Customer Reviews for

Switchblade: An Original Story

Average Rating 2
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Devotion143

I'm a big inner reader of this author. But I must say that the he is berry good. And I come from LA. California Devotion143

posted by 18125091 on December 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS NOT A BOOK it is an advertisement. I have loved Connelly

THIS IS NOT A BOOK it is an advertisement. I have loved Connelly in the past but this may stop my reading his books totally! Barnes & Noble and Amazon are not being honest with this publication. Don't waste your time!

posted by GeorgeFebish on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    THIS IS NOT A BOOK it is an advertisement. I have loved Connelly

    THIS IS NOT A BOOK it is an advertisement. I have loved Connelly in the past but this may stop my reading his books totally! Barnes & Noble and Amazon are not being honest with this publication. Don't waste your time!

    34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    This should be free This should be free, This is a rip off. A short story of 15 pages and an advertisement for a new book.

    This is a rip off. The short story is 15 pages and the rest is a preview for a new book. Should have been free.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Fuming

    I put this on my Wishlist only to find out it's not even a novel. Why even bother.

    23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    What a ripoff,Connelly should be ashamed

    What a ripoff,Connelly should be ashamed

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Book? Short Story? ???

    I paid $0.99 to pre-order this advertisement. I was at least expecting a short story. What i received was a one chapter, 18 page advertisement for an upcoming TV show????
    Now that it is available, after i paid to pre-order, it is now offered for free.

    Very upsetting

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Very Disappointed

    Less than 20 pages of story--hardly his best and the rest is chapters from the lawyer book.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Crap

    Do not purchase

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    If it's too good to be true

    It probably is. I guess that's how everyone makes money the easy way --- trick people. The number of stars refect lack of value for money!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    A book. ? A BOOK?

    I felt cheated

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Bad

    Not worth even one star. Never again Michael Connelly. A short story is one thing, but this was 18 or so pages of fluff and 30 pages of advertisement. Not even a good magazine article.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Devotion143

    I'm a big inner reader of this author. But I must say that the he is berry good. And I come from LA. California

    Devotion143

    7 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Say it ain't so, Mike

    Michael Connelly is above this...you don't need to do this type of come on...

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Short story?

    When I purchased Switchblade, I didn't realize it was a short story - very short. This was disappointing. I feel tricked.

    The book cover says "An Original Story". What does that mean? At the least it should have said "An Original Short Story".

    I am wiser now.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Disappointed in the product, not the writing

    I love Michael Connelly's work. In fact, I have almost every one of his books. But this . . . this was too short, the suggestion of something that could have been nifty. I wasn't going to write a review, by B&N e-mailed me, saying "review this." So . . . here goes. DISAPPOINTED. The first Michael Connelly I've been DISAPPOINTED in.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Ripoff! DO NOT BUY! ZERO STARS! Short story with no ending!

    This is probably what I get for not reading Customer reviews before buying. But I never, ever would have expected this from my former favorite author. I have virtually every book ever written by you Mr. Connelly. But this was the last one I will ever have.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    What a crock

    I love his books, but this was a total theft of a dollar. I wish I could give it zero stars. Ugh

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Disapointing

    This is supposed to be a short story but it cuts off without an ending and is only 21 pages long then goes into a excerpt of another book, disappointing

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    This story should be free-- 3/4s of it is a preview of his alrea

    This story should be free-- 3/4s of it is a preview of his already released book. The story is ho-hum at best and does not live up to Connelly's normal books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    This should have been free

    I am sorry I bought this Can I get a refund? I am a huge fan of MC But really?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    Con job, ripoff, deception .  I used to like Bosch series. Now n

    Con job, ripoff, deception
    .  I used to like Bosch series. Now not only will I never watch the TV show, I will NEVER read another of the books.  Hey Connelly... you might want to put a little more thought into your next brilliant marketing strategy.  

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6