Customer Reviews for

Switched

Average Rating 4
( 6850 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3410)

4 Star

(1950)

3 Star

(890)

2 Star

(287)

1 Star

(313)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Perfect for cold nights...

This is the first book I've not put down till finished with it in a long time. I bought it for my daughter originally, but chose to pre-read it first (that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it) I wound up falling in love with the book. It reminds me quite a bit of "Twilig...
This is the first book I've not put down till finished with it in a long time. I bought it for my daughter originally, but chose to pre-read it first (that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it) I wound up falling in love with the book. It reminds me quite a bit of "Twilight" but is no where near as whiny or silly as sparkling vampires.

The plot twists a bit (though it is fairly predictable at times) and keeps your attention throughout the chapters. If you haven't purchased the second book, expect to run out and do so as soon as you've finished the first!

posted by AutumnJean on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Stupid!

I can not belive this got such good ratings. It was so stupid! Trolls? ReallY!

posted by Leah78 on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 6897 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 345
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect for cold nights...

    This is the first book I've not put down till finished with it in a long time. I bought it for my daughter originally, but chose to pre-read it first (that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it) I wound up falling in love with the book. It reminds me quite a bit of "Twilight" but is no where near as whiny or silly as sparkling vampires.

    The plot twists a bit (though it is fairly predictable at times) and keeps your attention throughout the chapters. If you haven't purchased the second book, expect to run out and do so as soon as you've finished the first!

    60 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book. It is one of a kind and will keep you entertained for hours. I can only say: Amanda Hocking is a fantastic writer!!

    45 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good read

    If you are a Twilight or Sookie Stackhouse reader you will probably like this book. The book is pretty well written wih only a few typos or missing linking verbs. All in all, a good mix of action and adventure; drama and pg-rated romance.

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    I initially skipped this work but came back to it after reading the preview. I'm mostly glad I decided to read the work. The changling take is interesting and the author doesn't go so far into depth with the mechanics that one is busy thinking "how did this happen" to focus on the real plot.

    I like that the main character's thought process while recognizable as similar to a human's seems to miss huge gaps in how people think or at least how I think. Hearing the story first person really amped up the drama. The release of information or the lack of information really makes the whole story.

    I liked how even though I didn't like all the characters they had enough personality and mystery to draw me in. I've already purchased the sequel and can't wait to start that.

    For those who like urban fantasy and who don't mind a lighter more teen geared book, this is a fun rainy day read.

    23 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    Stupid!

    I can not belive this got such good ratings. It was so stupid! Trolls? ReallY!

    23 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Okay story, but poorly written with shoddy editing

    As a writer, editor, and publisher, I find this book has weak and predictable characters and a derivative plot. That would not concern me too much, except the book is also poorly written with an appalling number of grammar errors. As a grandmother with grandkids in this writer's target demographic, I would not recommend this book at all. Kids learn to write by reading, and one reason many kids can't write is because they have not been exposed to good writing. There is just too much wrong with this book as it stands.

    As a publisher, this book is an example of the reasons self-publishing continues to have a bad reputation. Shoddy editing, amateurish writing, poor word choices: all contribute to an overall perception of schlock. Hopefully, Ms. Hocking will spend some of her earnings to hire a good editor. She sorely needs one.

    22 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Worth Checking out. An easy, but good read.

    I only purchased this book because it was cheap. I wasn't expecting it be very good, but I did enjoy it a lot. Don't expect some epic story, because it's not. And I get the feeling that's not what the author was going for either. Regardless, it's good and had me entertained.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Hocking's "Switched" is an exciting page-turner

    I finished reading Amanda Hocking's "Switched" in a single day - I couldn't stop myself from turning the pages. I am totally in love with Finn and I can't wait to see what happens in the next book of this Series. If you're a Twilight or Vampire Academy fan, don't miss this book. Amanda Hocking is an exciting fresh new voice in the urban fantasy genre and I can't wait to read more of her work!!!

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This doesn't help gothic literature

    If I didn't feel duty bound to review self-published gothic works, especially when they become incredibly popular, I probably wouldn't have reviewed this book. If I'd known when I started reading this book that by the time I finished it the author, Amanda Hocking, would go on to sign with St. Martin's Press for a $2 million four-book deal, and the film rights to her Trylle Trilogy (of which "Switched" is the first book) was going to be sold to Media Rights Capital, I definitely would not have reviewed it, because I want to spend my time on more under-represented yet higher quality works.

    "Switched" (Amanda Hocking via Kindle Books, July 2010) is a Cinderella tale for the 21st century. It's a juvenile story about a teenage girl, Wendy, who happens to be a troll (They look just like everyone else, apparently.). Wendy was switched at birth in the hospital by the Trylles (Trylle being the collective term for trolls.) so she could grow up in a rich family and later be tracked down and taken back to the Trylle community where her inheritance would ultimately go to the Kingdom of Trylle, known as Forening. Only Wendy isn't any ordinary troll. Sure, she has psychic gifts just like all trolls, but in Forening she's also a princess, and her real mother, of course, is the queen of Forening.

    I would like to say there's something to this story, but there really isn't. Wendy predictably develops a crush on her sexy captor (a troll tracker named Finn), and she goes through the pains of learning to be a princess after he takes her from her human family to her biological family in Forening. There she is lavished with attention, prestige, wealth, and admiration and is even the subject of a botched kidnapping by the troll enemies of Forening during a grand ball held in her honor. Yet in spite of all that, she decides she doesn't want to be a princess. She doesn't like the way her queen-mom does business, and she misses her human family, which consists of her brother, aunt, and the boy she was changed with at birth whom she finds in Forening.

    Unfortunately, her changeling mother isn't in the picture anymore because she took a butcher's knife to Wendy when she was a little girl, knowing full well that Wendy wasn't her real daughter, or even a human being for that matter. She refused to accept that she had given birth to Wendy, and though her changeling mother was right all along, she was put in a mental institution nonetheless. If the story's starting to sound familiar, it should.

    The rip offs in this plot from modern movies like "Twilight," "The Princess Diaries," and "The Changeling" (staring Angelina Jolie) make for a very unoriginal work that even on its own is downright boring to read. At best it's an escapist fantasy piece for young girls with low self-esteem. And perhaps that's its charm, because there's no denying that Amanda Hocking's books, and this trilogy in particular, have sold very well. She's become a multi-millionaire from them.

    But I have to say "Switched" does nothing to advance the cause of modern gothic literature. Even the uncommon use of trolls that look just like humans comes off as a desperate, somewhat silly attempt to avoid using all the other over-farmed mythical creatures, such as vampires, werewolves, zombies, witches, etc., that have already been cashed in on by other authors.

    As well, the reading grade level of the writing is very low, and this will do nothing to improve the minds of the young girls who r

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    A story that drags on....

    This book is by far one of the worse fantasy books I have ever read. It contains 500 pages of a girl who falls in love with a boy she is not allowed to be with. It reminds me of the princess diaries or something with equally childish story lines. It was horribly written and it not even worth the .99 cents that i payed for it.

    16 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Wsas thssi book eduted???

    I have never read a book with so many errors. I've read other reviews that stated the reader was "annoyed". Annoyed is an understatement. I believe if writing is your bread and butter you should certainly know how to write using proper English. That would be like a doctor not knowing the human anatomy. The story line was incredibly average and the plot was obvious at best.

    14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    Wonderful, original, touching story! Highly recommended.

    I got this book because the cover was interesting, and hey, $0.99. Ten pages into it, I couldn't put it down. I finished the whole book in one sitting...and immediately went and bought Amanda Hocking's other books.

    I think this is one of those rare, original, gripping stories you don't see much of today. The characters are great, their interactions are interesting, and the world Amanda created is very unique and beautiful. My reading tastes range from Nora Roberts, Nicholas Sparks, Christine Feehan, Heather Graham, Karen Rose, etc. I have to admit this book isn't like any of the above writers, but I love it.

    Amanda Hocking is going to be a pleasant addition to my favorite authors list.

    I recommend this book (and author) to anyone who is looking for a great, fun, touching read. Prepare to be obsessed!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    Fantastic Trilogy Can't wait for Number 3!

    I know this book is considered "teen" but take it from someone who is way out of their teens, this book was a great read. It had me grabbing for number 2 and googling when I can read number 3. Great plot and imagination from the author. The twisting plots in the story keep you hooked and I won't even ruin what surprise awaits in book 2. This is a great leisurely read with good character development. I can even see where the author could write books springing off of this one about the trackers, the queen, and the Vittra. Enjoy!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    good book

    it is a very intresting book to read and i have to be honest i couldnt put it down, the only prolems are all of the typos!!! it is kind of annoying.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    It was ok

    I enjoyed the story line and the writing. I could do with a little less teenage romance and crying. If you liked the twilight books you will like this. Too much teenage drama for me.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    Pleasantly Surprised.

    I am not into the fantasy genre at all - I normally roll my eyes at all things mythological. Honestly, I downloaded this book for no other reason than that it was 99 cents, and I liked the cover. That being said...I loved it. I finished it in 1 day, and finished the second book (Torn) the following day. I never expected to enjoy this book and now I am impatiently awaiting the release of the final book!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    My opinion on the book

    I really reccomend this to people who enjoyed twilight.I am 16 and i fell in love with the characters, expecially Finn. the book is like a teenage girls biggest fantasy; getting taken to a palace and finding out your a princess and the guy that saves you and guides you is cute and dreamy. I cant waiiit to download 'torn' to my ebook and read it! Amanda Hocking is AWESOME!!!!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    It's "Twilight" with trolls.

    Granted, I did read the free preview; but, the preview is nearly half of the book. It's enough to show that this is Twilight but using trolls instead of vampires and werewolves (guess all the "cool" monsters were taken). *SPOILERS* You have a female teenage lead who feels alone and outcast from the rest of her peer group. Her mother tried to murder her in the opening chapter because she swore she was a changeling; she was right, but it's not really the point here. Enter brooding mysterious boy who stalks our female lead. When did sitting outside bedroom windows watching a person become romantic? Because it really needs to stop. Also, verbal abuse is not foreplay or misconstrued attempts to show affection. Brooding boy tells female lead that she's not like everyone else and she quickly latches onto the implausible scenario that she is a mythical creature instead of a teenager with social issues. After a heart to heart with her psychotic mother, the lead character feels justified that she is indeed a mythical creature and will now run away from the only person who truly ever loved her (her brother) and follow the mysterious brooding male into the unknown. Even though the free preview continued, I was so disgusted with the message this book has in it, I had to put it down.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    Fun, quick read for anyone who enjoys teen fantasy reading

    I read Switched and immediately purchased and read Torn. I was disappointed when I realized book 3 of the Trilogy has not yet been published. I will keep an eye out for it.

    My main criticism is not of the story but the editing. Whoever edited it should look for a different job. There were many typos, grammatical errors, added or missing words, etc. It was kind of distracting. I thought the book deserved better than that.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Amazing Read ~ Must have for your nook!

    Reviewed by Bibliophile's Bestiary

    Oh my goodness, if you have a nook, go buy this book for $0.99! It is worth a lot more than that! The world the author makes is awesome. I didn't read any reviews before I got this book, so I didn't really know where it was going to go. I was guessing to myself while reading it, but couldn't figure it out. Was a twist it was! The main character, Wendy, is quite immature at first, but I think is a good addition to plot. It allows her to grow and figure out who she wants to be, not what she needs to be. Finn is awesome. One of those male characters you wish were real so you could snatch him up! The plot of it was really smooth and flowing. I could not stop reading this book, I did not stop until I was finished. I am very excited to read the continuation of the story! 5 out of 5 stars.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 6897 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 345