Customer Reviews for

Swoon

Average Rating 3.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Swoon is very swoon-worthy

The Good: The beginning was good, it drew you in. and when I say "it drew you in", what I really meant was the book is practically daring you to put it down! And you can't because it is so fascinating and you just HAVE to know what happens next. The middle. it was prett...
The Good: The beginning was good, it drew you in. and when I say "it drew you in", what I really meant was the book is practically daring you to put it down! And you can't because it is so fascinating and you just HAVE to know what happens next. The middle. it was pretty good, but the ending, OMG, the ending really delivered the most.

Usually those types of endings make me want to chuck the book out the window. this was not the case with Swoon. And that takes skill to make me, the most emotional and sensitive person ever, enjoy the ending like that. You really pulled it off so, kudos to you Nina Malkin.

Okay. to the characters.

Dice was very cool. Even though I would never really hang out with her in real life (because she could probably kick my ass), I really liked her! She was sarcastic, interesting, and she was real. I think that's what I really liked about her; she didn't try to be anyone else. Not to mention, she's a really good person to her friends, her family, and practically everyone else.

Even though I like Dice, sometimes I questioned her feelings about Sin. I wondered, "Why is she so in love with him?" and I am sure, everyone who has or will read this book has/will thought/think about that. I mean, if you look in the dictionary for the word "bad boy", you'll find Sin's picture. And probably if his picture is in it, the dictionary will out-sell Twilight. but that's beside the point.

The point is, even though he's really bad. you can't help but have a soft spot for him. He's handsome, a gentleman (mostly), and he had this huge tragic life, the perfect desirable bad boy. I'm not saying everything he does is justified. Way more than once, he would do something and I would just want to strangle him for being such a jackass! But there were times (way more than once) that really made me. dare I say it, swoon for Sin.

Ack, my mom would probably never let me out of the house for saying that. But, Sin's the type of guy who would even make the most innocent of girls sneak out their window for him. Not that I would do that because, you know, I would probably die.

So, to an extent, I understand what she was thinking.

Basically what I'm trying to say here is that Ms. Malkin has written very real and balanced characters.

The Bad: This was a little mature, at least for me it was. I usually do not give an age limit for books because I know everyone matures differently, but this is totally for the more mature teen readers and up, only. It's not completely cringe-worthy; it's just sometimes awkward to read because it describes certain intimate acts, anatomy, and sexual references. Maybe I have the maturity of a five-year-old, but I felt just a teensy bit uncomfortable reading it sometimes. It was a good book, but young teens should not read this, at least, not yet.

Also, at times the writing was too fast-paced and it left me confused and sometimes, with a headache. So, if you are going to read it, make sure to read slowly. Otherwise, you'll be really frustrated. And coincidentally, there was some parts that were boring and I wanted to skip ahead to the action. The point is: this book is bi-polar.

Overall: Although, definitely not for everyone and when finished reading, I was a little confused about what I thought of it, after really thinking about it, I found that I immensely enjoyed the story. With a fantastic story line, Swoon is exciting and will have you breathless the whole time you're reading.

Grade:

posted by CattTheDreamerReader on June 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but glad I didn't buy it

I was SO unhappy when I got through reading this book, 2 days of non-stop reading! I even threw a fit(Just saying how could moms send you to the book store and NOT letting you buy any books) but I had requested it from the libray and was glad I did(So basically I just m...
I was SO unhappy when I got through reading this book, 2 days of non-stop reading! I even threw a fit(Just saying how could moms send you to the book store and NOT letting you buy any books) but I had requested it from the libray and was glad I did(So basically I just made a sence in the store for absoultely no good reason!). The story was okay but there really wasn't enough romance with Sin and Dice, and if they showed any kind of love together it was torwards the very end of the book. All they really did in the story was talk about Dice's cousin, Sin possesing her, and him causing trouble around the town. I have to admit there were some funny and good parts but other than that, I don't think it's really worth buying....

posted by PyroMaiden on October 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    Swoon is very swoon-worthy

    The Good: The beginning was good, it drew you in. and when I say "it drew you in", what I really meant was the book is practically daring you to put it down! And you can't because it is so fascinating and you just HAVE to know what happens next. The middle. it was pretty good, but the ending, OMG, the ending really delivered the most.

    Usually those types of endings make me want to chuck the book out the window. this was not the case with Swoon. And that takes skill to make me, the most emotional and sensitive person ever, enjoy the ending like that. You really pulled it off so, kudos to you Nina Malkin.

    Okay. to the characters.

    Dice was very cool. Even though I would never really hang out with her in real life (because she could probably kick my ass), I really liked her! She was sarcastic, interesting, and she was real. I think that's what I really liked about her; she didn't try to be anyone else. Not to mention, she's a really good person to her friends, her family, and practically everyone else.

    Even though I like Dice, sometimes I questioned her feelings about Sin. I wondered, "Why is she so in love with him?" and I am sure, everyone who has or will read this book has/will thought/think about that. I mean, if you look in the dictionary for the word "bad boy", you'll find Sin's picture. And probably if his picture is in it, the dictionary will out-sell Twilight. but that's beside the point.

    The point is, even though he's really bad. you can't help but have a soft spot for him. He's handsome, a gentleman (mostly), and he had this huge tragic life, the perfect desirable bad boy. I'm not saying everything he does is justified. Way more than once, he would do something and I would just want to strangle him for being such a jackass! But there were times (way more than once) that really made me. dare I say it, swoon for Sin.

    Ack, my mom would probably never let me out of the house for saying that. But, Sin's the type of guy who would even make the most innocent of girls sneak out their window for him. Not that I would do that because, you know, I would probably die.

    So, to an extent, I understand what she was thinking.

    Basically what I'm trying to say here is that Ms. Malkin has written very real and balanced characters.

    The Bad: This was a little mature, at least for me it was. I usually do not give an age limit for books because I know everyone matures differently, but this is totally for the more mature teen readers and up, only. It's not completely cringe-worthy; it's just sometimes awkward to read because it describes certain intimate acts, anatomy, and sexual references. Maybe I have the maturity of a five-year-old, but I felt just a teensy bit uncomfortable reading it sometimes. It was a good book, but young teens should not read this, at least, not yet.

    Also, at times the writing was too fast-paced and it left me confused and sometimes, with a headache. So, if you are going to read it, make sure to read slowly. Otherwise, you'll be really frustrated. And coincidentally, there was some parts that were boring and I wanted to skip ahead to the action. The point is: this book is bi-polar.

    Overall: Although, definitely not for everyone and when finished reading, I was a little confused about what I thought of it, after really thinking about it, I found that I immensely enjoyed the story. With a fantastic story line, Swoon is exciting and will have you breathless the whole time you're reading.

    Grade:

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Okay, but glad I didn't buy it

    I was SO unhappy when I got through reading this book, 2 days of non-stop reading! I even threw a fit(Just saying how could moms send you to the book store and NOT letting you buy any books) but I had requested it from the libray and was glad I did(So basically I just made a sence in the store for absoultely no good reason!). The story was okay but there really wasn't enough romance with Sin and Dice, and if they showed any kind of love together it was torwards the very end of the book. All they really did in the story was talk about Dice's cousin, Sin possesing her, and him causing trouble around the town. I have to admit there were some funny and good parts but other than that, I don't think it's really worth buying....

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    Not fit for the Teen Fiction section.

    I work at a bookstore and I like to read teen fiction novels to better be able to assist my younger customers. When I first read the back of this book I thought it would be quite an interesting story but I am halfway through the book and I am having trouble finishing it. This book is entirely to sexually descriptive and the characters are not ones that I would want any teenager relating too. I was even a little embarrassed with the sexual content and I am well past my teenage years. I would have to say that this is definitely not an item that I would recommend to any customer and I don't believe it should be labeled as teen fiction.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    what, no vampires?!

    Everywhere you turn there's a new story about a vampire. They seem to be all the rage lately, even more than when "Buffy" was on TV and "Interview with a Vampire" was the go-to movie in theatres. So it's refreshing to crack open a novel about a different type of fantastical creature- a ghost. None of this "I vant to suck your blood"; instead we get "I want revenge on your entire town for murdering my love!" Which, in my opinion, is a bit more exciting...

    I am an admitted word-whore, and I love seeing rare words. This book was chock-full of them. Ms. Malkin definitely has an extensive vocabulary and has put it to good use. She leads the reader through the story using alliteration, colorful images, and unconventional jargon. The images conjured in my head were clear and concise and each character jumped out of the page and appeared almost as ghosts themselves. In reading the novel, I felt as though it was playing right in front of my eyes.

    The story itself had me hooked through to the end. Adventurous, romantic, mysterious, with a bit of the magical thrown in. The typical ghost story is taken to a whole new level when the ghost is given special powers. It was taken pretty far to the extreme, but in a good way, almost as if testing to see how far it could go. How much can a ghost get away with in order to conclude his unfinished business? And how does it affect those around him? I loved reading this story, anticipating where Sin, Dice, and Pen would end up next.

    The one thing I will warn you about is that it does get a bit risque. I really must have attended an incredibly tame high school, or maybe I was more out of the loop than I thought, but teenagers that I knew were not such licentious druggies. Doing Ecstasy? Having orgies? Really? In a tiny Connecticut town? That may be stretching it a bit...

    With that in mind, pick it up. Give it a read. Take a break from the blood-suckers and see what happens when ghosts take over.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    Blehh..

    Okay, when I first picked up this book and read the cover I thought it would be a great book to read. I thought it would be something interesting, and overall something different from what I normally read.

    First, I would like to point out that the story line itself was amazing. It had great potential but Malkin didn't use it to it's full advantage. The way she jumped from chapter to chapter giving all of this information for the reader to take in was a little confusing. If maybe she would have said present and past or some odd days later at the top of every chapter it would have made it a whole lot easier to comprehend because when I was reading and would come to the next chapter I would be like "hey, wait did I just skip a few pages or something?" because it just didn't seem to come after what I had just read.

    Overall I think this author has great potential and if she wrote another book I would probably still buy it to see if maybe she had improved some but this book just didn't really work out for her I don't think.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    THIS IS AN AMAZZING BOOK! A MUST READ!

    this book is one of my most favorite books ever...and i LOVE to read. it is a great book for teens, its funny, sexy, and mysterious. you will LOVE it! just try it. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It gave me whiplash

    I am a self diagnosed chronic reader, from the moment I pick up a book I am completely enthralled until the point of completion which occurs generally the same day. I do not say this to sound like a prat, but I am trying to give context to my next statement, It took me a week to finish this book. At times I found myself irritated, in love, angry, upset, outraged and generally confused. There is a good story in Swoon, but SO MUCH happens that I found myself continuously unfulfilled. It was a bit like a disaster movie where so much happens you find yourself thinking, now wait a second how did they resolve that problem? why is there a new problem? did they (the characters) somehow forget what just happened? When I finally got to the end I was at a point of not caring. And maybe, that is the point of the book. Not that you shouldnt care but that life is a conflicting, crazy, and messed up experience. On a seperate note this book was listed in the YA section. Now I am all about letting children experience the world but there were a lot of references to sexual experiences and acts. And there was a lot of drug activity. I would say this book is not for anyone younger than 16 and maybe that is still too young. A mature 16 year old then. One that realizes fiction is fiction and not a suggestion book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    Tryin to hard to shock

    This story was trying to be too edgy and focused little on the content or development of the characters of story. I could barely finish it and was upset i paid for it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    not my cup of tea

    this wasnt even really worth reading. i put it down halfway through with no intention to going back and finishing it. i didnt really even enjoy the characters, so it was like ok.... i really dont care what happens at the end of the book. also, it had a lot of "edgy" content that i just didnt really care about reading. i thought it was trying tooo much to make a statement more than just enjoyable reading

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    After each time I turned a page,it felt as if I skipped twenty!

    After each time I turned a page,it felt as if I skipped twenty! So much was going on, and I was very confused. The storyline wasn't thought out all the way, and what happend throughout the story made no sense.
    I abandoned this book when I was 2/3 through. I was so confused and sick of reading it. The beginning was wonderful, but the rest of the book was downhill from there. This book is not for younger children (more for teens) or people who are easily,or even not easily confused.
    This was probably one of the WORST books I've ever read. THANK GOD I got it from the library and did not buy it.
    I do NOT reccomend this book for ANYONE.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It Was quite distrubing

    This book had its ups and downs. It Was pretty graphic, the sexual content in this book, I thought was not needed. I would say no one under 15 should read this book. I thought it was slow paced, and didn't really go anywhere. Overall i think i wasted my money on this book and if you want to read it get it at the libary.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bleh!

    Not sure if this will be a series....
    The way the book ended really didn't give an opening for a sequel.

    Personally, I'm the type of reader that likes to imagine myself the main character, or feel like I am their shadow, walking beside he or she as they are living the story. The author's writing was unique but very "in your face" all of the time, and for me, there was a disconnect there. I wasn't able to accomplish a connection to Dice (main character). Not once did I imagine myself her... I felt more like she was sitting down telling me the story. So if you like that, then this book is for you. Swoon's chapters didn't have a continuos flow. They were choppy with time and place. If you have a hard time with this, then it might be a problem to follow. There are sexual situations, drug use, foul language, making it more on the edgy side of the teen genre. Parents, if you are concerned for what your children read, then maybe pass on this until they are 16+.

    Although I do give credit to the author for thinking outside the box as far as NOT being so cookie cutter, SWOON personally wasn't for me. It did have me hooked at the begining though, but then half way through, the flame fizzled...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Too mature to be in young adult section. Confusing. The main character is too "loose," for me at least.

    The summery and the plot are amazing. I'll give it that much, but the problem is that it is too fast pace, like other reviewers said, it leaves the readers (slow ones like me) confused. Sometimes I had to re-read the passage I just read.

    The main character, Dice, was um...how do I say it, very loose and her parents let her do that. I mean, she's only 17 or less and she had "experimented" the guy's sex EVENTHOUGH she does not have a real boyfriend. That is, please pardon my language, very slutty.

    The main guy, Sin, was very very evil and flirty. I mean this is for teens right? and Ms. Malkin describe the chain of endless women he had sex with. I'm sorry but it doesn't work for me. I'm 17 and everything is pure and perfect.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not for teens--pg-13 or R

    This book was entirely too "exposed" for teen readers. Not recommended for anyone under the age of 21. Talks of pot, sex, and other things that shouldn't been in the teen section. Warning to parents!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A little adult for a "teen read"

    I read adult novels as well as teen novels, depending on my mood. So, naturally, when I picked up Swoon, I was looking for an interesting "teen read". Instead, I got more of an adult novel. Swoon, while written wonderfully, has entirely too much focus on sex, drugs, and the like to be considered a teen read. I would not be able to hand this book to younger friends or relatives without feeling it was too mature for them. There were no "fade to black" moments in this book! While not overly graphic in its sexual scenes, it did not leave anything to the imagination either!

    So, like I said, Nina Malkin did a wonderful job in her writing, plot, and character development, but I would be prepared for a darker more mature read if you pick up this book.

    I have listed a few true to the genre "teen" books below that I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good not Great

    I love the catch phrase for this book. "What do you do when the boy of your dreams is too bad to be true?" I think that it was that and the cover that drew me in in the first place. This book took me a long time to read. I tend to like books that are different and this one definitely fits the bill, but I just found myself loosing interest about half way through. When it was all said and done I did enjoy this book, it just took me 2 months to officially finish it.

    Another thing to note is that all of the characters are given abbreviated names (Duck, Con, Marsh, Wick, etc...) in the story and that can make it difficult to remember who is who and whether or not they are male or female. You might not understand until you read it but I figured I would warn you. Swoon is definitely geared toward older teens. There are some rather explicit scenes involving sex and drugs in the book and it may not be suitable for readers under 16 or so.

    Swoon is the name of the town that the story is set in. Candice (Dice) has recently moved to Swoon because of "recent events" - Don't want to give away spoilers :) Swoon is a town full of wealthy families who have lived there for generations. Dice spends most of her time with her cousin Pen and her group of friends.

    Things start to get a little strange after Pen falls from a tree and becomes possessed by Sinclair (Sin), a boy who died more then 200 years ago. This is bad enough but it turns out Sin has plans for Swoon. Revenge. Pen seems to be oblivious to her possession but Dice has heightened psychic abilities that allow her to draw Sin out. Dice tries to fight the attraction she feels for this boy especially after realizing his plans. Dice decides that for the good of the town and Pen she must banish Sin from her cousin's body. Only Dice makes a mistake and now Sin is flesh and blood and is free to reek havoc on Swoon.

    The majority of the rest of the book focuses on how sin is terrorizing the town and how Dice plans to stop him. Sin's brand of justice is not what you might think, he does not go on a murderous rampage or anything he simply manipulates those around him. Taking them down a few pegs if you know what I mean. Dice has a lot of damage control to do but how do you stand against the boy you love? And can their love overcome his vengeance?

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    Not Good

    I was very excited to read this book. It seemed like the ideal fantasy/romance. Boy I was wrong. This book was confusing and out of order. Half the time I didn't understand what was going on. The main characters are fine. The overall story is good too. But I just coudn't follow the plot. It was confusing and underdeveloped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    was....confused

    The book did not seem very interesting the first three chapters. I kept telling myself to keep on reading and maybe it will get better, But it really didn't. There is a lot of confusion. And i had a hard time trying to picture things in my head, I think Malkin should try doing a better job at descriptive writting. Then there were some parts that did make a little sense. There is a lot of sexual reference. And i think that its about the only thing that may keep someone reading..sadly to say. I was not for the book personally and good thing i didn't pay for it and it was given to me from a friend. So no i would not recommend this book. Theres other books that are way more worth spending your money on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Good

    this book jumped all over the place. i could follow the story line just fine, but it seems to me that it skipped parts &/or left things out. i didnt understand the whole Ruby visions, idk the story line overall was really good, but i felt that it didnt explain some things or maybe it was the way it was written that i couldnt follow it. overall good book but not fluid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Swoon.

    Swoon caught my attention when I saw the cover. I wanted to know more about it right after I read the summary on the back of the book. The beginning automatically drew me in and I dreaded the moment I had to put the book down. At parts I was confused, but once I read more into the chapter, I caught back up. It was very good and I recommend it to anyone that likes a good love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9