BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Switchblade: An Original Harry Bosch Story

Average Rating 2
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Devotion143

I'm a big inner reader of this author. But I must say that the he is berry good. And I come from LA. California Devotion143

posted by 18125091 on December 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS NOT A BOOK it is an advertisement. I have loved Connelly

THIS IS NOT A BOOK it is an advertisement. I have loved Connelly in the past but this may stop my reading his books totally! Barnes & Noble and Amazon are not being honest with this publication. Don't waste your time!

posted by GeorgeFebish on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Stephen Brayton for Readers' Favorite When Emily, t

    Reviewed by Stephen Brayton for Readers' Favorite

    When Emily, the civilian 'sorter' for calls relating to cold cases, brings Detective Harry Bosch the latest round of possibles to investigate, she mentions a mysterious caller had identified the killer of a homosexual teenager back in 1992. This starts Bosch looking into the case and, more specifically, the convicted murderer of another homosexual man around the same time period. He retrieves the evidence and finds a link between the two crimes. However, when Bosch interviews Patrick Sewell, who is coming up for parole, he is stymied and the prosecutor won't go ahead with the case unless there is enough solid evidence. It's up to Bosch to find the mysterious caller or else Sewell may walk the streets again.

    I don't care if Connelly writes full-length novels or short stories, they are always full of intrigue and suspense and solid police procedure. There is usually a twist. Switchblade concerns the killing of two homosexual men with a knife. This is one of those stories where the reader knows whodunit almost from the start, but how the lead detective figures out the clues is the main story. Because this is a short story, there isn't a lot of extraneous detail (usually concerning Bosch's personal life as seen in the longer novels) and Connelly skips much of the mundane affairs that could have been a drag on the story. Still, I did have one disappointment...that the story didn't last longer. However, even with the shorts, Connelly draws in the reader for a very enjoyable tale.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Still Harry Bosch

    Short story but still worth the time and a couole of bucks; peoole pay more for less

    Good to read, waiting for MC to publish next novel

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    .....

    ......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Impostoraptor

    Hi!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Striking 囏

    Found ya

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Great read

    If you love Harry Bosch . It's a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Wonderful.......

    Another fantastic Connelly book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    NOT SEEN

    Regret cannot give a rewiew do to the fact that my nook bookand PC was stolen at gun ppoint and I have to wait untill I get to USA to buy a new nook which I HOPE WILL BE NEXT MONTH ,REGARDSD
    SVEND

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    short but great

    Michael Connelly never disappoints. I hope he continues with the Harry Bosch series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1