BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Swoon

Average Rating 3.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Swoon is very swoon-worthy

The Good: The beginning was good, it drew you in. and when I say "it drew you in", what I really meant was the book is practically daring you to put it down! And you can't because it is so fascinating and you just HAVE to know what happens next. The middle. it was prett...
The Good: The beginning was good, it drew you in. and when I say "it drew you in", what I really meant was the book is practically daring you to put it down! And you can't because it is so fascinating and you just HAVE to know what happens next. The middle. it was pretty good, but the ending, OMG, the ending really delivered the most.

Usually those types of endings make me want to chuck the book out the window. this was not the case with Swoon. And that takes skill to make me, the most emotional and sensitive person ever, enjoy the ending like that. You really pulled it off so, kudos to you Nina Malkin.

Okay. to the characters.

Dice was very cool. Even though I would never really hang out with her in real life (because she could probably kick my ass), I really liked her! She was sarcastic, interesting, and she was real. I think that's what I really liked about her; she didn't try to be anyone else. Not to mention, she's a really good person to her friends, her family, and practically everyone else.

Even though I like Dice, sometimes I questioned her feelings about Sin. I wondered, "Why is she so in love with him?" and I am sure, everyone who has or will read this book has/will thought/think about that. I mean, if you look in the dictionary for the word "bad boy", you'll find Sin's picture. And probably if his picture is in it, the dictionary will out-sell Twilight. but that's beside the point.

The point is, even though he's really bad. you can't help but have a soft spot for him. He's handsome, a gentleman (mostly), and he had this huge tragic life, the perfect desirable bad boy. I'm not saying everything he does is justified. Way more than once, he would do something and I would just want to strangle him for being such a jackass! But there were times (way more than once) that really made me. dare I say it, swoon for Sin.

Ack, my mom would probably never let me out of the house for saying that. But, Sin's the type of guy who would even make the most innocent of girls sneak out their window for him. Not that I would do that because, you know, I would probably die.

So, to an extent, I understand what she was thinking.

Basically what I'm trying to say here is that Ms. Malkin has written very real and balanced characters.

The Bad: This was a little mature, at least for me it was. I usually do not give an age limit for books because I know everyone matures differently, but this is totally for the more mature teen readers and up, only. It's not completely cringe-worthy; it's just sometimes awkward to read because it describes certain intimate acts, anatomy, and sexual references. Maybe I have the maturity of a five-year-old, but I felt just a teensy bit uncomfortable reading it sometimes. It was a good book, but young teens should not read this, at least, not yet.

Also, at times the writing was too fast-paced and it left me confused and sometimes, with a headache. So, if you are going to read it, make sure to read slowly. Otherwise, you'll be really frustrated. And coincidentally, there was some parts that were boring and I wanted to skip ahead to the action. The point is: this book is bi-polar.

Overall: Although, definitely not for everyone and when finished reading, I was a little confused about what I thought of it, after really thinking about it, I found that I immensely enjoyed the story. With a fantastic story line, Swoon is exciting and will have you breathless the whole time you're reading.

Grade:

posted by CattTheDreamerReader on June 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but glad I didn't buy it

I was SO unhappy when I got through reading this book, 2 days of non-stop reading! I even threw a fit(Just saying how could moms send you to the book store and NOT letting you buy any books) but I had requested it from the libray and was glad I did(So basically I just m...
I was SO unhappy when I got through reading this book, 2 days of non-stop reading! I even threw a fit(Just saying how could moms send you to the book store and NOT letting you buy any books) but I had requested it from the libray and was glad I did(So basically I just made a sence in the store for absoultely no good reason!). The story was okay but there really wasn't enough romance with Sin and Dice, and if they showed any kind of love together it was torwards the very end of the book. All they really did in the story was talk about Dice's cousin, Sin possesing her, and him causing trouble around the town. I have to admit there were some funny and good parts but other than that, I don't think it's really worth buying....

posted by PyroMaiden on October 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    Swoon is very swoon-worthy

    The Good: The beginning was good, it drew you in. and when I say "it drew you in", what I really meant was the book is practically daring you to put it down! And you can't because it is so fascinating and you just HAVE to know what happens next. The middle. it was pretty good, but the ending, OMG, the ending really delivered the most.

    Usually those types of endings make me want to chuck the book out the window. this was not the case with Swoon. And that takes skill to make me, the most emotional and sensitive person ever, enjoy the ending like that. You really pulled it off so, kudos to you Nina Malkin.

    Okay. to the characters.

    Dice was very cool. Even though I would never really hang out with her in real life (because she could probably kick my ass), I really liked her! She was sarcastic, interesting, and she was real. I think that's what I really liked about her; she didn't try to be anyone else. Not to mention, she's a really good person to her friends, her family, and practically everyone else.

    Even though I like Dice, sometimes I questioned her feelings about Sin. I wondered, "Why is she so in love with him?" and I am sure, everyone who has or will read this book has/will thought/think about that. I mean, if you look in the dictionary for the word "bad boy", you'll find Sin's picture. And probably if his picture is in it, the dictionary will out-sell Twilight. but that's beside the point.

    The point is, even though he's really bad. you can't help but have a soft spot for him. He's handsome, a gentleman (mostly), and he had this huge tragic life, the perfect desirable bad boy. I'm not saying everything he does is justified. Way more than once, he would do something and I would just want to strangle him for being such a jackass! But there were times (way more than once) that really made me. dare I say it, swoon for Sin.

    Ack, my mom would probably never let me out of the house for saying that. But, Sin's the type of guy who would even make the most innocent of girls sneak out their window for him. Not that I would do that because, you know, I would probably die.

    So, to an extent, I understand what she was thinking.

    Basically what I'm trying to say here is that Ms. Malkin has written very real and balanced characters.

    The Bad: This was a little mature, at least for me it was. I usually do not give an age limit for books because I know everyone matures differently, but this is totally for the more mature teen readers and up, only. It's not completely cringe-worthy; it's just sometimes awkward to read because it describes certain intimate acts, anatomy, and sexual references. Maybe I have the maturity of a five-year-old, but I felt just a teensy bit uncomfortable reading it sometimes. It was a good book, but young teens should not read this, at least, not yet.

    Also, at times the writing was too fast-paced and it left me confused and sometimes, with a headache. So, if you are going to read it, make sure to read slowly. Otherwise, you'll be really frustrated. And coincidentally, there was some parts that were boring and I wanted to skip ahead to the action. The point is: this book is bi-polar.

    Overall: Although, definitely not for everyone and when finished reading, I was a little confused about what I thought of it, after really thinking about it, I found that I immensely enjoyed the story. With a fantastic story line, Swoon is exciting and will have you breathless the whole time you're reading.

    Grade:

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    what, no vampires?!

    Everywhere you turn there's a new story about a vampire. They seem to be all the rage lately, even more than when "Buffy" was on TV and "Interview with a Vampire" was the go-to movie in theatres. So it's refreshing to crack open a novel about a different type of fantastical creature- a ghost. None of this "I vant to suck your blood"; instead we get "I want revenge on your entire town for murdering my love!" Which, in my opinion, is a bit more exciting...

    I am an admitted word-whore, and I love seeing rare words. This book was chock-full of them. Ms. Malkin definitely has an extensive vocabulary and has put it to good use. She leads the reader through the story using alliteration, colorful images, and unconventional jargon. The images conjured in my head were clear and concise and each character jumped out of the page and appeared almost as ghosts themselves. In reading the novel, I felt as though it was playing right in front of my eyes.

    The story itself had me hooked through to the end. Adventurous, romantic, mysterious, with a bit of the magical thrown in. The typical ghost story is taken to a whole new level when the ghost is given special powers. It was taken pretty far to the extreme, but in a good way, almost as if testing to see how far it could go. How much can a ghost get away with in order to conclude his unfinished business? And how does it affect those around him? I loved reading this story, anticipating where Sin, Dice, and Pen would end up next.

    The one thing I will warn you about is that it does get a bit risque. I really must have attended an incredibly tame high school, or maybe I was more out of the loop than I thought, but teenagers that I knew were not such licentious druggies. Doing Ecstasy? Having orgies? Really? In a tiny Connecticut town? That may be stretching it a bit...

    With that in mind, pick it up. Give it a read. Take a break from the blood-suckers and see what happens when ghosts take over.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Swoon.

    Swoon caught my attention when I saw the cover. I wanted to know more about it right after I read the summary on the back of the book. The beginning automatically drew me in and I dreaded the moment I had to put the book down. At parts I was confused, but once I read more into the chapter, I caught back up. It was very good and I recommend it to anyone that likes a good love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Awesome Story!

    This story really draws a reader's attention into the story right from the get go. It is an amazing story of relishing in the past and saving the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome ending!

    i absolutely loved the last three chapters of the book! i thought it was amazing. the story of her best friend made me cry. it was so moving and sad and touching. i am so glad things worked out for her in the end. i was overjoyed when she ended up with Sin but i am also disappointed of the ending because i do not think it was tied together. it was a good ending but it could have been better. i still recommend this book to people who want a good love story. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    Interesting but for a mature audience

    I found this book in the teen fic section and picked it up. I'm always looking for a new book to feed my ravenous appetite, and this was definitely interesting and new although the plot had a few holes in it. However, just because the main characters are teenagers in high school does not mean that the themes and teen. I would suggest this would be seniors in high school to college reading and no younger. There are some strong themes that parents should be aware of.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    SWOON

    WOW. This book surprised me and was not what I had exepcted at all. It's about a girl and her cousin who both fall in love with the golem that possesed her cousin after an accident. The characters were very developed and the writing was good. You might get confused at parts, but hang in there b/c all is revealed by the end. I think this book is def. one that if you read it a second time you might enjoy it more.I think parts that were confusing will make sense or parts you missed will be found. For being a fantasy, romance, mystery book it's very good and diferent for what I have read before. There is a highly sexual undertone to this book so be fair warned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    WOW

    This book is definitely one of the most mature and interesting books that I have ever found in the TEEN section. Granted, the sexuality level is definitely a little out there, but I found myself falling for and feeling sympathy for Sinclair. The main character, "Dice", is very mature for her age but her "epilepsy" makes her life just that more complicated. I found myself reading into the wee hours of the morning just to find out the fate for these two! The ending upset me, but in a strange way, I felt satisfied. Recommended for mature readers who love LOVE, with a hint of the supernatural.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was definitely amazing. however after a while it start

    This book was definitely amazing. however after a while it starts to drag and if it wasnt for the suspense I wouldve had to force myself to finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Intriguing book; Couldnt put it down:)

    THe book was great. I loved the way there was romance between Dice and sin. Sometimes i wish this book were a movie to be able to capture all those great moments in the book.
    What I love about it is that its not your average boy meets girl love story its much more fascinating. I recommend reading it if your tired of those plain love story books :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    i liked it.

    Better than Twilight...i know that isnt saying much since Twilight is a pointless story with whiny annoying characters, but when it comes to something new and fun...Swoon is it! I really loved it. I will admit there were some parts that were confusing but if you keep reading, it all comes together. Recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    awsome

    this is a great romance / mystery book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    A great read

    I have no clue how to descibe this book, it was sad fun happy and so much more i hated it and i loved it,it made me cry and it made me laugh. It is a really great book a MUST read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    EEP!

    I really happened to enjoy this book! It kept my on edge and kept me wondering especially about Ruby and all about Sin's whole existence..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    hmm...

    I give kudos to Ms. Malkin for not going down the same path as every other writer with the whole vampire craze, it was a relief to find a book that wasn't about vampires and werewolves or preps! The book was intruiging, i finished it in 3 hours! i just couldn't put it down! It had a bit of an edge that made you wonder about these people, and human nature. it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it

    I did not have high expectations for this book, i am in south america for vacations and asked my mom to send it to me. AFter she already had sent it i looked up reviews and they didnt look that great. But the book actually was better then i expected. The plot was fantastic and was kind f edgy. I felt like there were times when the text was a little challenging to comprehend, nothing is really said straight out, which annoyed me alittle, but overall i liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good...

    This book was really good. I completely agree that Malkin has amazing skills when it comes to developing characters. I LOVED Dice. She was awesome. Sarcastic and real and gritty,amazing. Something that kind of scared me was in the other reviews adults wrote, they said it was too mature for the young adult section. Yes it does talk about loosing ur virginity and fooling around but NewsFlash to adults: If a reader is in their freshman year of high school, well they are encountering these topics DAILY. If you are completely sheltered and never think about sex or drugs then don't read this book. But it has a good story line and as I said awesome characters. Warning:some parts are comfusing at first but read through it and it will make sense. It was definately worth the two days it took to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Got Edge? Yes! Got Steamy? Yes!

    Nina's Malkin's Swoon is a rich, sinister novel that is not to be missed. Definitely not your cookie cutter YA paranormal novel. Malkin carves a stone & inserts gritty goodness into the young adult paranormal genre. Dare I say, sinfully scrumptious! Yes, I dare say, Malkin's Swoon is sinfully scrumptious w/ a twist of naughty!

    Candice (Dice) is an engaging character that makes you sit up, take notice & give a darn about her & her fevered emotions. Dice is not flat, flavorless or insipid like some "popular" paranormal characters (thank you, Ms. Malkin). Dice is effervescently sketched, savvy & abundantly layered. Kudos to Malkin for introducing a heroine we all can root for.

    Malkin is a story connoisseurs high end goods. She knows how to create well developed characters & an atmosphere that is hauntingly decadent. Malkin has skills & Swoon displays them.

    Dice's feelings for Sin may be really distorted but you do sympathize -- some may even identify with -- her rationale. Thanks to Malkin's superb writing you empathize w/ Dice's fervent emotions instead of thinking Dice is a demented head case.

    Swoon packs a wallop & remains w/ you long after you close the book. Malkin has delivered a provocative tale.

    A definite addition to your reading list this summer & one to keep handy for rainy days.

    Psst! Sex & drugs are an everyday occurrence to young adults & Swoon does allude to those issues, so keep it in mind when recommending this book to adolescents.

    Hurry & pick up a copy of Swoon & enjoy the entrancing world of Nina Malkin.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2