Customer Reviews for

Swoon

Average Rating 3.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Swoon is very swoon-worthy

The Good: The beginning was good, it drew you in. and when I say "it drew you in", what I really meant was the book is practically daring you to put it down! And you can't because it is so fascinating and you just HAVE to know what happens next. The middle. it was prett...
The Good: The beginning was good, it drew you in. and when I say "it drew you in", what I really meant was the book is practically daring you to put it down! And you can't because it is so fascinating and you just HAVE to know what happens next. The middle. it was pretty good, but the ending, OMG, the ending really delivered the most.

Usually those types of endings make me want to chuck the book out the window. this was not the case with Swoon. And that takes skill to make me, the most emotional and sensitive person ever, enjoy the ending like that. You really pulled it off so, kudos to you Nina Malkin.

Okay. to the characters.

Dice was very cool. Even though I would never really hang out with her in real life (because she could probably kick my ass), I really liked her! She was sarcastic, interesting, and she was real. I think that's what I really liked about her; she didn't try to be anyone else. Not to mention, she's a really good person to her friends, her family, and practically everyone else.

Even though I like Dice, sometimes I questioned her feelings about Sin. I wondered, "Why is she so in love with him?" and I am sure, everyone who has or will read this book has/will thought/think about that. I mean, if you look in the dictionary for the word "bad boy", you'll find Sin's picture. And probably if his picture is in it, the dictionary will out-sell Twilight. but that's beside the point.

The point is, even though he's really bad. you can't help but have a soft spot for him. He's handsome, a gentleman (mostly), and he had this huge tragic life, the perfect desirable bad boy. I'm not saying everything he does is justified. Way more than once, he would do something and I would just want to strangle him for being such a jackass! But there were times (way more than once) that really made me. dare I say it, swoon for Sin.

Ack, my mom would probably never let me out of the house for saying that. But, Sin's the type of guy who would even make the most innocent of girls sneak out their window for him. Not that I would do that because, you know, I would probably die.

So, to an extent, I understand what she was thinking.

Basically what I'm trying to say here is that Ms. Malkin has written very real and balanced characters.

The Bad: This was a little mature, at least for me it was. I usually do not give an age limit for books because I know everyone matures differently, but this is totally for the more mature teen readers and up, only. It's not completely cringe-worthy; it's just sometimes awkward to read because it describes certain intimate acts, anatomy, and sexual references. Maybe I have the maturity of a five-year-old, but I felt just a teensy bit uncomfortable reading it sometimes. It was a good book, but young teens should not read this, at least, not yet.

Also, at times the writing was too fast-paced and it left me confused and sometimes, with a headache. So, if you are going to read it, make sure to read slowly. Otherwise, you'll be really frustrated. And coincidentally, there was some parts that were boring and I wanted to skip ahead to the action. The point is: this book is bi-polar.

Overall: Although, definitely not for everyone and when finished reading, I was a little confused about what I thought of it, after really thinking about it, I found that I immensely enjoyed the story. With a fantastic story line, Swoon is exciting and will have you breathless the whole time you're reading.

Grade:

posted by CattTheDreamerReader on June 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but glad I didn't buy it

I was SO unhappy when I got through reading this book, 2 days of non-stop reading! I even threw a fit(Just saying how could moms send you to the book store and NOT letting you buy any books) but I had requested it from the libray and was glad I did(So basically I just m...
I was SO unhappy when I got through reading this book, 2 days of non-stop reading! I even threw a fit(Just saying how could moms send you to the book store and NOT letting you buy any books) but I had requested it from the libray and was glad I did(So basically I just made a sence in the store for absoultely no good reason!). The story was okay but there really wasn't enough romance with Sin and Dice, and if they showed any kind of love together it was torwards the very end of the book. All they really did in the story was talk about Dice's cousin, Sin possesing her, and him causing trouble around the town. I have to admit there were some funny and good parts but other than that, I don't think it's really worth buying....

posted by PyroMaiden on October 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A little adult for a "teen read"

    I read adult novels as well as teen novels, depending on my mood. So, naturally, when I picked up Swoon, I was looking for an interesting "teen read". Instead, I got more of an adult novel. Swoon, while written wonderfully, has entirely too much focus on sex, drugs, and the like to be considered a teen read. I would not be able to hand this book to younger friends or relatives without feeling it was too mature for them. There were no "fade to black" moments in this book! While not overly graphic in its sexual scenes, it did not leave anything to the imagination either!

    So, like I said, Nina Malkin did a wonderful job in her writing, plot, and character development, but I would be prepared for a darker more mature read if you pick up this book.

    I have listed a few true to the genre "teen" books below that I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good not Great

    I love the catch phrase for this book. "What do you do when the boy of your dreams is too bad to be true?" I think that it was that and the cover that drew me in in the first place. This book took me a long time to read. I tend to like books that are different and this one definitely fits the bill, but I just found myself loosing interest about half way through. When it was all said and done I did enjoy this book, it just took me 2 months to officially finish it.

    Another thing to note is that all of the characters are given abbreviated names (Duck, Con, Marsh, Wick, etc...) in the story and that can make it difficult to remember who is who and whether or not they are male or female. You might not understand until you read it but I figured I would warn you. Swoon is definitely geared toward older teens. There are some rather explicit scenes involving sex and drugs in the book and it may not be suitable for readers under 16 or so.

    Swoon is the name of the town that the story is set in. Candice (Dice) has recently moved to Swoon because of "recent events" - Don't want to give away spoilers :) Swoon is a town full of wealthy families who have lived there for generations. Dice spends most of her time with her cousin Pen and her group of friends.

    Things start to get a little strange after Pen falls from a tree and becomes possessed by Sinclair (Sin), a boy who died more then 200 years ago. This is bad enough but it turns out Sin has plans for Swoon. Revenge. Pen seems to be oblivious to her possession but Dice has heightened psychic abilities that allow her to draw Sin out. Dice tries to fight the attraction she feels for this boy especially after realizing his plans. Dice decides that for the good of the town and Pen she must banish Sin from her cousin's body. Only Dice makes a mistake and now Sin is flesh and blood and is free to reek havoc on Swoon.

    The majority of the rest of the book focuses on how sin is terrorizing the town and how Dice plans to stop him. Sin's brand of justice is not what you might think, he does not go on a murderous rampage or anything he simply manipulates those around him. Taking them down a few pegs if you know what I mean. Dice has a lot of damage control to do but how do you stand against the boy you love? And can their love overcome his vengeance?

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    Ok, first I want to address the adults moaning about the sex and

    Ok, first I want to address the adults moaning about the sex and drug use. DO they think that teens today DON'T know about this stuff? 20 years ago, I might have said yeah, there are some that don't, but now days? NOT! They could probably teach them a thing or two.
    Anyhoo, I liked the story for the most part, but it did feel a little disjointed at times. And yeah, the nicknames were irritating. Overall, I think I might give this series a shot, to see how it plays out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Writing style is ACE! But the plot goes askew. Long-dead Sin po

    Writing style is ACE! But the plot goes askew.

    Long-dead Sin possesses Dice’s cousin Pen after she plummets from a tree. Dice falls for him before she separates him from Pen’s body. But rather than fading peacefully, Sin becomes flesh and blood…after a fashion. And he has a plan for vengeance he’s waited centuries to enact. Sin vows the destruction of several prominent Swoon families. And one happens to be Pen’s. Can Dice stop the boy she’s come to love?

    Nina Malkin’s writing is like a semi-automatic spray of clever description. So often I see single-line recommendations from NYT Best sellers on books that declare an author is “a fresh new voice”. Well, this author is definitely a fresh new voice (at least for me). From the very first page we know we’re in for an entertaining read. 

    If I was rating on writing style alone, this would get a solid 5*. But I’m not. And unfortunately the plot went askew for me. My biggest problem with this book is I’d picked it up believing it was another YA with romance at its core. Though there was a romance-plot, I didn’t get the happy ending I wanted. The bittersweet finish didn’t inspire me to look at the second book in the series. And the hero sleeping around on the heroine with her cousin? Yeah, that turned me right off.

    The writing style brings a 2* plot up to a 3* book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Its okay

    I read this book about 3 yrs ago en it's still sitting in my book case i usually re read books but this one just didn't catch my attention from reading the bio in the back of the book i was totally hooked but once i started reading it was just blah!! Dice just doesn't know what to do with herself her cousin is very self centered so i kinda get y sin decided to possess her body seeing as hes self centered as well the kids r rich en just really don't do n e thin interesting i enjoy romance but this is basically a one sided relationship dice just kinda cleans up after sin i consider my self YA but this book was just plain ole immature! There is a second book but im seriously thinking bout perchasing it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/unabridged/YA: And when I say YA, an older, mature teen. It

    CD/unabridged/YA: And when I say YA, an older, mature teen. It was okay. I didn't realize it was YA when I bought it, but since it was an audio, I kept with it. I also saw a lot of negative reviews. Most of the negativity has to do with the promiscuity of the teens and homosexuality, but I didn't see any real objections to the extensive drug use or lack of parental guidance.
    This is the story of a chick who goes from NYC to Swoon, CT. Think the TV show Suburatory. She is rich, smart, and worldly, while everyone else is rich, average, and shallow. Candice, or Dice, pretty much lives by herself at 17 since her parents thought living in CT would be great until they realized the commute. Yada, yada, yada, Dice falls in love with a paranormal sociopath. It could happen to anyone. Her relationship with Sinclair, Sin, is one-sided. She's in love with him and he's in love with himself. While it is explained how he got there and that his presence is affecting the town, there is no explanation on how he is doing it. He is angry and yet his presence liberates the town.
    I did have a problem with Dice being alone with no parental supervision, especially after you hear her back story. She proves over and over that she needs more than a halfhearted effort from her aunt and uncle across the street.
    The sex and drugs did not bother me as much as it did other reviewers; that's what teenagers do when they have money and little parental supervision. I didn't have a problem with the homosexuality either. Dice's cousin has a male ghost in her for a while and she's a chick.
    I'm not really recommending it, especially if you don't like YA. And if you do like YA, you'll probably hate it. It was $3 at the library sale and entertaining. Be warned, there are a lot of loose ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Wow...

    Seriously people, do you read the editor reviews? They range the book 16 years and up. And YA fiction ranges 15 to 20 years old or just about. With the way kids are maturing these days I'm surprised there aren't more books with at least minor sexual content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good...

    Once I got past the fact that the lead characters' names were Dice and Sin (and realized the story wasn't about a lost night in Vegas), the story flowed along pretty well.

    Warning about Swoon: Of the YA books I've read recently, Swoon contains the most sex, drugs and rock n roll. (Well, not so much rock n roll...) Nothing that's explicit and nothing that most teens today aren't exposed to on TV every night, just more than your typical YA paranormal novel. You have been warned. Any-whoo...?

    Swoon was a quick, easy read and discussed subjects that many YA paranormal books skirt around. ?I liked the leads (despite their nicknames) and Sin surely lived up to his name.

    Swoon had its highpoints for sure. I liked the way it attempted to take a stereotypical WASP town and turn it on its head. I just couldn't get past that I've seen it done before (sometimes better) in Needful Things, The Witches of Eastwick and True Blood.

    I liked Swoon, but I just wanted it to be better. I thought the premise was unique and had potential. Now that the story has been established in an okay way, I'm hoping that Swear (with its beautiful cover) will fufill the promise that Swoon held, but didn't quite live up to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    Good Read

    I read the overview of Swoon and it made me want to know the story. This definetly stirred my emotions from happy, interested, confused, amused, sad and even a little irratated at times. But really its a pretty good book and i caught up by the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Something to do...

    I thought that this book was okay. It was entertaining and I read it within a day. It was a good book to read when your bored and nothing to do. It was easy to get through, meaning it wasn't so horrible that I was unable to finish. I think that I was just disappointed because the entire book I was anxious to see what would happen and was disappointed at the end. I also read this book right after finishing the twilight series so that might have something to do with my disappointment. I think if I have waited a little while and did no expect so much from it I would have enjoyed it much more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Paced...

    Don't get me wrong, I love a fast moving story as well as the next avid reader, but in this case, it was a bit too much.
    The plot jumped all over the place and it took a good couple times of rereading pages for me to figure out just what the heck was going on.
    After finishing, I must say it was a fun summer read, but definatley won't be waiting in line for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    swoon put me to sleep

    Swoons story line has a lot of potential. The idea of something powerful controlling a community. not to mention that the gorgeous creature has a connection with you. Unfortunately the story moves very slowly with useless information to fill up space. The characters do weird things and send off vibes of awkward lust. Am I not making much sense, that would be because the story did not make much sense to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3