Customer Reviews for

Switched!

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Another Good Book in the Time Stumblers Series 105 days ago T

    Another Good Book in the Time Stumblers Series

    105 days ago Tuna and Herby landed in T.J.'s life and it has been crazy ever since. T.J. is trying out for a solo at school and the local celebrity has a few words to say about it along with her followers. T.J. learns the lesson of forgiveness in this book, the 5th book of the Time Stumblers series.
    This series is nice for kids-not only do they have a good story to read there is also some important lessons included in each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Switched!" is the 5th book in the "TJ and the Ti

    "Switched!" is the 5th book in the "TJ and the Time Stumblers" series by Bill Myers. It continues the story of mishaps and adventures that junior higher T.J. Finkelstein experiences as a result of her from-the-future companions Herby and Tuna and all their 23rd century gadgets and inventions. 

    In this installment, they learn a valuable lesson about empathy, compassion and forgiveness as they "walk a mile" in other's shoes as a result of a body-switching gizmo. TJ begins to understand that the life of her adversary, Hesper Breakaheart, is not all sunshine and rainbows, and the futuristic Herby and Tuna learn why their archenemy is out to get them. 

    As far as the series goes, this is probably the second best "moral to the story" but it unfortunately feels like each book gets a little more obnoxious than the last. I didn't really enjoy "Switched!" but because I did appreciate the moral and practical lessons in it, I am giving it 3 stars. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    Craziness, Silliness, You Might Even Say Zworked. This is a real

    Craziness, Silliness, You Might Even Say Zworked. This is a really fun series with unbelievable events and crazy time travelers. These stories are intended to teach lessons, which they do, but they are very silly, and take a roundabout route to the lessons. Switched! is number 5 of 6, and I’m glad I read them in order. The writing is simple, with sound effects tossed in. These books are great for young readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Switched!!!!, by Bill Myers, is book #5 in the TJ and the Time S

    Switched!!!!, by Bill Myers, is book #5 in the TJ and the Time Stumblers 6 book series. These are highly entertaining and engaging books. The entire series is unique in page appearance, and filled with Biblical messages.

    In this installment of TJ and her muddled, chaotic friends from the 23rd century, Herby and Tuna, deals with all the chaos of the rest of the series. This one, however involves Herby and Tuna shaving TJ bald! Within all the wackiness and mayhem, TJ switches bodies with her archenemy, Hester Breakahart. Lesson learned—you don’t know someone else’s life unless you walk in their shoes. In this case—literally. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    TJ's visitors from the 23rd century are still around, and causin

    TJ's visitors from the 23rd century are still around, and causing trouble as usual. They accidently have TJ and her archenemy, Hester, switch bodies, and that leads to trouble.

    I thought this book was good and crazy like the others in the series. TJ learns a lesson in kindness after she realizes what Hester's life is like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     TJ and the Time Stumblers Series , #5 I received this from Tyn

     TJ and the Time Stumblers Series , #5

    I received this from Tyndale Blog Network free for my book review.

    When I requested this book I thought my daughter would love it, so I gave it to her to review.
    She loved the book, she did not want to put it down that is how much she was into reading it.
    The part she thought was funny is when Tuna & Herby shaved TJ's hair off with the Swiss army knife.
    She also liked the book cover the illustration really catches the eye.
    She says she would recommend this book to other children to
    read.  Age range: 8 - 12 Years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Another funny tale of the misadventures of TJ Finkelstein and fr

    Another funny tale of the misadventures of TJ Finkelstein and friends.  With one problem after another tripping up TJ and friends, including body-switching, this book keeps young readers on their toes and engaged throughout.  It also teaches young readers the importance of genuine friendship and concern for others while setting a positive example in TJ.  I highly recommend it for elementary-aged readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Predictable. This book felt like a replay of most of the other

    Predictable.

    This book felt like a replay of most of the other Time Stumblers books. They're zany and zonked as usual, but Myers' is running out of ideas for TJ and her friends. The lessons are still good ones, but the writing and scenarios created felt like a rerun instead of a new episode.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    The topic of this, our fifth book in the 'TJ and the Time Stumbl

    The topic of this, our fifth book in the 'TJ and the Time Stumblers' series, is Forgiveness.  Continuing on her journey to becoming a great world leader (and bringing back the hula hoop!), 13 year old TJ Finkelstein learns how to put herself in someone else's shoes - literally, as there is yet another malfunction of one of Tuna and Herby's special tools.  We discover TJ REALLY can't sing, and Hester Breakahart's life just isn't all that awesome behind the scenes.
    This book teaches a great lesson on the importance of forgiveness, and that a little understanding goes a long way.  Especially if you have to go to school with Hester Breakahart. :)
    This is an excellent series for your pre-teens and early teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    This series for kids is entertaining and funny. I love the made

    This series for kids is entertaining and funny. I love the made-up words and the futuristic gadgets that somehow always manage to malfunction to create catastrophe after catastrophe. Through these catastrophes, TJ learns some life lessons that help shape her into the leader she will become (if we believe Herby and Tuna). In this book, TJ learns about forgiveness and works on forgiving Hesper (the mean girl from her school). Fans of Freaky Friday will enjoy this take on switching places with others. I like the way readers learn about forgiveness in a funny and entertaining way that appeals to kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Switched!: In a Freaky Friday sendup, a futuristic gadget lands

    Switched!: In a Freaky Friday sendup, a futuristic gadget lands TJ in the body of her classroom nemesis, teen celebrity Hesper Breakaheart, and vice versa. By walking the proverbial mile in Hesper’s shoes, TJ learns about the hardships the pouty celebrity deals with, and finds it easier to forgive her snotty behavior.

    I received the TJ and the Time Stumblers series (6 books in all) for my classroom, and they quickly became hits with a lot of the kids. A Christian riff on Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, the Time Stumblers series features Herby and Tuna, two silly guys from the 2200’s who travel back in time to the twenty-first century in order to get some first-hand data for their history project on TJ Finkelstein, a great world leader from their past. They end up stuck with a seventh-grade version of TJ in her own time, and while they work on finding their way home they help TJ learn many of the biblical virtues and life lessons that will make her a godly and revered leader one day. My female students love that the books feature a godly heroine who, though destined for greatness, struggles with the same hardships, homework, and heartbreaks as them; and the boys get a kick out of Herby and Tuna’s antics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    Switched! is the fifth book in the TJ and the Time Stumblers ser

    Switched! is the fifth book in the TJ and the Time Stumblers series written by Bill Myers. This is a youth fiction novel that, in my opinion, would be a great book for 10-13 year olds. Girls or boys would enjoy it, but I have no girls so I can't give an adolescent girl's review. :) I did have my 12 year old son give it a read so that I could put his opinion out there. But first I'll give you my spill.

    First of all, Switched! is a Christian fiction book, has a fantasy feel to it (time travel, invisible characters) as well as exciting and hilarious adventure, and is written in a fashion that would appeal to adolescents (primarily preteens). At 156 pages, the font isn't teeny tiny, so it won't take a child forever to read. At times, there is large font to convey excitement, which is appealing to the eye. The chapters are about the right length for a kid who likes to read one chapter at a time (about ten pages per chapter).

    Goofball friends Tuna and Herby from the 23rd Century have teamed up to make their friend TJ Finkelstein the greatest leader of the world. First, however, they have to teach her many lessons along the way to prepare her for greatness. But when a futuristic technological gadget malfunctions, TJ finds herself in the body of her nemesis Hesper Breakahart! If that's not problematic enough, Tuna and Herby find themselves having a battle with their own enemy--Bruce Bruiseabone. The story is action-packed, full of hilarious problems to solve and goofy characters.

    My son liked the part when TJ thought that Bruce Bruiseabone was trying to get after her. He was in the form of a crab and he chased her. She thought he was trying to kill her, but he was trying to tell her something. The book was funny, and he also recommends it for preteen adolescents.

    If you're looking for a good series for your Christian adolescent like this one, I recommend it. It's funny, it's off the beaten path, and it's full of adventure from start to finish. I've not read the whole series, but I have a feeling that it will be one that my kids will enjoy in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Switched! by Bill Myers is a good book for kids and their parent

    Switched! by Bill Myers is a good book for kids and their parents alike. It has a good lesson and values such as love, honesty, patience, and kindness. All in all a great book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1