.There was no even flow to the story and wondering who was whom page a...
Perhaps I am too lazy when reading for pleasure but I found I was constantly going back pages to see who and what was happening. I love aything else this author has done but this book was not her best.There was no even flow to the story and wondering who was whom page after page just didn't make for good reading.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Switch

    From The Back:
    When they first met Lord Jeremy William Radcliffe, Charlie and her twin sister, Elizabeth, were escaping from their uncle--taking turns acting the young gentleman to avoid detection. But Charlie couldn't help falling head over heels--and out of a window--for the handsome lord. Of course, that was only the beginning, Lord Radcliffe insisted on showing "him" and her lovely sister safely to London
    But how could he do that? With every touch Radcliffe seemed unknowingly to incite desires in Charlie, and his fraternal intent was certain to land her in a fine mess. Though it was a great game to play a boy, there was more fun being female, And after one brush of his fiery lips when her guise was gone, Charlie swore to be nothing but his woman forevermore.

    This is an older 1999 book by Lynsay Sands, and I loved it. I love this kind of plot were there are twin girls or even one girl, who disguises herself as a boy, and the mighty lord finds himself having unnatural feelings for the boy. I had to laugh when Elizabeth took the role of Charlie and went with Radcliffe to the tailors, and when she got home found that the sock she put down her britches had rolled into a ball. I could have just seen the tailors face when he was getting Charlie's measurements. If you like this kind of plot I think you might enjoy this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    Good Read !!!!

    The twins Charlie(Charlotte) and Elizabeth, confuse Lord Radcliffe, and you will find yourself smiling while reading this one.. Lyndsay Sands has again produced a well-written story was just the right touch of humor thrown in.. A definite recommend..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Funny and romantic!

    I really liked this book! It was one of my favorites of Lynsay Sands. The crazy antics that ALWAYS seem to follow Charlie and Elizabeth is refreshing and hilarious to find in a romance novel. The mystery and drama in the book gives it a nice plot. I absolutely love ALL the characters, except the antagonists of course. If you liked this book you will definitely like her other books as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Summer Read

    When they first met Lord Jeremy William Radcliffe, Charlie and her twin sister, Elizabeth, were escaping from their uncle - taking turns acting the young gentleman to avoid detection. But Charlie couldn't help falling head over heels - and out of the window - for the handsome lord. Of course, that was only the beginning: Lord Radcliffe insisted on showing "him" and her lovely sister safely to London.

    But how could he do that? With every touch, Radcliffe seemed unknowingly to incite indecent desires in Charlie, and his fraternal intent was certain to land her in a fine mess. Though it was a great game to play a boy, there was more fun in being female. And after one brush of his fiery lips when her guise was gone, Charlie swore to be nothing but his woman forevermore.

    Two orphaned sisters are avoiding their uncle's marriage decision by masquerading as a traveling brother/sister group, but upon their night of escape, they are discovered by the earl of Radcliffe. Deciding to offer aid to some innocent-looking siblings on their first-trip to London, Lord Radcliffe takes this group under his wing and eventually finds himself romantically draw to one sibling in particular --- although sometimes drawn to the boy ("Charlie") and other times the girl ("Beth"), Radcliffe finds himself hilariously torn between his sexual desires toward the two --- who are actually Charlotte in disguise throughout the whole book.

    This was a great, fun tale with wonderful characters and would be a fantastic summer read! The plot was intriguing and always kept you on edge to see what mischief the sisters would get into next and what new romantic fumbles would happen with the male leads. I was in the mood for a theme in regards to the 'Hero not knowing she's a woman' story and was immensely happy with The Switch. It was enjoyable to experience Radcliffe's awkwardness throughout the book in his feelings toward Charlotte in disguise. The sisters got along splendidly and the side characters didn't distract the reader away from the overall plot, but I did find Charlotte's (aka Charlie & Beth) attitude towards helping the less fortunate bittersweet ... she took caring to the extreme and I found it a bit annoying and not really realistic.

    All in all, if your looking for a fun beach read that is both humorous and romantic - this would be a great candidate.

    Likes: The sisters daring mannerism toward anything manly (ie. wanting to visit gambling hells and clubs, etc.)

    Dislikes: I felt the story dragged here and there, but would pickup again after a few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Good book

    I enjoyed reading this book I had a good laugh the characters were pretty great in this book I would recommend it to my friends!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    I like it

    I really liked this book i read it for the first time when i was in florida with my gradpndparents, and I loved it. I think it's wonderfull, and i'm going to buy it today. I got it from the library before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2