Customer Reviews for

Switched (Trylle Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 6838 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3405)

4 Star

(1946)

3 Star

(888)

2 Star

(287)

1 Star

(312)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Perfect for cold nights...

This is the first book I've not put down till finished with it in a long time. I bought it for my daughter originally, but chose to pre-read it first (that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it) I wound up falling in love with the book. It reminds me quite a bit of "Twilig...
This is the first book I've not put down till finished with it in a long time. I bought it for my daughter originally, but chose to pre-read it first (that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it) I wound up falling in love with the book. It reminds me quite a bit of "Twilight" but is no where near as whiny or silly as sparkling vampires.

The plot twists a bit (though it is fairly predictable at times) and keeps your attention throughout the chapters. If you haven't purchased the second book, expect to run out and do so as soon as you've finished the first!

posted by AutumnJean on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Stupid!

I can not belive this got such good ratings. It was so stupid! Trolls? ReallY!

posted by Leah78 on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1946 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 98
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good read

    If you are a Twilight or Sookie Stackhouse reader you will probably like this book. The book is pretty well written wih only a few typos or missing linking verbs. All in all, a good mix of action and adventure; drama and pg-rated romance.

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    I initially skipped this work but came back to it after reading the preview. I'm mostly glad I decided to read the work. The changling take is interesting and the author doesn't go so far into depth with the mechanics that one is busy thinking "how did this happen" to focus on the real plot.

    I like that the main character's thought process while recognizable as similar to a human's seems to miss huge gaps in how people think or at least how I think. Hearing the story first person really amped up the drama. The release of information or the lack of information really makes the whole story.

    I liked how even though I didn't like all the characters they had enough personality and mystery to draw me in. I've already purchased the sequel and can't wait to start that.

    For those who like urban fantasy and who don't mind a lighter more teen geared book, this is a fun rainy day read.

    23 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    good book

    it is a very intresting book to read and i have to be honest i couldnt put it down, the only prolems are all of the typos!!! it is kind of annoying.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    Fun, quick read for anyone who enjoys teen fantasy reading

    I read Switched and immediately purchased and read Torn. I was disappointed when I realized book 3 of the Trilogy has not yet been published. I will keep an eye out for it.

    My main criticism is not of the story but the editing. Whoever edited it should look for a different job. There were many typos, grammatical errors, added or missing words, etc. It was kind of distracting. I thought the book deserved better than that.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    enjoyed it

    ok i didnt know what to expect but i figured i'd give it a shot considering it was only .99. there were typos and grammar mess ups but i really did enjoy this book and the second and third books. at first i wasn't impressed with the whole troll thing but i forged ahead and after passing the tenth chapter i really got hooked on the characters. so much so that at that point i knew i would be purchasing the follow up books. i just finished the third and am slightly sad that im done. one of these reviews says the author shoves the story down your throat, which makes no sense. if your not invested in the story line you wont be invested in the characters. i liked the books and i didnt think i would. i wish this author alot of luck.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read for you and your teens!

    The cover captured my interest. Amanda makes the story so real that the Trylle could be here in America! I like the intimacy between the characters, not to sexy, but enough to keep your attention. I have already read the series and wish for more, but Amanda does not leave you hanging at the end. For those who like urban fantasy and who don't mind a lighter more teen geared book, this is a fun commuting or rainy day read. Better yet, read the series with your teen! The editors of the EBook were pretty bad though, lots of missed spelled words or sentences ending with no punctuations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    Very good

    I would have given 5 stars but they had countless mistakes in the writing. This could not have been proof read. A new proof reader is needed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I started the book wondering if I even wanted to keep reading it

    I started the book wondering if I even wanted to keep reading it. Not because it wasn´t good or badly written. No. The thing was that the idea of the story, the paranormal twist was something i had never read of before and I was not sure I was interested. But I decided to give it a chance and it was so worth it!

    I do not want to tell you what the book is about, but if you like YA and paranormal but you are bored to the usual types, vampires, weres, angels..give this one a try! Or even if you don´t like YA and paranormal, maybe you´ll enjoy this one because it´s different! And also the cover, ain´t it beautiful! And if you do choose to read this, don´t quit in the beginning, it took me a while to get used to the idea.

    I really liked the prologue of this book, it hooked me right away before I started to doubt anything. Took me about 5 chapters to get used to it. The Trylle was strange different for me. And then almost out of nowhere I noticed the book was a really quick read and I could not stop reading and was rooting for some of the characters. When I finished the first book I really wanted to continue to the second book, but didn´t have it with me. There was definitely something quite hot about a couple in this book, and I liked it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    The first book was slow moving, but ended with a cliff hanger!

    The first book was slow moving, but ended with a cliff hanger! Had to get the second one right away! So far enjoying the trilogy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Anonymus

    I loved this book; however i have loved all the books Amanda Hocking has written that i have read so far! This book had me excited the whole time! (I was practically jumpping up and down the whole time!) It was a great read and anyone who likes love stories and adventures would love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great read!

    This author keeps my attention which says a lot! It was hard to put down and read fast! I plan to continue reading the series and others by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Great Story

    When you read this I think you will be surprised what the Trylle are....Great story...Everything I have read by her has been great....I think you will be surprised by the 3rd book how it ends...Great series once again

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Good- not amazing, though...

    All of the main characters were created with a wonderfully believable depth! The plot was quite interesting as well; however, I found the diction to be redundant at times. Overall, a good, but not fantastic, read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Saw it in print today

    I have read all of this series. It's inventive and fresh. Wish more authors would branch out in the paranormal world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good cheap read

    I enjoyed this trilogy. There were an enormous amount of typos but this was otherwise a good cheap read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Highly recommended for quick read

    This was a fun quick read. The character is bratty, but developes in time. It's great for the price and passing time. If you like the twilight series, you will enjoy this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Well Done

    I loved the characters in this series. I do tend to know what is going to happen next though. Other than that Amanda Hocking is a great author. Not to mention the setting and subject were out of the ordinary. This book sets a line for yet another paranormal romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    weird, random story somehow worth 99c

    So... this book is about trolls.
    Tempermental, frizzy, magical trolls. What? Why did I read this? Why did I read it then give it four stars?
    Well, the plot was interesting, even if the characters had no idea what their place was in the plot. But I can't fault them too severely; their fate was in the author's hands.
    Honestly, Wendy, the main character, was too emotional and explosive for me to nail down a character motive beyond "I want to have what I want." Which was, of course, a dark and mysterious boy. Wendy and her romantic counterpart at times reminded me too much of Edward and Bella, and based on the reviews I've read of the author's other books, this Twilight parallelism seems to be a recurring theme in her books.
    Oh, I know I'm laying down the faults of this book like I'm ready to burn it and flush it down the toilet. But I was entertained. I couldn't put it down. I needed to know what would happen. My confession is that a small part of what kept me reading was a subtle desire to see a character die. It didn't happen and I was fine with it, but you know, what keeps you reading, keeps you reading! I kept reading!! And I'll be downloading book 2 to my Nook soon enough, so congrats to the author. I now know whose example to follow when trying to break into the world of published books, and I know to skip publishing altogether.
    FINAL VERDICT: Not just fluff-- entertaining fluff. CHEAP entertaining fluff. Worth what you pay, and only a slight waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Was Hooked!

    Really enjoyed this book. Quick read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    great plot but a little repetative

    This book had a really great story line but often repeated common ideas which was a little annoying.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1946 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 98